We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #240 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“4 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn Times Square the first week in April for 4 nights. the rates were quite good for this time of year - with an average rate of $175 per night inclusive of taxes. Although my husband has Platinum Elite status we were unable to get an upgrade because the hotel was fully booked. The location on west 40th between 8th and 9th is quite convenient to all subway lines and within walking distance of many entertainment venues and restaurants. Everyone on staff was personable, friendly and helpful. Our room was ready before check-in time. The lobby is small but seating is ample and it is decorated in an appealing contemporary style. There is a concierge on site to assist with directions, restaurants, and touring information. The breakfast area has tables spaced close to one another so you might end up eating with someone you don't know. Food selections (cold and hot) were plentiful and there were about 8 different types of Starbuck's coffee from which to choose. Some mornings there was a line to get into breakfast but the staff on duty seated everyone fairly quickly and the wait was minimal. Our room was on the 26th floor which was great because we like rooms on high floors. At first I was concerned we would hear noise from the 32nd floor night club but we didn't hear any music or elevators going up and down. The room was clean, neat, and contemporary. We especially liked the shower rather than a tub, however, the bathroom was very tiny. You could not stand at the sink unless the door was closed and if it was open the handle hit you in your leg or hip. Whenever you brushed your teeth there was standing water in the sink that took some time to recede. We did notice on the exit diagram that the corner rooms have a little less space in the bathroom because of they are cut differently for the corner of the building. There was a short in the bedside light which was taken care of immediately and our extra towels and pillows were delivered within a few minutes after requesting them. We were somewhat disappointed with the size of the room as it was exceptionally tight. The length of the room was fine but the depth was not. The desk chair touched the end of the bed. Every time you had to walk around the bed to get to the bathroom the person in the desk chair had to get up and roll the chair out of the way unless you jumped over the end of the bed. We like the room to be cold at night so we turned on the air and the air conditioner made horrible sounds like a train running through the room which made it difficult to sleep. However, overall the hotel was very quiet as there are only 8 rooms on a floor.

Room Tip: Corner rooms do not have as much space in the bathroom as other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank costumerppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. First and foremost, please accept my apologies regarding the issues you had in our property. Please know that we take these items seriously and we will do everything possible to ensure they are corrected. Thank you once again for bringing these items to light. We hope that on your next visit to New York you will give us another opportunity to show you that we have made those corrections. We hope you have a great upcoming year and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    790
    265
    69
    47
See reviews for
605
528
88
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I want to express my gratitude for a good time spent at the Fairfield hotel in Manhattan, the fab experience was because of the understanding and kindess the lovely girls (Bradi and Katie) at reception had for my sleepless night as I had a noisy family next to my room. The girls gave me an extended check out time which was what I needed and I would like to thank them so immensely. I am not one that goes ahead to write about my experiences but in this occassion I would because of their understanding and excellent customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I really liked this hotel. It's ideally located for anyone expecting to move around Chelsea, the Meatpacking District, the Village and Midtown because buses and the subway are just there within few steps.
The street is not noisy but I recommend a back room although I heard that upper floors are great for a direct sight to the Empire State.
The hotel was clean and the common facilities were OK. Breakfast are was a bit small for families or groups but enough for one or two.

It's close to Penn Station, The Madison Square Garden and Broadway Theatres so I could take the direct Long Island Train to JFK, watched a NBA game and attend to a musical without using any cab or subway.
If you move to the 7th and 8th Avenues you'll find some pizzerias, restaurants and a DR store. An asian supermarket at the 6th Avenue also offers some hot food and sushi. McDonald's is right in the corner.

The Best? Value. I didn't pay much considering NYC standards and the quality of the room. It's been my best experience in NYC considering price and quality.
I didn't score 5 stars because the Wifi connection was not stable all the time and was hard to have a Skype conversation. And the heating system was not so easy to control. Normally too hot but it was really cold outside and it was necessarily.

Room Tip: Upper floors or back rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

First visit to New York & found this hotel to be a great find. Close to the bus station/subway, right near to Times Square. Staff very friendly & helpful, rooms clean & comfortable although four or us shared a room which was manageable but a little smaller than expected. Good shower which is a plus. Busy at breakfast but well organised & plenty to choose from. All in all would definitely recommend

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Turquoisebeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed here for a week in March for a trade show at Javits Center. It is right across from Port Authority and there are plenty of restaurants within a block or so. it is walking distance to Javits. Rooms are a good size for New York and mine was quiet with a nice view. Check-in was really smooth, friendly, and easy. I was early, but they found a room for me (I am a rewards member). You might want to take an extra minute for the elevators as they can be a little slow, but other than that, I had a great stay. Did try the free breakfast one morning. It was crowded, but you can take items up to your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieRoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 days in New York City at this Hotel and found it really great. The room was tight but it had everything one would need for a good stay, (a couch!) The bathroom was updated and accommodated our travel stuff well. The free breakfast in the morning was good and offered a nice selection of options to start the day. There was even a happy hour for the guest to enjoy some complementary beverages and snacks. Conveniently located near the subway lines, Times Square and the theater district. Many times we walked through the bus terminal across the street from the hotel so that we could avoid the weather. It was a wonderful stay and I would go back again tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my mother and sister , they were staying in New York for 3 nights. They would highly recommend this hotel , the staff were "amazing", fantastic breakfast. Beautiful rooms, the views from the roof top bar are stunning. Bigs thanks to all the staff at the hotel ye really made their stay!!! Mother & daughter from Ireland .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh2hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#186 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing