We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good bet if you're looking to stay around Times Square !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #236 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good bet if you're looking to stay around Times Square !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Was looking to stay in a hotel in Times Square area, for my trip to New York. And after a decent amount of research, found Fairfield to be the best bet for the value and location. This place is literally 2 minutes walk from Times Square, and has all that you would expect from a decent hotel. Rooms are small, but functional and fitted. The Sky bar is an added bonus. A special mention to Ms. Correa of the front office, who was a great help, even after the stay with her prompt replies on the mail about my queries.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RoopDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    703
    225
    59
    39
See reviews for
522
448
79
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

If you are booking this hotel because of the rooftop bar then don’t… don’t make the same mistake as we made. I was flying in from Toronto and my boyfriend from England. He had never been to America before so we decided on a mini getaway to New York. We shopped around for hotel rooms near Time square for ages to try to find the best fit for us. We eventually decided on this hotel because we wanted to go out during the day and go to the hotel roof bar at night. Arrived early in the morning because of our flight times and everything was good – we left our luggage with the hotel and enjoyed our day. We arrived back at the hotel at 4pm and checked in and everything was good. Our room was small but had everything we needed for staying in the city for the three nights. We had a really nice view being on the 24th floor. Everything was great until we got ready to go up to the rooftop bar. We went down to take another elevator up and were informed that the three nights we were in town that every night was BOUGHT OUT and we could not go up. Wait a minute here – you advertise a roof top bar and now we find out that our whole trip we cant go up and this was the main reason we booked this hotel. The excuse was that it is a different company and there was nothing the hotel could do. How about not advertising the hotel with a bar on top of the hotel saving people from spending $368 a night. The bell man that was in the hotel was class of than that we wouldn't stay here again. Save your money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

As far as Fairfield Inns go, I'll say this one was A+. The morning bellman was super friendly and helpful! He was proactive about helping out folks in the lobby and didn't wait for people to come to him. The front desk staff was super friendly and helpful. Room was a good size by New York standards and was clean. Best of all you couldn't hear the street noise. The elevator situation as other reviews pointed out is annoying but not unbearable. It's NYC so not a problem that is unique to this hotel. I will definitely stay here again. Got a great rate and feel like I underpaid compared to other NYC hotels I have stayed out.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Firemansta151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

There are multiple reviews for this hotel which are all fairly accurate regarding it's convenient location and clean, comfortable (smallish) rooms. Enough has been said about that. What we never read about was the hassle created by the bar/night club on the top floor. This hotel only has 3 elevators that aren't super-huge. In the evening one of the elevators is used exclusively for the bar patrons who queue up in a side lobby to ride up to the bar. When we returned to the hotel in the evenings we found it annoying to have to walk through the lobby filled with bar patrons, in varying degrees of sobriety, spilling over from the bar entrance and crowding the sidewalk outside the entrance to the hotel. We didn't appreciate having to wait longer for elevators at that point in our long day. Luckily we weren't bothered by bar noise once in our room on the 29th floor. On our last morning we had to check out extremely early (3:15 a.m. Sunday morning). We had to wait for at least 15 minutes for an elevator due to the bar patrons who were just leaving for the night. When we called to the front desk to plea for help we were told there was nothing they could do. The delay in arriving in the lobby caused us to miss the car we had reserved-it was nowhere to be seen. We were then treated to the scene of one of the bar patrons vomiting in the lobby. The bouncer walked over to the front desk and told the agent on duty that he (the bouncer) wasn't going to be cleaning up after the woman who had gotten sick. The guy at the front desk was completely overwhelmed between the issues with the elevators (and our frustration) and the issues with the behavior of the bar patrons and staff. There was no manager on duty. (We asked.) This was the most disappointing experience we've ever had with a Marriottt property. There was no compensation offered to us for the inconvenience. We will be following up.
One other warning. The hotel is located on the same block/same side of the street as a New York State Dept. Of Corrections Parole office. One morning dozens of folks lined the sidewalk waiting for the offices to open so that they could check in with their p.o.'s. That was mildly unsettling.

Room Tip: "City View" rooms allow for a sideways glimpse of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank utfamkpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good value for marriott service and location - rooms comfortable and clean - coffee etc in room and available in lobby - free wifi and breakfast included - there are more luxurious marriott hotels but as a base for 2 nights this was good value and suited us

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The location is great, infront of the hotel is Pennstation - quick access to the metro and bus transport. In walking distance you find everything but late evenings better not to go back to the hotel alone there were few homeless sleeping on the street.
The customer service in the hotel was great, very friendly and helpful, you can check in late there is 24 h reception. The room was clean and every day we had clean sheets and towels. When booking the room we requested top floor room with city view and we had really amazing view from the 31 st floor. The breakfast is modest, limited choice but fresh and tasty but every day the same. The option is between eggs, sausages, oatmeal, fruits, yoghurt, juice, starbucks coffee ( which was great in takeway cups)The hotel is big so around 8am gets bussy in the area for breakfast. Seats are limited so if no table is available you need to wait, what i liked is they have trays so you can pick your food and eat it at your room instead of waiting. Also if you do not have time and you are on the run to explore the city they have prepared in the lobby lunch bags with snackbar fruit and oatmeal which was very tougthful. The hotel has also fitness which i had no time to visit.
Overall the hotel is great for city vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyubomira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

when arriving at this hotel it is not in a nice area bit run down next to a bus station , we were booked in quickly and told our room was on the 27 floor the rooms are small but clean linnen changed daily the breakfast was poor it was eggs sausage basic stuff but you could eat as much as you want the only thing is if you not down early you wait in a que to get breakfast , when you go out off hotel there are a lot of down and outs around this place as in new york lots to see lots off shops , i would not stay at this hotel again the only reason is the area bit dodgy put hotel in different area then yes .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#108 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#269 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#175 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#221 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,037 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#246 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#134 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing