We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Location Location Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #16 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently with my son. This hotel is small/boutique style - just the way I like it. Our room was large (its worth paying a little bit more to upgrade to the room with 2 double beds as its a lot bigger than the standard double room). I found the location in Hells Kitchen/Midtown area very central to most things (Times Square was a short walk). Rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed with a European feel about them. The breakfast was a bit of a let down, they could improve in this regard. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall, definitely recommend staying at French Quarter Apartments. The room rates were very reasonable for a 4 star in NYC as well.

Room Tip: Don't book the double room, ask for the "double double" (even if there are only 2 of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magpie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    173
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
255
408
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Positives: This is in a great location. The manager, who was irish was lovely, very welcoming. We were upgraded without request.

We stayed in room 207, which was of nice decor and clean. The L'Occitane products on arrival were a nice surprise.. but they didn't get topped up which was a shame.

We arrived on a saturday and the noise outside was unbearable hardly slept at all. When I made a comment the next day to the concierge the man was quite abrupt and snapped rudely that it was a saturday night.. helpful!

Breakfast was very disappointing.. it was just a cold small selection. A kettle in the room would have been good to make tea.

The cleaners came very late.. which was annoying because after a day sightseeing it would have been nice to come back to room made up at 3/4pm.

I think you are paying for the location.. it's not cheap..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in June and we were really impressed with the place. I had read that the rooms were small, but being New York I didn't expect any different. When I was making my booking I mentioned that my husband is tall and if they could accommodate us in a bigger room we would appreciate it. The welcome from Colin at the front desk was excellent. He introduced himself, shook our hands and asked us about our trip and where we were from etc. He assured us of their full attention during our stay, which was a lovely welcome. Colin then told us that we'd been upgraded to a superior room, which was the icing on the cake. When we saw the room we were thrilled. It was gorgeous. We've been to New Orleans and the room with balcony brought us back to heady nights in Bourbon Street. The bed was so comfortable, the shower room was immaculate with L'Occitane toiletries and snow white fluffy towels and plenty of them. We really couldn't have asked for more. The breakfast was perfect, a lovely selection of cereal, fresh fruit, croissants, scones, bread, preserves, yoghurt etc, served in the lovely mezzanine floor above the bar. The bar itself, attached to the suites, was fantastic also. We ate here just once but the Creole Fish stew was delicious. And finally, the location. Well, if you want great restaurants, Jazz/Blues clubs/Bars, and a short walk to Times square then this is the place for you. You are in the middle of Hells Kitchen so if you are looking for a tranquil retreat then go further out of town. We were with 6 friends from Denmark who were staying at a large chain hotel close by but when they came and saw where we were they we so jealous. Loved this place and would definitely stay again if and when we take another bite of the Big Apple.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obrienth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We had planned a special trip to NYC for our 40th birthdays and my sons 21st!! The staff made our stay a trip to remember. Always ready to recommend places to eat and help with bookings. We could not have asked for more from a hotel. Would definately recommend. Thank you to all the staff in hotel and bar.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Trying to find a place able to accommodate a family group of 5 is challenging. Based on a Trip Advisor review I contacted them and got a prompt and very helpful reply. Two bedroom suite with a private balcony on restaurant row and two blocks from most broadway shows. Collin and the staff were exceptional. Most definitely will stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MSeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 10 days in April
We had the warmest cleanest nicest room!
The facilities were great the beds were soooo comfortable
Breakfast was good continental and the location fabulous to get to anywhere
The bar down stairs the bourbon st grill had the loveliest bar staff Keith and Simon and two others who were also Irish and great Craic.
The staff in the hotel were helpful and fun we adored it here and wouldn't hesitate ever coming back or recommending it!
Very happy thanks :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is truly a gem in an awesome location. Only a few blocks from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Located on Restaurant Row, so you are spoiled for choice when it comes to food options - some are great and some are not so good.
Staff here are friendly and inviting and made our 2 week stay here very enjoyable. We had a front room, and was a little noisy, but hey this is New York after all.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwaussie-ump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,021 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#14 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,981 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing