We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so happy we booked these apartments” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #11 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bundoran, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“so happy we booked these apartments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We can't say enough good things about this hotel/apartment. The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly, the room was just perfect. The location is just off Time Square, breakfast was great and kept us going until lunch time. Our room had a wonderful large bathroom with a huge shower area and loads of white fluffy towels. We also had a great coffee machine in the room which was kept really well stocked with a fab selection of capsules. Room was really really comfy and quiet. Such a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    187
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
286
451
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ithaca,ny
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed this past weekend for the first time at French Quarters.

I live in upstate NY so have been to the city many times. I think this is my "new favorite place!"

I was actually reluctant to reserve here as the location is very close to tourist attractions so I thought it might be a bit too crowded for us. Not so! It's really perfectly located for anyone. It's just a few blocks off Times Square, but those few blocks are only traveled by people who are staying or live in the neighborhood.

The rooms were exactly as advertised and true to the photos on the website. They would seem somewhat small by suburban standards, but quite spacious by city standards. Our room had two (very plush) queen beds, excellent (and spotless!) bathroom, and a small cooking area with fridge and coffee maker.

There is really no need to even think about cooking in-room when booking here. A continental breakfast of croissants, muffins, yogurt, bagels, OJ, and such is included in the room price. The breakfast is served on the mezzanine level in a lovely sun room overlooking the Bourbon Street Grille.

There are seven Zagat-rated 20+ restaurants just on this one block. In addition, the in-house "Bourbon Street Grille" (Zagat 19) has great pub food in a nice and relaxed atmosphere.
We had burgers and beers for lunch on our last day and it was perfect.

The staff is friendly and very accommodating. We were able to drop our bags off early before check-in time and also to store them for a few hours after check-out, feeling confident the entire time that they were safe. Invaluable.

After staying there, I really wanted to just move to NYC.

It's that perfect of a place and block.

Room Tip: The Bourbon Street Grille is open till 4am on weekend nights. If noise is a problem for you, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gotarheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Awesome location just half a block from all the Times Square action! Front desk staff are uber - friendly and agreed to a last minute booking change due to cancelled inbound flight - at no cost. Plus received a room upgrade. How good is that? The beds are very comfy, thick carpet to walk on in the room, good wifi, great coffee and close to fantastic restaurants. What else do you need? And the price is good - under $300 for a 2 bedroom apt. in Times Square. As big Arne says "I WILL BE BACK."

Room Tip: First floor above the bar might be noisy on a Friday / Saturday night. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony007Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A well appointed appartment five minutes walk from Times Square,friendly and very helpful staff willing to help enhance the visitor experience nothing was a bother from giving directions,booking theatre tickets to organising cabs,very well appointed rooms with excellent in house facilities,and the manager a gentleman,would highly recommend to anyone visiting New York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abita Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was my first trip to new york, for a short but fabulous stay.We were in a two bedroom suite which offered two full bathrooms. I found the room to be very clean and comfortable. I enjoyed the location as well, a tad off the strip but far enough away to enjoy a good night sleep. The restaurant was good, the outdoor patio area made for a delightful evening reception. They offered $5 hurricanes. Not as potent as the ones in New Orleans but still kickin. Maid service was top notch they did a awesome job cleaning up and making sure everything was restocked, from fresh linens to coffee and tea offered complimentary. So my take away experience being from New Orleans was thisis a great little boutique hotel with a flair for southern hospitality in New york.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was traveling on business but had a limited budget for this trip, so I did a little more research than usual to find a great place that was in my price range. Later, I felt lucky to have had the budget limit because I might not otherwise have found this gem! I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The staff at The French Quarters was friendly, helpful, responsive and professional--from my first phone call to ask questions before checking in, to post-checkout (they held my bags while I went to meetings). The location is perfect for nearly any kind of New York City business agenda or vacation adventure. My room was cozy, warm, and felt more like an apartment than a hotel, especially when gazing out onto the block from the second floor rather than a high rise building. There were many restaurants nearby but it is also very convenient to go to the neighboring restaurant and bar--Bourbon Street Bar and Grille--which really made me feel like I was at a Mardi Gras ball--even at breakfast time. I grew up in New York and would love to stay at The French Quarters on future trips to see friends and family or for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

There is no doubt that this is a good place to stay…The owner is doing everything right and defiantly aware of reviews and the power of sites like trip advisor. Very well thinking about leaving an envelope with a “personal” letter, written by hand to each guest – impressive. The rooms are very nice, a bit small but has anything you need, the shower is amazing. I had only one problem and this is why I’m not rating this as excellent – The heating system is very bad. I couldn’t change the temp. from the room control panel, the only way you can increase the temp. higher than 22º is by calling the reception which is very annoying. It was -1 º degrees outside and I ended up freezing all night because it was too cold in the room. Breakfast is very basic but sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casillero_del_Diablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#27 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing