We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in all aspects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Ranked #18 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was our first stop in New York, and it did not disappoint in a town that is very expensive to stay we found the French Quarter very responable for the location and for what you got.
It was very clean, comfy and a good size, plus a continental breakfast was included (nice touch). Location was fantastic, we got around by foot or bus to all the tourist spots and if you couldnt be bothered walking to far after a long day just outside was restaurants, it was all happening.
We loved it and would definately go back to this establishment.

Room Tip: We had no trouble with noise
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
There are newer reviews for The French Quarters Guest Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

There is no other place to stay than this one. The location is perfect! Very close to times square but away enough from the noise, perfect location close to all the broadway shows and right inside Hells Kitchen surrounded by all of the best restaurants in NYC. This is not a hotel with 3000 rooms so the service is personalized and first class. French Quarters is a Manhatten gem and we will definitely be staying here again and again. As for the people who complain about street noise, it's New York! what do expect a quiet country town?
Best Hotel
Best Management
Best staff
Best location
Just the best.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thegak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Booked a room here very last minute during Fleet Week and was able to get one of the best room rates in the city. From the moment we stepped foot in the hotel, we felt so welcomed and important. The GM Colin went out of his way to help us and make sure our one night here was perfect. The room was spacious, clean, and the beds were incredible! The free WiFi was a fantastic ammenity and the connection speed was very fast. The complimentary breakfast (including delicious bagels, breads, muffins, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee, etc) was well kept, well stocked, fresh and tasty! The location was absolute perfection, too. The room was a bit out of our price range, but for being a last minute booking (and during Fleet Week), it really was the best rate we found, especiially for all the ammenities and the location. We can't wait to stay here in the future for longer than one night!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is a great location and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alikat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Booked a room for my relatives here last year. The receptionists were very nice and friendly. Room was clean with its own kitchen. Downstairs bar may have been a bit noisy, but this is NYC, after all haha.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

For us, this was a home away from home and we would readily stay there again. The staff was very, very helpful in coordinating our check-in and check-out, since the logistics are always difficult when travelling with young children. We stayed in room 502 - two bedroom suite (upgraded from 1 bedroom).

My wife was in for a tradeshow and I was Mr. Mom. We were travelling with a one-month-old baby and a 2.5 y/o toddler -so the suite aspect was very appealing to us. The small refrigerator and microwave came in handy. We didn't use the stove since there were no tools / pots pans readily available, but perhaps you can ask for these.

This is not a traditional hotel, so do not expect a large staff or big lobby or workout room or pool or concierge etc., but I think the trade-offs are well worth it. Of course, we can only comment on the room we stated in (502), which was just so comfortable and inviting. We were happy to have a deck off the living area, although the rain kept us from really taking advantage of it.

The beds were very comforatable... basically everything feels very new and solid. There were flatscreens in both bedrooms and the living area. This room was in the back of the hotel, and we were not disturbed by any noises. The internet connection was solid (we used the provided ethernet connection).

Overall, this was the perfect place for our 4-day stay in NY. John and Colin in particular were very helpful and we owe them our gratitude. The other staff were pleasant too, but we leaned on John a bit to assist with moving luggage etc, and he came through.

We usually stay with friends when visiting NY, but now we have another great option - the French Quarters.

Room Tip: High floor - back of hotel probably best
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Review about the hotel The French Quarters Guest Apartments in Times Square, Manhattan, New York.

We stayed there from April 16th till April 25th 2011 . We were four adults at all ( my three grown up son and daughters and myself, in two different rooms : room 203, really big room with two king size beds, and 202, nice confortable room with one king bed.
From now on, this is going to be MY HOME in New York , for these unbeatable reasons : it is two steps from Times Square, but still in a delicious quiet 46th street.
The hotel is a GEM, just 21 guest-rooms, WITH A DELICIOUS BREAKFAST kind of buffet ( you serve yourself as you wish ), UNBEATABLE ENORMOUS AND REALLY CONFORTABLE ROOMS, very BUT VERY good bathrooms, where ALL WORKS ¡!! Nothing Missing, nothing to complain ¡!!!!! Plenty of hot water, etc, etc.
Beds and lingerie, better than at home ¡!!!!! Beautifull confortable beds , pillows,etc.
10 points to the whole human group taking care of this hotel plus us passengers : General manager Colin, Torry, Stefany , John and Robert at the front desk,Camelia and Michael at breakfast, applause for each one of you ¡!!!! Thanks for EVERYTHING ¡!! Will be back EVERY TIME we come back to New York ¡!!!!!!

Karina,Fabiana,Leonardo and Harry D. Valevici
Montevideo, Uruguay,harrydav@gmail.com

Room Tip: just write to Colin
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Can't offer enough superlatives about The French Quarters Guest Apartments. The hotel is located in a very convenient and lively area on restaurant row. When we arrived, the very friendly front desk person told us that management had upgraded our room—completely unsolicited—to a suite, since we were traveling with two small children! The accommodations were great: the suite had a good size bedroom with a king bed, a separate living room with a pull-out couch, plus a kitchen area. The rooms were very tastefully appointed, with quality furnishings. In addition, the bathroom was beautiful and spotless. Continental breakfast, included at no additional charge, was quite good and convenient. All of the above came for a price that was more than reasonable, despite the fact that our stay was during a spring vacation week in which other NYC hotels seemed to have raised prices. A great experience!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masfamoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,895 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The French Quarters Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The French Quarters Guest Apartments

Address: 346 W. 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3881
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in New York City
#15 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $213 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The French Quarters Guest Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on New York’s famed Restaurant Row, The French Quarters Guest Apartments brings a taste of the Big Easy to the Big Apple. Whether in town for a week, a weekend or an extended visit, the comfort and quality of superior accommodations and service awaits you. Our sophisticated and comfortable surroundings will refresh and rejuvenate you for another day in the board room or night on the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The French Quarters Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The French Quarters Guest Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing