We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radio City Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Radio City Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were advised to stay at Radio City Apartments by our daughter who visited NY about 12 months ago, so we took her advise. The apartments are not your 5 star quality, but they are clean and very functional. We had a fully operational kitchen, renovated bathroom and a small area with a 4 seated table to eat. The only "down" side was there wasn't much room to put your luggage. A small price to pay for the location. Being mature travellers, it was fantastic that everything is at your door step or within an easy walk. Time square is 5 minutes away and transport and the subway 2 minutes away. Restaurants were easy to find as was Broadway, and tour companies to get you around to all the sights. We made use of all these attractions and means of getting around the city.
Be ready, it's busy, crowded, noisy and exciting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    917
    216
    60
    35
See reviews for
802
509
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stay here for the location, which can't be beaten. Proximity to mid-town's top attractions, plus access to for subway lines within easy walking distance.

Our two bedroom apartment was clean and relatively quiet, with a full (albeit small) kitchen which allowed us to cook some meals.

It must be said the front desk staff are not the friendliest! At times there were up to three rather sour faced men propping up the desk, but not offering much in the way of service! I was even berated for having the temerity to borrow a complementary umbrella without asking! This at $400 a night!

Conversely, the cleaning and laundry staff were pleasant and helpful.

If you're looking for a comfortable apartment with a great location, stay here. If you appreciate being treated like you are welcome by front desk staff, don't choose Radio City Apartments.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Radio City Apartments is the perfect location, walking distance to Times Square.
We stayed here for two weeks while in New York, two horrible weeks.
The a/c in our room sounded like a broken generator, the shower was a nightmare - the water was basically freezing cold OR scorching hot, regardless of where the nobs were.
Our ENTIRE floor smelt of Cigarette, including our room (and we are not smokers), it was disgusting to wake up to.
I would not stay here again and I am shocked at the rating it has received.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sherrie_00_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The location of this apartment hotel is very good. You're close to most of the big sights on Manhatten. We have been here 2 times before, because it's not crazy expensive and because of the location. We had a studio apartment, and that works okay for 3 nights. There hasen't been done a lot to these rooms since we first stayed here in 2005, but you don't spent that much time in your room in NY either way. It's just totally okay. Nothing fancy, and they don't care if you're there beacuse of a special occation. The worst thing for us this time was the AC. It was extremely noisy, and when you're in NYC in June you have to have it on. Bring earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

It is difficult to find reasonable apartments in the heart of New York, a brief stroll to restaurants, the theatre district, Times Square, and with a subway station a few steps away. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment , not large but big enough for the four of us to relax after a busy day. Small but adequate kitchen, tiny bathroom, but both fine for a holiday. Bedroom with 2 double beds with slightly saggy mattresses - but comfortable enough We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here June30-July 2 with my two teenage sons. Love the location. On the same block as the subway station to and from the airport. A five minute ( or less ) walk takes you to trains to anywhere. Very clean and comfortable. Staff is very responsive to any needs...ours were mainly directions and getting them to hold our bags before check-in and after checkout.

We stayed in a non-smoking room on the front end. Our flight home was cancelled and we returned to the hotel lobby to regroup. To our amazement, there was a room available. It was a smoking room. I am very uncomfortable in smoking rooms so they gave me the keys to go up to have a sniff before committing. Don't know what they spray the rooms with but it works. No trace of cigarettes. Again, this room is super clear and comfortable.

Toasties is a yummy, reasonable breakfast spot next door... We've eaten there every morning. Good coffee, reasonable prices and friendly staff. Good place to people watch.

Close to theatres and a couple super yummy eateries (on the affordable side, remember I am feeding teenage boys). Potbelly Sandwiches in Rockefeller Center, Mardon Cuban Restaurant (get the Cuban sandwich and the plantains), Num Pang (Cambodian). All locally owned and amazing... You CAN eat well in Times Square without spending a fortune.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from a 6 night stay June 23, 2014, stayed with daughter and friend in one bedroom. Half a block away from Times Square. Rooms were clean, in good shape, staff friendly and helpful. I will go back and stay here again and I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling they have all sizes of aprtments with full kitchens so you can cook to save a little extra cash for fun activities.

Room Tip: We were on 9th floor and it was as quiet as can be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#328 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#137 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#212 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,573 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#168 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,422 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radio City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio City Apartments

Property: Radio City Apartments
Address: 142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6802
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 168 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radio City Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Radio City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio City Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing