We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #12 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently had a fabulous stay at the French Quarters. Everything from service to the atmosphere to the location were impeccable! From the moment we arrived, Colin, the general manager, along with the staff was beyond helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience.

Living in New York, I have had the pleasure of staying at many hotels throughout the city and have found the accommodations at the French Quarters to be second to none. This hotel is absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ElizabethNY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    184
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
281
443
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The French Quarters Guest Apartments in NYC was a truly unique experience for me. Converted Brownstones on New York's restaurant row and decorated in the style of New Orleans. The rooms were charming - ours had a street view which was great. The amenities were more than suitable, coffee-maker, ironing boards and a lovely staff at the front desk. I must thank Torrie the front desk attendant for helping us with dinner reservations and general NYC info. The stay included a breakfast in the morning which got us going with coffee, juice, cereals and pastries. Thank you to the staff there as well - a morning smile was so welcoming. The hotel is located next to and above the Bourbon Street restaurant which was convenient for a late night snack or cocktail. This hotel will now be my favorite place to stay when in NY. Thanks again to all for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We loved to sit on our window sill and watch the street below and all the goings on at Restaurant Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohm1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

This place does not disappoint. We stayed here last year and loved it. We booked again based on the location and convenience of getting around the city for a few days. It isn't a full service hotel, but the poeple that work there more than make up for the lack of big-hotel amenities. Stefanie at the front desk was full of information about getting around and places to visit that we hadn't thought of. While they is no on-site full service restaurant, the breakfast is fast, easy, and offered all we needed to start our day being tourists. Ivan was great. Ask for him!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinojoyceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Watch out; when the street is named Restaurant Row. That means Party Row, Loud Row, Yelling and Screaming Row, Drunken Row. If you want any semblance of sleep, find another hotel. Staff not too concerned about our issues with this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TM R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Read the other great reviews. We agree with everything said. Amazingly nice large rooms for nyc and such nice staff made our anniversary even more memorable! They were so accomodating and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Will definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank zuluPa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you're looking to be near Broadway, Times Square, and several other great places - this is a great hotel. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. I will go back to this hotel. Hint: Get a room not over the bar if you have sleep issues.

Room Tip: Don't get 'above bar' if you have sleep issues. If you do, take earplugs. The noise tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelmaster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in these apartments for 5 nights and were very impressed. They are located in two adjacent properties in the Restaurant Row area on 46th St West, so very well placed for a huge range of restaurants, as well as Broadway/off-Broadway theatres. The downside is that the area is busy and can be noisy until the small hours, shortly followed by early morning activity from street-cleaners, etc. We were allocated to a room at the front of the property, which was very well-appointed. Everything was spotlessly clean and the room was a good size considering this is New York. We were immediately struck by the warmth of the welcome from staff, and their attention to detail and helpfulness. The manager, Colin, made a very good impression. Although the room had double-glazing, we were conscious of noise from outside most the night and, as one of us is a light sleeper, this meant a poor night's sleep. The next morning we enquired into the possibility of changing our room to one at the back of the hotel which might be quieter. The staff were very happy to try and sort this out and we went out for the day. On return, they had moved us to a quieter room at the back of the hotel and moved all our luggage for us too. If anything, this room was even better appointed than the previous one, and had kitchen facilities as well as all the usual things you'd expect in a good quality hotel. The breakfasts were quite adequate, without being outstanding. The only minor niggle here was that breakfast finished at 9 a.m. in the week, which is rather early if (as we didn't!) you'd had a late night out on the town. The hotel is well-placed in terms of transport links, and we were able to walk from and to Penn Station at the start and end of the holiday, and several subways on different lines were within easy reach. Times Square was a short walk away. Considering its location, we thought the cost of the hotel was quite reasonable. Experience has shown that you would be very lucky to find anywhere reasonable on Manhattan for less than £200 a night and it would be easy to pay far, far more than this. So all in all we thought the French Quarters was good value for money and a good choice for our stay in New York. We would certainly consider staying there again when we return, but would ask for a room at the back of the property initially. For good sleepers, a front room would not be a problem because the noise outside is really not that great. When we left, the hotel staff were happy to store our luggage until later in the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing