We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #238 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Was booked on our reward points. Staff were very friendly, helpful and happy both morning and night.

Breakfast was okay, had it 3 out of the 4 days we were there.

Rooms are litle dated and the hotel lacks the "Marriott" feel but, it is just that; a sub-brand.

Location is good. Overall happy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertson-alistair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    808
    271
    70
    47
See reviews for
617
542
89
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am a Marriott gold member and therefore try to stay a Marriot properties. This was not one of my favorates. It is located next to the parole office on a street with a strip joint and some other shaddy businesses..On the good side it is next to two other similar type hotels and half a block from the New York Times. We had trouble with a couple of things in our room. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. Breakfast in included but do not go between 8 and 9 because of the crowds

Room Tip: If you want to get a cab walk up to 8th Ave. Cabs do not like to come down 40th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to Marriott properties. This property was booked for me when it was realized that I had no hotel room and was headed to NYC the next day, the night the tree was being lit in Rockefeller Center.

Gym
In the "cellar" as staff called it. A few pieces of properly working cardio and weights. Good size gym if you want to do yoga, which you cannot do in your room given the size.

Checkin staff
Professional and responsive to all my questions/needs. I was getting myself organized before I departed and staff inquired if I needed anything. Good initiation on their part.

Prices
Fair given location and time of year.

Rooms
I was in 2004. Small, as you'd expect in NYC. Modern furnishings and very, very clean. (Good job cleaning staff.) The sink's faucet was way too close to the back part of the sink. I couldn't get both hands under the faucet without creating a mini-flood on the sink-top where all my toiletries were. Frustrating. Room was well-insulated given it's in one of the loudest parts of the city.

You can't really get a taxi from this hotel given the proximity to Penn Station. That being said, the hotel will make arrangements you may need. Thanks so much to Carlos for his excellent customer service in scheduling my car service and being transparent on all the fees included. he displayed super professionalism.

The location makes this property a more logical choice for folks on pleasure travel. Good location, well-maintained property and helpful staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnFran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments and we were glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. When in town in the future, please come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

For NYC sightseeing, this couldn't be a better location. Close to the action but not directly on Times Square so you can escape the crowds. The staff from housekeeping to front desk could not be more accommodating. We will certainly return here. Clean and well priced for New York.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lazonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Having stayed in many hotels in NYC on business and for pleasure, I read the TripAdvisor reviews with a grain of salt -- wow was I pleasantly surprised at how very accurate they are! We arrived for Thanksgiving Week on Sunday about 11:30. We were not surprised that our room was not ready so we left our bags and headed for the half-price ticket booth. An hour later the cell phone rang -- it was the hotel staff informing us that our room was ready! -- That is service!!! Every evening there was hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby after long days walking, shopping, etc. The breakfast in the morning is rated "continental" but there was nothing lacking - eggs, sausage, pastries, muffins, bagel, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices, Starbucks coffee, etc., etc. and a very friendly and efficient staff. A very clean, quiet room with more than adequate space adds to the experience of this hotel. Do not stay here unless you want to be spoiled from staying anywhere else in Manhattan!!!

Room Tip: I sincerely believe that if someone complained about a room to the staff, they would do what they co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We were so glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff makes every effort to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible. Please come back and visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was by far the nicest Fairfield we have ever stayed in. All typical Marriott amenities, close to Times Square, breakfast included, staff friendly and very helpful, with directions and what is going on. All theaters close, never needed transportation. To conserve your dollars, worth checking this out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read and able to share your comments with our staff. We hope that on your next trip to NY, you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have a great upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

PRICE, STAFF, the ROOM, and LOCATION!! This is absolutely my new favorite hotel in NYC, and yes it's a Fairfield Inn and not the W or the Hilton! I booked this room by bidding $95 a night for a 2.5 star in the Madison Square Garden area and yes that is a steal for this hotel so that covers PRICE. The STAFF was amazing and so friendly when I was checking in and throughout the stay. I particularly enjoyed Sanday who was working the front desk when I checked in. Oh and I got this super delicious cupcake at check-in. The ROOM had to be one of the larger rooms I have stayed in NYC. There have been a host of new construction chain brands opening in this area of NYC but all of them offer tiny claustrophobic rooms but this one had extra space. The LOCATION you can’t beat; you are across the street from Port Authority, a short walk from Penn Station/Madison Square, Bryant Park, Time Square, Chelsea, and Hell's Kitchen. I felt like I was nestled in the middle of all my favorite areas of town. I definitely will be back to this hotel and I strongly recommend it to other NYC travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLtoEUR767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our hotel and the city. Our staff strives to ensure that every guest is taken care like family. We hope that on your next trip to the Big Apple you will come and visit us again. Thank you again and we hope you have an amazing upcoming holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,291 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#226 of 468 in New York City
600 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,176 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#218 of 468 in New York City
805 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#296 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing