We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,256)
Filter reviews
2,256 results
Traveler rating
810
966
315
93
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
810
966
315
93
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port authority sky room times square starbucks coffee parole office the breakfast area new york bagels free breakfast bus station rooftop bar javits center top floor rooms are small breakfast staff front desk staff few blocks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
662 - 667 of 2,256 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2015

First, check in isn't until 4pm regardless if you are a Platinum member or not. So we had to leave our luggage and tour around for 7 hours before we could get in our room. At 4pm we arrived and our room was still not ready so we took another one.

The rooms are very, very small. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was nice but small as well. The room served it's purpose, a place to lay our head's at the end of a long day. Although we usually like to enjoy our room. This not so much.

Let's talk about the night club now. This starts every night at around 7pm, one of the elevators is tied up, transporting people to and from the rooftop bar. So there are 2 other elevators to service the rest of the actual patrons. Not impressed about having to wait for almost 20 minutes to get an elevator.

Breakfast was pretty good, although the room is very tiny to have all hotel guests attending during the hours allotted.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the city.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, Manager at Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2015

Brenda B-- Hello and thank you for taking time to write your review, I see the New York size rooms was a challenge but I am glad you felt they were clean and comfy during your stay. Our check in is customarily at 4pm, we do try to accommodate early request but with this being 2 blocks from TS people tend to stay right until 12noon which makes it sometimes hard to have all rooms completed by 4pm. I apologize for any inconvenience you had during you stay with the elevators, the Skyroom that is located atop our location does have use of an elevator and during certain periods of high traffic time tend to cause a delay. I know when you’re ready to get to your room and get cozy or comfy after a long day in the city that can be frustrating. We hope we see you again if your travel our way and thank you again for your review and stating your stay was good despite a few concerns. AGM Krissy Belayyadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2015

We literally picked this hotel at random from all the Marriott hotels in the area. Couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Front desk staff was extremely nice. Room was always clean. Overall it was a great place to stay and unlike some of the other reviews which knocked it for being across from the Port Authority Bus terminal, we found that to be fine. Subway station across the street. Walking distance to Times Square, Central Park and Broadway shows. Huge advantage is location to the Lincoln Tunnel. It's two blocks away so it's fast in and out of New York City.

Room tip: We stayed on the 32 floor. Right under the rooftop bar. At times it was a little loud but nothing that really bothered us.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank msheets80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, Manager at Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

msheets80-- msheets80-- We are glad you picked us and had a great stay and experience and trip. We are located by the Port Authority and to some is an hmm moment but it comes in handy to be centrally located to all travelers. Our team is glad you enjoyed your time while in New York. Hope to see you again!! AGM Krissy Belayyadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015 via mobile

From an early check in through check out, the staff couldn't have been better. Great front desk-Kat was particularly sweet. Efficient concierge, good location, crazy roof top bar. No street noise on the 38th floor, really good use of space both in the room and in the breakfast area. Good value!

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, Manager at Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Cathy C- We are glad to hear you had such a great experience at our location. We try our best to attend to each guest in a friendly and customer service manor that will resonate throughout their stay. Thank you again, hope to see you when you travel back to the NY area. AGM Krissy Belayyadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2015

Stayed for one night as a stopover, while connecting through to LA. We actually thought we had booked Fairfield near Penn Station so were quite alarmed when we arrived in New York and realised we were staying near Times Square. We are simply too old for a Times Square hotel. My initial reaction was total dread, however I was delighted with several aspects of this hotel. The attitude of the staff was amongst the best I experienced in North America this trip. Sammi on the door was amazing, so helpful, so smiley- a credit to the hotel. The front desk staff were also brilliant. The room was tiny (New York hotel rooms), but nice and quiet, modern, with a comfortable king size bed. The lobby is also tiny and incredibly busy, probably because of the Skybar? This is not a hotel or a location that I would have consciously chosen, but full credit to all concerned for ensuring we had a pleasant experience and a great nights sleep, which is after all why you stay in a hotel.

Room tip: Could see Empire State building from City view room.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, Manager at Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2015

Jackie C--Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, sorry we were not your planned location but so happy it was all great and comfy for you during your stop over to LA. We strive in giving excellent service and I will ensure Sammi hears your great words about him. Thank you again, AGM Krissy Belayyadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

We love Marriott, but we were disappointed with the Fairfield Inn located in NYC Times Square. The elevator situation is not the best. The elevators are very slow. The cleaning crew with cleaning tools use the same elevators, and we were advised not to use the third elevator on the left during weekends at night because it can only be used for the nightclub on the top floor. What about the paying guests??? The breakfast area is small but the crew is excellent and the front desk very friendly. One day our room was not cleaned and we had to call for towels, water, coffee.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank rtrujillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, Manager at Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2015

rtrujillo--I wanted to apologize on our behalf to you that you felt any inconvenience in regards to the elevators. We are a 33 floor hotel with 3 elevators so to get everyone up to each floor depending on the time of day you may experience a delay. The SkyRoom is located atop our hotel and they do use one of the elevators to assist guest to the roof top location. I do apologize again if this was in any way an issue during your stay. I hope that if you are in NY again you will give us the opportunity to serve you again. Happy Anniversary !! Kindest regards AGM Krissy Belayyadi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews