We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly & great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #19 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Aside from the great location on restaurant row, which is a nice tree-lined street just 2 blocks from Times Square and 1 block from Hop-on-hop off bus tours, you feel as if you have arrived home when you walk in the door. All of the staff are very friendly and super helpful with recommendations and transportation assistance.

The single rooms are on the small side but beautifully decorated and comfortable. They have wi-fi, a great breakfast room with continental breakfast (a large selection of pastries, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit etc.), refrigerator and coffee maker in the guest rooms - all included in the room rate. We stayed on two separate occasions are were upgraded on our second visit to a beautiful, spacious 1 bedroom suite - an unexpected surprise.

It is an easy walk to many theaters AND no matter what your age do not miss going across the street to Swing 46 for great live music and dancing (or watching) - their food is very good as an extra bonus.

Just more reasons to Love New York!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank binky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying for 4 nights in the heart of Manhatten in June 2013! This hotel has everything you could wish for! Located just a few blocks off of Times Square, and nestled in the middle of Restaurant Row, (amazing restaurants including Italian, Jazz Bar, in addition to the fun, lively Bourbon Street Grill next door and much more!) You are walking distance to literally everything you'd like to see, or the front desk can arrange a yellow cab for you too! Broadway shows, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building, Museums, Shopping and so much more! The front desk hospitality was over the top wonderful - special thank you to Tori for all the little extras you did for us to make our stay extra special! Super comfortable beds, great breakfast with lots of healthy options served in a sunroom, and our King Sized room was spacious and super clean, even had a Keurig Machine! We can't wait to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravellingFoys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a very nice hotel and in a central NYC location. You are within walking distance and / or a short cab ride to just about everywhere you want to go.

The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful. The King room was large and comfortable.

We were always greeted with a smile and a hello as we entered or left the building.

It was great to be within walking distance to the theaters, but just far enough away from the madness that is Time Square itself.

Prior to our stay the hotel corresponded with us via e-mail asking about arrival time, etc.

We did use the off-site laundry service, which is picked up and delivered to the hotel daily. The cost is $9 for up to 5 pounds, and 85 cents every additional pound. Dry cleaning is about $5 a piece.

Yes there was street noise, but that was not bothersome. It was kind of nice to hear the horse (yes I said horse) clip clopping through the street late at night. And yes, there is garbage pick up at 3 a.m., there is no way a garbage truck could run any other time. But that just was part of being in the city.

All and all a great stay at a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank criancadodeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Lovely stylish rooms, a very substantial continental breakfast & very helpful staff. Lovely New York town house converted into hotel, small & personal. No need to stay in a large over priced chain hotel when you could stay here. Only 2 blocks from time square and 4 blocks from subway to JFK. We stayed in a king room & found it very spacious, included a fridge & coffee/tea/hot choc maker. Also lots of restaurants to choose from on this street. Or if you fancy a sandwich pop to 'Carve Unique Sandwiches' on corner of 47th and 8th Avenue, absoultely delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aaaabbbbsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I am an avid Trip Advisor user and was immediately drawn to this hotel when looking for somewhere to stay in NYC for our 15th anniversary. The reviews were exceptional and the location of the hotel appeared to be perfect. We were not disappointed.
Likes: 1) Location. Perfect! Steps from Times Square and right on Restaurant Row. We had considered staying a little outside of the action and dealing with the "commute". I'm so glad we didn't! Beautiful street, lovely view and unbeatable location!
2) Our room, a King Room, room number 207. Beautiful decor, lots of room, beautiful bathroom. No elevator on our "side" of the hotel which is actually two converted brownstones, one with elevator and one without. This meant we had to go outside and right back into the other brownstone to visit the front desk and elevator to the restaurant mezzanine where breakfast is served daily. No problem in September but in the winter months, it could be more of a nuisance.
3) Extras. Free FAST wifi. Continental breakfast included (rare in NYC) including cereal, bagels, muffins, pastries, toast, yogurt, fresh fruit, delicious coffee and juices.
Room for improvement: we were very happy overall but I am a picky person when it comes to room cleanliness and there were a few small issues. We noticed a clothing tag on the bathroom floor and some grout issues in the shower. Nothing major but for $300+ per night I expected perfection in this department. Daily cleaning was great although I would have loved to see the free Evian replaced each day in the refrigerator.
Noise: a lot of reviews speak to the street noise and being on the second floor, we noticed it. Single pane windows don't keep much out! Luckily we usually sleep with white noise on and were perfectly fine and slept all night without interruption.
Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful but not exceptional. Bourbon Street great! Free newspaper and feature sheet under the door each day was great!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jen598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The French Quarters is a lovely small hotel. It is located just near the bustling Times Square on a quiet street. Near the hotel, on the same street, there are several charming small restaurants.

We (2 adults and 3 kids) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 501) which is located on the 5th floor. The apartment includes a master bedroom with a small walk-in closet, one bedroom with a double bed and a living room. Our two small kids slept in the bedroom and our older kid slept in the living room on a pull out sofa, which was very easy to handle. The room was clean and nicely furnished.

In addition, the apartment included a small kitchen with a microwave, a stove and a coffee maker. The leaving room opens up to a lovely specious balcony with a typical New York view.

The hotel serves continental breakfast with a wide variety of pastry, juices and yogurts in a lovely dining room.

The hotel and booking department staff were kind and accommodating. We even were able to do an early check in without paying an extra charge.

Room Tip: book a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 501)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TAMARA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our first trip to New York as nearly 50 yr olds and we're SO glad we stayed here!! It was within walking distance of Times Square and too many bars and restaurants to count! Right next door to one of the most popular bars in town! Our room was lovely, the bed so comfortable and clean! We travelled north for a while and came back for our final two nights before flying back to Australia. Lucky to be upgraded to room 401 which was a 2 bed suite with 2 bathrooms complete with private terrace!! The continental breakfast was sufficient and despite the slow lift (there are stairs) I would highly recommend this hotel...a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PennyDitchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 471 in New York City
1,456 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#22 of 471 in New York City
783 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Q&A Residential Hotel
Q&A Residential Hotel
#24 of 471 in New York City
518 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#30 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $170 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing