We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in August 2013. The rooms are beautiful and plenty large enough, with very comfy bedding and classy decor. The free WiFi is very reliable, and everything was in great working order. The staff stand out here - courteous, helpful and friendly. On a rainy day we were glad to find an umbrella in the room! We'll most definitely be back - highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    868
    199
    42
    7
    7
See reviews for
309
481
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with my son. Beautiful rooms, spacious and beautifully appointed. Casual and private. Very easy living. Good location and well managed. Only down side is that it can get quite noisy at night, with the piano bar directly opposite the hotel. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs space and a little more privacy than is afforded in a typical hotel.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms in the apartment next to the reception area are larger than the others. Avoid th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyLou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I just spent 4 nights with my sister-in-law and niece at this hotel. It was everything I had been reading about. The room was decent size and the beds were really comfortable. Bathroom was very roomy and nice. This hotel is centrally located. Two blocks to Time Square and really close to all the shows and restaurants. They have a happy hour every night M-F and a free continental breakfast. Your usually breakfast foods but it is included in the price of the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us tips on what subway to take to different places in the city. Also gave us suggestions on restaurants. First night went across the street to Becco's. Wouldn't recommend that one. They were rude and the food was not all that good. Joe Allen's was another suggestion. Really liked it and they were very friendly. Food was good too! Both were on the same block as the French Quarter. If you get a chance go to Helen's Stardust Diner. It is so much fun and the food is really good. We had one little complaint during our stay and when we took that to the front desk they were more than willing to help us out. I would definitely go back there if I ever find myself back in NY.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower section don't have an elevator so you have to walk steps so if you have probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Best deal in New York City. Great room, service and location. The staff are very nice and helpful. The French Quaters is in the middle of "Restaurant Row." Will definitely book the French Quarters for our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I couldn't have been happier with our choice of hotel. This was our first time in NY and I researched hotels thoroughly before booking. I am so please we chose the French Quarters. I loved..loved the decor of the room..so charming and full of character compared to typical chain hotel type decor .The beds were sooo comfortable and after a busy day of walking and sightseeing it was a pleasure to come home to the room. All basic comfort needs were considered including umbrellas, international power plugs, and very thoughtful complimentary cold waters and drinks.
The included continental breakfast was a great start to the day and the staff were so helpful and friendly.
Thank you for the recommendation to the 2 restaurants we ate at. We had a superior meal at Becco, the Italian restaurant across the road. And an equally delicious meal was had at 44andX.
At the time of booking I didn't quite realise just what a great location this would be, only a couple of blocks from Times Square and smack bang on Restaurant Row.
I highly recommend staying here and would return in a heartbeat. I think it offers great value for money and 2 of our friends are now planning to book for their forthcoming trips.. Thank you for a memorable stay French Quarters!!

Room Tip: Our room was 208 at the rear with 2 double beds servicing Mum n Dad and 2 teenage kids....loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Small beautiful hotel that is very roomy and comfortable. My daughter and I stayed there 4 days and being that she had traveled to NY several times before she had orchestrated our trip well for us. I picked the hotel based on the reviews and it was a great choice. It is close to Time Square but far enough away that we were able to escape that crowd. The street is lined with restaurants, and is very comfortable. We walked and took the subway everywhere we wanted to go comfortably from this location. The breakfast was fine for us, I thought good choices. The staff was very nice and were quick to help you every way they could. When you asked for something - it was done. I am a little OCD so when I would "double check" that the car had been reserved for our return LGA, it seems any staff member could immediately confirm details. Being I am a light sleeper, I specifically did ask for a quieter room as I had read the reviews. Indeed on Friday and Saturday nights, it seems to be a hopping place next door and on occasion people would sit on the steps leading to the apartments and talk loudly. However, that said, from the room it was quiet enough that it did not interfere with my sleep. The rooms, were comfortable, spacious and well kept. I was always amazed that each morning the breakfast area which was in the restaurant/bar was clean and ready for guest. I commented they must have a well orchestrated crew that cleaned. I highly recommend this for choice for your NY trip.

Room Tip: We had room 306 which I found to be quiet enough plus had a nice window view with a comfy chair to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallahasseeJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards,Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here recently with my wife and daughter for four nights and cannot speak highly enough about the French Quarters. I had gone with reasonably high expectations based on tripadvisor reviews and I must say we were not disappointed.
This hotel has a great location, has super rooms and has a high level of service that can be provided in a small hotel.
Location is a block and a half from Time Square and sits in a street with many restaurants. We ate in one of these restaurants on the recommendation of the hotel and had a super meal. Thank you Colin for your suggestion.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet indeed. The decor was lovely and we thought the room was very well appointed and really liked the colour schemes. The Keurig coffee maker was good to have and my daughter particularily enjoyed the hot apple cider.
The level of service in the hotel was excellent . They helped us with restaurant suggestions and any questions I asked were quickly answered and nothing seemed to be a bother to them.
We hadn't realised that Ellis island was still closed after last year's hurricane and they gave us alternative suggestions and even printed off our online reservations that we made. Colin who is the manager of the hotel obviously runs a small but good team of staff and probably the reason that the service is so good.
The breakfast was a small selection of cereal, yoghurts, breads and pastries alongwith a selection of fruit and suited us perfectly as we are small breakfast eaters.
I definitely would stay here again if travelling to NY and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

If travelling to the airport from the hotel I would recommend the taxi company the hotel uses for only 6 dollars more than the standard taxi fare to the airport ($58 vs $52).The car was more comfortable than the yellowcab and our driver more pleasant and drove much better than our journey to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer quietness ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,374 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,826 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing