We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radio city apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radio City Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Location - on the money 5 mins from Times Square,radio city MHz,Rockefeller,5mins from uptown dowmtown subway that's opens up the whole city.if you want a place to just lay your head a night well this is the job.only down if there is a down ,one or two or the front desk staff can be rude bar that location perfect.

Room Tip: Location perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

There are so many positives that I am going to give 5 stars to this hotel apartment.

I had the double-bed apartment for 4 nights so I appreciated the functional kitchen: full size refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker. A good size room. Never used the flat screen TV or the stove.

There are no guarantees about non-smoking rooms so I was prepared for the residual smell, but the room was absolutely clean with no trace of smoking.

Free 3G wireless worked fast and I downloaded the apps for subways which are really useful if you have no car. The staff will recommend the nearest Supermarket and cafes. There is a pizzeria next door: $5 will get you a slice of pizza and a drink. You can also splurge at Carmine's Italian restaurant near Time's Square.

Radio City Apartments is centrally located and close to subways, Rockefeller Center (coupons found a the entrance), TKTS booth and theaters, 5th Ave, Museum of Modern Art, St. Patrick's Cathedral. I walked to Central Park about 20 min.

There are some drawbacks such as noise and overheating. I had a room on the 12th floor (room 1201) so there was a sufficient buffer from the street noise.

The overheating can be a problem since there is no thermostat to control the temperature, but manually close the heating elements in the room and that should take care of the problem.

You can leave your luggage with the front desk staff until your flight time.

Overall, this is a clean place with great value for the money.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, request a room away from the street and at a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank govali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with the subway at the corner, you can get to everywhere. We were on the third floor, front corner room, so it had noisy street traffic but we had a view of the Rockerfella center. The room was everything we needed, but the heating was too high. It was freezing outside but too hot overnight in the room,had to open the window at times. Friendly staff at the desk always helpful with any questions. Close resaurants, bars cafes and supermarket made it easy to get a feed at any time. The wifi was not working all the time.

Room Tip: i would recomend a rear room for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussiesmithfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very central location to tourist area of Times Square.
Apartment Hotel - so all rooms different.
Rooms and fittings in good condition.
Lifts a little slow at busy times - only two lifts.
Internet was terrible during our eight night stay but was in process of being updated during our stay.
All staff were friendly. Car service was arranged for us at checkout at very reasonable rates.
Room rates were very reasonable for time of year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndPancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

You don`t need more, as long as you don`t plan to stay 24/7 in your room while in NYC. Amazing location, subway station is 50 m away. Helpful staff. Basement laundry - type of local attraction, must try! ;-) Not stable WIFI (10th floor) - it was only my bed area, where it was stable all the time. )) Would defenitely stay here next time, and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anton_Desyatnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to NYC. Last trip we stayed at the Affinia Dumont. This was a much better location and the staff was more pleasant. We had a one bedroom with pull out sofa sleeper for a family of 4. It was very basic but all we really needed.
Pros:
Location!
small kitchen, good for lights meals and snacks
clean
nice, thick towels (but they sometimes smelled very odd, like chemicals and shrimp)
9th Ave is close by for avoiding the chain restaurants
nice, helpful front desk workers
quick service (had to request extra towels and they were brought right up)
easy access to subway
Cons:
*very small, with very little storage for clothing (pictures are deceiving). We didn't have a closet at all, just a clothes rack attached to the wall and some drawers.
*freezer kept forming ice sheets and the ice would crack, making loud noises. I had to use boiling water to defrost the freezer and get rid of the loud noises. Weird but a big nuisance!
* very ugly view of a parking garage but we didn't mind too much because it was in the back and quiet
* very warm in the foyer area and would have been very warm in the room, but we opened the windows to get fresh air
* sofa sleeper has very thin mattress and isn't comfortable. May need to bring an egg crate topper or buy one there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitenights12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is located in a very good location with the good price.
It is not a "Luxury Hotel" but does the job.
It worked for me coz I just used it for sleep and didn't spend time in the room much.
Compere to others at to same price rang, I think this hotel does give a lot for what you pay.
Try to find the deal online!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pal_141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,244 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#187 of 469 in New York City
8,131 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#197 of 469 in New York City
9,745 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#406 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radio City Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radio City Apartments

Address: 142 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $145 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radio City Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Radio City Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radio City Apartments Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing