We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gem of a Find - Everything You Need in a Great Location at an Amazing Price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #12 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gem of a Find - Everything You Need in a Great Location at an Amazing Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend back in December, a very difficult time to find a place in the city that is not crazy expensive. I'm not sure if it was just good timing but I paid $200/night - being a few blocks from Times Square and right in the middle of Restaurant Row is rare to find at that rate. The place is small and quaint with a casual bar and restaurant attached. The rooms are quite large (again for the city) with mini-kitchens. They even stocked the fridge with mini "hangover cure" bottled drinks. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. I'm not suggesting its an actual four star hotel, but we didn't need super fancy for a quick trip - clean, relatively spacious and "location, location, location" was basically perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janess1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    184
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
281
443
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very good place to stay on Manhattan. Very central, 7-8 min on foots brings you to Times sq.
the area is full of bars, restaurants and shopping.
Room we got was decent size. I understand, that hotel has a small rooms as well, but we was in a big one.
Some noise from bar, but I managed to sleep well after a couple of drinks.
Breakfast is included. Very limited, but good start for a day. Wi-fi is free in rooms.
I will back to this place.
The only problem is parking: very expensive. Expect to pay 50 USD per 24 hours.
Or better come by subway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed there for a month on business. Colin, Torrey, Stephanie, John and Robert were always helpful and cheery morning, noon and night. Housekeeping was very thorough! Immaculate!! My room was large and very comfortable with a desk, lounge chair and foot stool, small fridge, microwave, stovetop and coffee maker fully stocked with coffee, hot chocolate and apple cider! Beds and pillows were too comfy...hard to get up each morning. There is a continental breakfast each morning. I was too lazy to go but a few times, but when I did I enjoyed sitting on the terrace eating oatmeal. Room service was convenient and fast. Food was much better than standard hotel fare. Plus location is excellent being on restaurant row. Also within walking distance to all the Broadway theaters. I can't wait to return and see all my "friends" again soon. It will be my new home away from home!

Room Tip: The rooms are large especially for NYC. My favorite is #501 two bedroom with a huge private terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and it entirely lived up to our expectations. The hotel has real character, which is rare in a tourist Mecca, and the staff are fantastic. Our room was high-end luxe in every respect, from the beautiful brick walls through to the marble fireplace & supremely comfortable bed. The view was superb too! We also appreciated the alarm call at 4am when we had to leave for our early flight! Many thanks to all at the French Quarters for a truly memorable wedding anniversary stay.

Room Tip: We really liked the exposed brick walls in ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aishlynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here for 9 nights last month and just can't rate this place highly enough. The staff went out of there way to give advice, the newsletter under the door each morning giving you an idea of what to do, was a lovely touch.The breakfast was just enough, the room were very clean and the beds where amazing. After arriving after a 24 hour flight, we though we had found paradise. On top of all that was that the location was prefect. Can't wait to come back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoran, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We can't say enough good things about this hotel/apartment. The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly, the room was just perfect. The location is just off Time Square, breakfast was great and kept us going until lunch time. Our room had a wonderful large bathroom with a huge shower area and loads of white fluffy towels. We also had a great coffee machine in the room which was kept really well stocked with a fab selection of capsules. Room was really really comfy and quiet. Such a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ithaca,ny
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed this past weekend for the first time at French Quarters.

I live in upstate NY so have been to the city many times. I think this is my "new favorite place!"

I was actually reluctant to reserve here as the location is very close to tourist attractions so I thought it might be a bit too crowded for us. Not so! It's really perfectly located for anyone. It's just a few blocks off Times Square, but those few blocks are only traveled by people who are staying or live in the neighborhood.

The rooms were exactly as advertised and true to the photos on the website. They would seem somewhat small by suburban standards, but quite spacious by city standards. Our room had two (very plush) queen beds, excellent (and spotless!) bathroom, and a small cooking area with fridge and coffee maker.

There is really no need to even think about cooking in-room when booking here. A continental breakfast of croissants, muffins, yogurt, bagels, OJ, and such is included in the room price. The breakfast is served on the mezzanine level in a lovely sun room overlooking the Bourbon Street Grille.

There are seven Zagat-rated 20+ restaurants just on this one block. In addition, the in-house "Bourbon Street Grille" (Zagat 19) has great pub food in a nice and relaxed atmosphere.
We had burgers and beers for lunch on our last day and it was perfect.

The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We were able to drop our bags off early before check-in time and also to store them for a few hours after check-out, feeling confident the entire time that they were safe. Invaluable.

After staying there, I really wanted to just move to NYC.

It's that perfect of a place and block.

Room Tip: The Bourbon Street Grille is open till 4am on weekend nights. If noise is a problem for you, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gotarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,362 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing