We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #237 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenient location, helpful staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Being a few blocks off of Times Square was very convenient for our first family trip to NYC. We walked to Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's, and Central Park. The room was fine (except no counter in the bathroom, but in NYC space is always in issue). It was clean and very modern. The staff was very friendly. We had vouchers for free drinks at the bar, and as we were the only ones there, the bartender gave us tips on family-friendly outings. The manager and bellmen were very attentive, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Twit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
The_Twit,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear that you had a great time at our hotel. The staff will be so delighted to read this great review. We strive to ensure that every guest has the best possible stay with us. I invite you back to come stay with us when you travel back to New York. Thank you once again and I hope you have a great rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    811
    272
    70
    51
See reviews for
621
543
90
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our two-night stay in this hotel. Unbeatable location, clean and well appointed room, and a fair price for the category, especially given that it was a last-minute booking (and the hotel was quite full). Special commendations to the front-desk staff for their excellent service-- hospitable, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yazoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
yazoo_10,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always so happy to hear that our guest had such a great stay with us. We hope that your future travels will bring you back to New York and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Organised stay: when the credit card bill came hotel had 'authorised' the card by charging prior to arrival, the cost for one night, not once, but twice, claiming 'standard procedure'; this is allegedly to check the card is valid. None of my colleagues' cards were 'authorised' and we lost out twice because the exchange rate ensured we were charged more than the actual cost of the room for one night.

My colleague was also assured by reception that one night would be refunded due to two sleepless nights as a result of sleep deprivation from the close proximity of the Friday and Saturday night's disco. This wasn't honoured.

An email to the manager was passed over to the Front of House manager who basically didn't care. So that makes two senior employees who didn't care. There were no sympathetic tones, absolutely no attempt at an apology and basically said this is procedure. The matter of the refund was not addressed. Two emails and five phone calls were not returned. I'm not staying anywhere and I'm not booking colleagues in anywhere with Marriott in the title.

Room Tip: Far away from the weekend discos
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
L R,
First and Foremost, please accept my personal apologies regarding how your issue was handled. I would like to personally speak with you regarding this in a less public forum. If I could please request you give me a call at the hotel directly (212-967-9494) to further more discuss this pending issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a meeting downtown, but wanted to play tourist for a few hours around Times Square so choose this property based upon price, location and solid ratings - and was very, very pleased! The hotel is modern, either new or recently upgraded, and just a couple of blocks from the heart of Times Square. I saw a play and only had to walk 2 blocks to get back at night. The street itself seems a little sketchy at first, however I never felt worried even at 11pm as plenty of stores/restaurants open around the clock, and many pedestrians and police around. Upon returning to the hotel, 2 nice security officers at the elevator checked for my key card to ensure that I was a guest.

The room was very clean and comfortable, the free WIFI worked great and bathroom very modern. The staff was very service oriented and even the housekeeper knocked on my door upon arrival and gave me extra bottles of water for my stay. After putting the water in my room, I went back out to the hall to give her a couple of bucks but she was gone. The breakfast was really good - Starbucks coffee, Florida Natural juices, and a variety of hot and cold food choices including scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc. Bellman was able to quickly hail a cab to get me downtown for my work meeting.

I typically stay at Courtyards or Marriotts, so was a little worried about Fairfield Inn being more 'budget oriented' especially in NYC, however this hotel and their service was truly first class and I'd highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkalish12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
rkalish12,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that the hotel and its staff took care of all your needs during your stay with us. We hope that your future travels bring you back to New York and our hotel. Thank you once again for your review and we hope you have a great rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was only a few blocks from times square in the fashion district, and what seemed to be a bad area until you hit the hotels and realized that area was actually really nice and quite popular and bustling. However some of the businesses you pass are far from family friendly, but are easily ignorable. It was a short walk to times square, and the rooms were small, but had all you needed especially since you are supposed to be out and about all day. The elevator requires a key to take you up, but not down as a security reason, and they have employes watching the small lobby round the clock. The breakfast is free and really good and worth it. They have no problem watching your bags in a secure room while you spend your last morning out and about. They also gave free internet into the rooms with some good channels on tv, but the view depending on where you are is just of the neighboring office building. It was a great stay, but the elevator was slow, especially when one of the three wasn't working at breakfast time and took 12 minutes to get downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoodedChiWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
HoodedChiWarrior,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that the hotel and its staff took care of all your needs during your stay with us. We hope that your future travels bring you back to New York and our hotel. Thank you once again for your review and we hope you have a great rest of the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved this hotel. So central to everything with a great breakfast to start the day. Just across the road from port authority bus station to Newark airport for $16. We stayed for 9 nights in hot and humid July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitiaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Anitiaf,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always so happy to hear that our guest had such a great stay with us. We hope that your future travels will bring you back to New York and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

New York City is very expensive for hotel rooms, so this hotel is relatively inexpensive. It's across from the Port Authority Bus Station, and a short walk from Times Square. It's very convenient to the subway (blue and red lines), restaurants and so on. It has a complimentary breakfast, which is a real breakfast. Unfortunately, there was quite a crowd waiting to get into the breakfast area, so I had to pass, my time was limited.

My son was with me, and he is disabled, so we had a wheelchair accessible room. It was a bit tight, but large enough to pull the chair in and get access to the bathroom. If you have an extra wide wheelchair, you will have problems - of course if you have an extra wide wheelchair you will find the entire city a problem.

They provide two levels of wi-fi with the room, one complimentary, and one you pay for. I went with the complimentary and had no problems with access. We even were able to watch a TV show through Amazon Prime with no problem.

The staff was helpful, and the hotel is very secure. The neighborhood was as I remember it very seedy in the 70's, but it is fine now. We were out until almost midnight, and found no problems in the neighborhood itself.

My only complaint is it had a worthless business center - it consisted of a couple computers setting on a counter with a printer underneath. The computers would only let me on Marriott's website, which did me no good at all - I was trying to get online to print out my e-tickets from Amtrak. The concierge let me use her computer. Also, the "business center" has your back to the line of people getting into the restaurant. This could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank George0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Hotel Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
George0412,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I’m happy to hear that staff and hotel amenities where to you and your son’s satisfaction. We will also look into the comments about the business center and address on how we can make further improvements. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon on your future travels to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#116 of 467 in New York City
1,316 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#200 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#245 of 467 in New York City
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#169 of 467 in New York City
2,195 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#199 of 467 in New York City
813 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#273 of 467 in New York City
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing