We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location - small hotel big personality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #12 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location - small hotel big personality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We are a family of four ( including 2 teenagers) who stayed here for 5 days in August. Overall this was an excellent choice for us. The location is fantastic - on restaurant row. We had a 2 bedroom suite (room 501) which had a fantastic rooftop terrace. The room was really nicely decorated and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The only problem was a lack of space to put 4 large suitcases. Because we were at the top of the building we heard no noise from the bar below but did occasionally get some early morning street noise - but this is NY so to be expected. The breakfast was adequate - they did occasionally run out of things and it would have been nice to have it available until later. However, when our teenagers couldn't cope with rushing for breakfast, the breakfast staff very kindly sent food up for them. The bar downstairs had a really nice atmosphere although the one meal we ate there was decidedly average. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    182
    34
    7
    6
See reviews for
278
440
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a studio-style room with a king bed. The room was nicely appointed, everything was in good condition.

The pros:
Comfortable bed
Breakfast provided
Good sound-proofing on the windows
Unique, not a mega-hotel.
Fabulous location
Large nice shower
Small refridgerator

The cons:
Breakfast only until about 9am. We missed breakfast many days. Service at breakfast was spotty.
No proper closer, rather a wardrobe type of dresser/closet. If you had a long dress you couldn't hang it in here.
Not much counter space in bathroom
Small kitchen did not have any utensils, plates, microwave - limited usefulness

I would stay here again, it's a better place than many in NYC at a similar price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a bit of a bumpy start when we arrived on a rainy Sunday evening - the elevator was broken and none of the bedrooms are on the ground floor. Luckily we persuaded the repair technician that he could test the elevator by using our bags so they eventually arrived at our room (105) without somebody having to drag them up two flights of stairs! The hotel shares a building with the Bourbon Street Bar & Grille which is handy because you're never too far from a $5 cocktail, but it gets uncomfortably noisy on Thursday nights when you're trying to sleep...

Breakfast is served in the bar terrace which is hard to access from the bedrooms unless you're told how to get there by the front desk, but it's plentiful with lots of bagels, juice, toast, yoghurt & cereal (but it stops at 9am weekdays). The room is well appointed with a good-sized bathroom equipped with L'Occitane amenities and a great shower. The bed was large and comfortable and the small kitchenette was great for storing cold drinks. My one gripe about the room was the a/c which seemed to have a mind of it's own and never got quite cold enough.

The hotel is located right in the middle of Restaurant Row and 2 blocks from the subway (use the 50th St station rather than 42nd St as it's much smaller and easier to get around...) so the location can't be faulted.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible to avoid noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babaduck71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Love the hotel - location is fantastic w/ lots of great restaurants, hotel is very charming and personal. Rooms a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The bumpy part - we were on the first floor, our first night was perfect but the second night the noise from the weekend entertainment was pretty awful. I had barely mentioned it at the front desk before Colin came down and took care of everything. We ended with a very wonderful stay and are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: Stay on upper floors to avoid excess noise on first floor. Other than that you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Collin and his staff offer exceptional service. The location can't be beat. Countless attractions and restaurants within walking distance. Love this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyIa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights (Sunday-Wednesday) this week at this beautiful hotel. We were celebrating our anniversary. What a great vacation. Can not say enough about the location, staff, and beautiful rooms. We had such a great time we have already booked a return trip. I always read the Tripadvisor reviews and this time everyone was spot on. So many good restaurants within walking distance and only 2 blocks off Time Square. Got ahead and book a room - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

My wife and iI stayed in the French Quarters on October 19, 2011. Too bad we reserved only one night. The place is Great! Tory and Colin are excellent hosts whose engaging personalities, and knowledge of the city create the wonderful ambiance of this hotel. We stayed in an amazingly spacious, meticulously clean, two bedroom suite that had a living room, a small kitchen, and it even had a balcony. We paid one of the most reasonable rates in the city and a fine breakfast in a picturesque mezzanine was included.Unbelievable!

You might be interested to know that the commandant of the Marine Corp Stays at the French Quarters when he is in the city. Enough said?

Room Tip: Ask if the two bedroom suite with a balcony is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,337 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Property: The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#25 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing