We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful room with a balcony over 46th street!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #22 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Wonderful little botique hotel. Highly recommended, incredibly convenient to theaters and nearby excellent restaurants in Manhattan. Beds are really comfortable, nice flat screen TV, safe in the room, free Internet, and a nice big shower that even has a seat, but no bathtub (in case you care...we didn't). Our room on the second floor (202) even had a balcony over 46th.

Great restaurants nearby: Joe Alllen, and Becco. We had a great lunch at Joe Allen and an absolutely wonderful dinner at Becco after seeing The Thirty Nine Steps down on 44th. French Quarters is so close to everything fun, and such a nice comfortable place to stay. A little street noise from facing 46th, but not so much that it was a serious bother. The balcony and the view more than made up for that. Continental brunch on the Mezzanine was nice too.

The staff and manager at French Quarters are wonderful as well. Again, highly recommended, stay here for a unique Manhattan experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarkaLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

963 - 969 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

Located just two blocks from Times Sq this small but perfectly formed hotel come restaurant/bar made a great base to explore Manhattan the week before Thanksgiving. We arrived on a Saturday, and this is the one flaw with the place, the bar was VERY loud in the evening, and our room on the 1st floor next to the elevator vibrated with the disco that was going on downstairs. However, the staff were quick to relocate us to a top floor suite for the remainder of our stay at no extra charge (in fact they discounted the first night!). The rooms are well appointed and cosy with a New Orleans flavour. The whole place has a warm, welcoming feel to it, much more friendly than your typical large hotel. Thank you to Tori and her colleagues for making our once in a lifetime visit to NYC a memorable one!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80w3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were alerted to the fact that the hotel was right over a bar, but were assured by the desk clerk that no one could access the hotel floors from the bar stairs or elevator. However, the first night, we were awakened twice by drunken patrons screaming (once at 1:30AM and again at 3:30AM) and the second night, we were awakened at 7AM by the bar staff dragging patio furniture around in order to put up Christmas decorations. We were incensed, and each morning, told the front desk that they needed to rectify the problem. I was assured that the manager would call me when we returned home and take something off the price. When I didn't hear from him, I wrote an impassioned email, outlining the problems, and he responded immediately by phone, offering to reimburse our stay in full. He also invited us to come back in future for a night as his guests. Although the hotel really needs to do something about their relationship with the bar, they are clearly aware of the problems and are trying to fix them. I applaud the management for their generosity and sense of duty.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devadasi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in October and it is the perfect little gem in Manhattan! Brand new, with great decor and all the comforts. Not to mention a fantastic location. The staff was super friendly and I really enjoyed talking with the General Manager - Colin. He was very knowledgeable and had some great tips for things to do and see in NYC. Will be back to stay at Christmas.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelTechGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I read all the great reviews on Tripadvisor and chose the French Quarters hoping it would live up to them. It was everything people reported, and more! From the moment we entered the staff made us feel welcome. The room was really large by NYC standards and bathroom was good sized, very nicely appointed and spotless. The decor was lovely and the continental breakfast pretty good too. We loved the location -walking distance from Times Square and Central Park. Overall, a great find!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

we stayed 3 nights here and we were very pleased with our room on the 3rd floor with a sunny balcony overlooking 'restaurant row' and skyscrapers ahead. The pub downstairs was excellent for cocktails and food. The best bar nearby was 'The Mean Fiddler' which gets very noisy and packed after 11:30pm most nights the dj and friendly bar staff must be deaf. The best local cafe we found was Brasserie Athenee on the corner of 46th st and 8th ave open 24hours aswell. only the very average pastries and breads for continental breakfast were the only thing i could find fault with.
It was perfect for our long weekend break in the middle of manhattan.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanlpdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stay there for 3 nights this September with my spouse. The rooms are a little snug, although apparently normal by NYC standards. We did manage to see a room with 2 double beds and it was quite a bit larger than the queen room that we stayed in, but it still wasn't a problem. It's NYC so we weren't spending much time in the hotel.

The hotel and rooms were very clean, and the service was excellent. Despite the small bedroom, the bathroom is actually quite large and well done. It could use some more counter or shelf space for toiletries, and has an incredibly noisy exhaust fan, but those were minor issues.

The location could not be better, close to multiple subway lines and Times Square. There is a continental breakfast included that we took advantage of on just 1 of our mornings, eating out on the other days. It was basic, with some baked goods, juice, coffee, etc. Unfortunately it also included some cardboard boxes of cheap, and mostly sugary cereal that didn't seem to fit with the fine ambiance of the rest of the hotel. All in all we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smeagolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 470 in New York City
1,443 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#16 of 470 in New York City
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
723 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 470 in New York City
571 reviews
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#20 of 470 in New York City
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing