We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - near enough yet far enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #244 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were a family of 4 - parents and 2 adult kids. We have just returned from spending 5 days in NYC. The hotel is in a good location w40th street. Just 5 mins walk from broadway and Times Square We had no trouble with traffic near our hotel nor noise (the odd police siren but nothing to complain about)
The room was clean - my only negative comment on the room would be that it was cramped for a double double room. There was not much room for manoeuvre.
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and polite : concierge/reception/bellman.

The breakfast was a little monotonous over the five days. Same thing every day. Plastic cutlery and plastic plates were not quite expected and didn't suit the quality of the hotel

Other than that I would recommend this hotel - no question

Enjoy!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 770 of 1,993 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

We arrived early hours of thanksgiving and the staff was ever so helpful with looking after our bags whilst we went to watch the parade. After we had watched the parade all we wanted to do was get checked into our room, so we went back to see what time we could check in. It was about 2pm and the staff did everything they could to get us checked in as soon as possible, we only had to wait 15 mins and our room was ready for us!
This hotel has a great location and great for subway use! We only ate breakfast in the hotel twice but we found a good choice and we must of gone at the right times each morning as we found no waiting lines!
Only downside was, as I was paying cash we had to leave a $100 deposit , which I can understand but was annoying not being told this and also on our last day coming home with the dollars.
Would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 629NicoleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Overall hotel meets the needs of a city break in NYC. Location close to Time Sq and a couple of avenues East gives a quieter sleep.

Initial experience here was not ideal, only one room reserved despite paying for 2, staff whilst helpful would not release another room until they had checked with the UK reservation agent the following day. After a cramped first night we were given a second room which had been used previously by a smoker even though the hotel is non smoking, beats me how they cannot figure out someone was smoking in the room.

The breakfast is a joke if you are not there before 7:00, the line is backed up to the lifts, we did not use breakfast and had planned to eat out in any event. The lifts are also not sufficient and are used by guests and cleaners, no service elevator. We experienced long waiting times on numerous occasions and one night had to use the stairs for 16 flights. The 3 lifts were only all working on 1 out of the 5 days, one night 2 lifts were out of order.

All in all we got a good night sleep and did not get disturbed from street noise, there are only 8 rooms per floor so not huge corridor traffic.

The staff behind the desk were very good and attended quickly to, a broken toilet, smokey room and provided scissors and tape for present wrapping! Their services really was good despite the first night fiasco regards the reservation. They also run a car service to the airport which was easier than a cab, a large 4x4 easily seating 4 plus luggage and only $67 to JFK flat fee including tolls.

Room Tip: use the breakfast as a take out to avoid waiting in line for a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac4SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a Christmas trip to New York. Having travelled to New York before this was our first stay at the Fairfield Inn and we were very happy overall with the hotel. The main advantage of this hotel is the location, just across the street from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and main subway station, so access anywhere across the city is really easy. Our room was a good size for Manhattan standards and the bed and shower were amazing. The majority of staff were really friendly, although the bar staff in the 'Sky Lounge' could take some tips from the staff in the main sports bar on good customer service.

If you visit you must go up to the 'Sky Lounge' to take in the view of Manhattan. Don't bother with a drink as they are very expensive and the customer service here is poor (unlike the rest of the hotel).

The two main issues we encountered were really long queues for the lifts and the plastic cutlery used for breakfast! Other than this, I would recommend the hotel for location.

Room Tip: We were on the 21st floor away from the lift and were not disturbed at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I travel extensively and stay in Hotels over 100 nights per year. My wife and I recently took a weekend trip to Manhattan. This hotel is located conveniently to Times Square and many of the typical midtown sites. I have to say that the Hotel Staff is one of the best I have encountered in all my hotel stays. I was greeted upon arrival by Diana Tadros the front desk supervisor. She was courteous professional and quick to assist. She immediately made me feel welcome. Ali and Maximus were also working and went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Melissa was working the next morning and she had a partner I wish I could remember her name they both continued with the excellent service.

The breakfast was excellent and the food choices were excellent. The staff working the breakfast were a little short and grumpy but not rude. The security staff was very observant and alert to activities in the Hotel. My wife and I felt completely safe. The bus station is located near by but is not a problem. The only negative is that the Hotel is a bit cramped and the hallways are small but if you have stayed in Manhattan this is to be expected.

Without a doubt I would recommend this Hotel. If you want value and customer service this is the place. We want to thank the staff for their excellent service and making us feel like family…….I guarantee We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff(especially Diana). We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was booked on our reward points. Staff were very friendly, helpful and happy both morning and night.

Breakfast was okay, had it 3 out of the 4 days we were there.

Rooms are litle dated and the hotel lacks the "Marriott" feel but, it is just that; a sub-brand.

Location is good. Overall happy

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertson-alistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am a Marriott gold member and therefore try to stay a Marriot properties. This was not one of my favorates. It is located next to the parole office on a street with a strip joint and some other shaddy businesses..On the good side it is next to two other similar type hotels and half a block from the New York Times. We had trouble with a couple of things in our room. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. Breakfast in included but do not go between 8 and 9 because of the crowds

Room Tip: If you want to get a cab walk up to 8th Ave. Cabs do not like to come down 40th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 473 in New York City
1,483 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#161 of 473 in New York City
864 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 473 in New York City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#263 of 473 in New York City
652 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#227 of 473 in New York City
442 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#182 of 473 in New York City
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 330 W 40th St, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing