We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #241 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We used the hotel for one night as we prepared for a flight the following day. The restaurant is modest but provides a nice selection of meals. The shuttle service was invaluable both to and from the airport. We also took the opportunity to use it to access the subway and local mall. The rooms were clean, fresh and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinecones_hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Pinecones_hill,
Thank you for your review. I’m not sure if you might have reviewed a different hotel than ours. We are located in the heart of Times Square and currently do not have a restaurant or shuttle service. I am glad to hear that the Marriott hotel you did stay at was to liking. Thank you once again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,936 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott last weekend. The facility and the staff were really great. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. We got a king room that was pretty tight, but not unexpected for NYC. Some of the staff remembered our names (unexpected in a large facility) and they were very helpful and accommodating. The area of the hotel was convenient to many things and it was a great location for our weekend.

The only issue we had with the room is that it was set up for handicap access, not really a problem in and of itself, but.....the shower floor is open to the bathroom floor for easy access. When I took a shower almost the whole bathroom floor flooded because other than the shower curtain there was nothing to contain the water. We asked for extra towels the next day (and got a ton of them) and put a few down to contain the water and it worked great.

One other thing to know, the breakfast area is very small for such a large hotel. Get there early or be prepared to wait. Oh, and watch out, their coffee is brewed wickedly hot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Daniel B,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read your review. The hotel and its staff do their best to ensure that every guest has the best time possible during their time with us. Thank you once again and we hope you visit NYC and our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I really like this hotel. The service was great, and there was awesome air-conditioning, both in the rooms and in the lobby. When walking into the lobby the first thing you notice is cool air and a great smell. The staff is very helpful, giving us tips on where to eat and how to get around the city without using too much money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Maria B,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read your review. Our staff ensures that we create the best memories during your visit. We hope that on your next visit to NYC, you will visit us once again. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Fairfield Inn by Marriott is very nicely located, about five blocks from Grand Central Terminal and five blocks from Times Square. It is easy walking to either, and the public library is only about 3 blocks away. It is a relatively new property, a high rise. The rooms, with a king size bed are small and there is not a lot of closet or storage space. We worked with our suitcases open on the floor. When we were there, one of the two elevators was out of service for the whole five days, and we were on the ninth floor, so walking up was not an option. The breakfast service is good, but the area gets crowded in a hurry. For the money and location, it is a good value.

Room Tip: a higher room, facing south may give you a view of the Empire State building. Street noise was an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyretireds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Happyretireds,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to have read your review. The hotel and its staff do their best to ensure that every guest has the best time possible during their time with us. Thank you once again and we hope you visit NYC and our hotel soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Being a few blocks off of Times Square was very convenient for our first family trip to NYC. We walked to Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's, and Central Park. The room was fine (except no counter in the bathroom, but in NYC space is always in issue). It was clean and very modern. The staff was very friendly. We had vouchers for free drinks at the bar, and as we were the only ones there, the bartender gave us tips on family-friendly outings. The manager and bellmen were very attentive, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Twit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

The_Twit,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear that you had a great time at our hotel. The staff will be so delighted to read this great review. We strive to ensure that every guest has the best possible stay with us. I invite you back to come stay with us when you travel back to New York. Thank you once again and I hope you have a great rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our two-night stay in this hotel. Unbeatable location, clean and well appointed room, and a fair price for the category, especially given that it was a last-minute booking (and the hotel was quite full). Special commendations to the front-desk staff for their excellent service-- hospitable, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yazoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

yazoo_10,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always so happy to hear that our guest had such a great stay with us. We hope that your future travels will bring you back to New York and our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Organised stay: when the credit card bill came hotel had 'authorised' the card by charging prior to arrival, the cost for one night, not once, but twice, claiming 'standard procedure'; this is allegedly to check the card is valid. None of my colleagues' cards were 'authorised' and we lost out twice because the exchange rate ensured we were charged more than the actual cost of the room for one night.

My colleague was also assured by reception that one night would be refunded due to two sleepless nights as a result of sleep deprivation from the close proximity of the Friday and Saturday night's disco. This wasn't honoured.

An email to the manager was passed over to the Front of House manager who basically didn't care. So that makes two senior employees who didn't care. There were no sympathetic tones, absolutely no attempt at an apology and basically said this is procedure. The matter of the refund was not addressed. Two emails and five phone calls were not returned. I'm not staying anywhere and I'm not booking colleagues in anywhere with Marriott in the title.

Room Tip: Far away from the weekend discos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

L R,
First and Foremost, please accept my personal apologies regarding how your issue was handled. I would like to personally speak with you regarding this in a less public forum. If I could please request you give me a call at the hotel directly (212-967-9494) to further more discuss this pending issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,419 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#206 of 469 in New York City
840 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#177 of 469 in New York City
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#233 of 469 in New York City
633 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#229 of 469 in New York City
180 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#239 of 469 in New York City
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#184 Business Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $186 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing