We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #241 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

It is conveniently located, and depending how or when you book, the price can be a good one. The cable signal for the TV is intermittant, which is annoying. The white comfortable was yellowed ... it looked clean, just old (if you are going to use white linen, they should be bright white). I didn't find the pillows as comfortable as other hotels. I agree with other reviews, that a refrigerator in the rooms would be a great idea. The room was quite small, but much like other hotels in this section of Manhatten. It's ok for 1 person, not sure how 2 people would tolerate such small quarters. The temperature control was fine, and the street noise was minimal. It was nice having a complimentary breakfast served (and it included protein sources in addition to the typical carbs). I would like to see more than one serving of coffee in the rooms though. The staff was attentive ... helpful with directions, late check out, and arranging a taxi back to the airport. A great place to eat while you are here, would be the Bryant Park Grill ... try their lamb burger ... amazing!

Room Tip: For quieter rooms, try the higher floors and away from the elevator ... although, the floors are tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zinni49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Zinni49,

It was a pleasure to have you and your guest stay with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square. We thank you for your feedback about our hotel. We strive to ensure every guest's stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable. The items that were mentioned will be looked into to see where we can better improve. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your next trip to New York City and the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    791
    265
    69
    47
See reviews for
605
528
88
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My cousin and I have just come back from a stay here; and had a really great time in NY and this hotel. The greeting from the staff was warm and welcoming and the foyer has a light modern feel. Our room had two comfy double beds, flat screen TV and the best shower ever. We stayed on the 10th floor and heard some street noise but after a day of shopping and sightseeing it wasn't loud enough to stop us sleeping! I loved that there was complimentary water in the room and it had Starbucks coffee and take away cups so you could have it on the go.

The breakfast in the morning was good enough for us; fruit; breads; eggs; sausages; coffee and juice - it is free so we weren't complaining. It does get busy but if it is you can take it up to your room to eat.

The location is great too; just a short walk away from Times Square. We also walked to the piers to get a boat cruise and to central park. We didn't feel worried about the location even though we wee two girls; there are plenty of people about.

The concierge is good too; arranging a shuttle back to the airport.

I never normally stay in the same hotel twice, but if I went back to NY i'd certainly stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bognorlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
bognorlass ,

I want to personally thank you and your cousin for coming and staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square for your trip to New York. We are excited to hear such great comments about your stay. Fairfield Inn & Suites strives to ensure our guest have an excellent and comfortable stay while visiting us. When you decide to visit the Big Apple once more, we would be excited to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The room was small but clean and comfortable. I would make a few recommendations; put a bar fridge in every room, bigger towels and open the Sky Bar up for guests during the day to sit and relax or have a cup of coffee. No need to open the bar but allows guests to have another room to enjoy. Breakfast was OK but gets a little boring and crowded after a week but there is certainly enough for everyone and sufficient variety ie; scrambled eggs, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, bagels and muffins.
Location was great and never felt uncomfortable.
The one major complaint and it was a big one for us is that the wireless Internet sucks. I made a call to Marriott call center after not being able to connect and it took three days to get back to me. It works OK during the day when guest are out and about but does not work and keeps dropping off after around 4pm when everyone returns and starts using it. They need a better system and longer wait time on some site before disconnecting. As an international traveller this was the worst I have ever experienced. If there was a better alternative Hotel available during the Holiday period where I would not have lost my money I would have moved Hotels just because of it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Ian G ,

Thank you for staying with us and most definitely also for your feedback. I personally will be reviewing and looking into the items that were mentioned in your review. I’m sorry to also hear that you experienced issues with the hotel’s internet service. We strive to ensure that every amenity that is offered to our guest is to there satisfaction. If you are to encounter this issue at any Marriott hotel in the future, please feel free to see a front desk agent so that we may take the appropriate steps to make sure that you get connect as fast as possible. Thank you once again for staying with us and I wish you a Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located in the Times Square area and is walking distance to many attractions. My room was on the 19th floor and did not hear any noise from the upstairs club or outside, neither did my co worker who was on the 28th floor. Which was a relief based on some previous reviews. The street which the hotel is located has gotten some poor reviews but we did not encounter anyone or anything that made us uncomfortable. For the price we paid during prime Christmas season, I would not hesitate staying here again. Good bargain in a central area of Times Square.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khagerty2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nw indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked this hotel for 5 nights over Christmas. The initial price was good in comparison with others in the area and, based on others' reviews on this site, we decided it looked like a good value. When we checked in however, having used the AAA rate, my spouse mentioned to the clerk that he had recently seen a lower rate for seniors. She checked with a manager, looked it up in their system and found that for 2 nights, the senior rate was $30 less per night and they immediately reduced our rate for those 2 nights.

The king room is fine and roomy enough by NYC standards. Flat screen tv that is really HD, unlike most hotels, large walk-in shower, easy chair and good heating/cooling system that we could control. We were on the 22nd floor and heard no noise from the street, our neighbors, or the bar on the top floor.

Breakfast was ok although the same scrambled eggs and sausage every day. The breakfast room does get crowded as it gets later, but we found a table every day. And while they only have three elevators, the wait wasn't terrible and often very quick.

Perhaps because I grew up in an urban area, I wasn't bothered by the neighborhood that others have commented about.

I think my only complaint was that the tiny handles on the dresser make it VERY hard to open the drawers. Also, the comments about very limited counter space in the bathroom are accurate.

We requested a refrigerator and it was delivered by the time we returned to the room.

Overall, for the price and location, as well as the comfort, we would return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hoosier46NwIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, KY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel and it's location. Being close to the Port Authority Bus Terminal between 8th and 9th Avenues was a great location for subway and bus service. There are only 8 rooms per floor and the hallways are tight. I had a great king bed room with flat screen tv, excellent bathroom and shower, wifi, and a safe in the wardrobe. The hotel hosts happy hour during the week with complimentary beer and wine and snacks from 6p-7p, and continental breakfast. Take a ride to the 39th floor to the bar and enjoy the stunning view of Manhatten, especially the New York Times building. I highly recommend this hotel and enjoy NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Joseph T,

Thank you so much for the review. I’m glad to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and city. We have some of the best amenities in the city and we are happy that you and your guest were able to enjoy them. We look forward to serving you in your future endeavors to New York. Thank you once again for choosing and staying with Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square.

Happy Holiday’s to you and your loved ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Apprehensive after being chastised by the front desk about making reservations for a show on our arrival day and that early check-inn would not happen. She clearly fit some of the comments in here about a customer service deficit. BUT, upon arrival we checked, just to make sure, and the front desk clerk searched for us and got us early check-in. He was pleasant, friendly and accomodating as could be. The room was small. So what! nice furnishings, in the rear of the building with no noise issues. Never had a problem with the club up top or bouncers or anything relating to it.

The continental breakfast (with hot eggs and sausage, which wouldn't be considered a "continental" breakfast item in some places) was great.

Yes, the parole dept and a triple X store is between the hotel and 7th but if you go out the front door, cross straight across the street you can enter the bus terminal which is full of stores and restaurants, etc. and skip the walk up to seventh on the sidewalk. Worked out perfect since an early morning line takes up the sidewalk outside the parole office until it gets going then you don't even realize its there. For that matter you have to sorta look for the adult store. There's another one on 8th between 42nd and 43rd if you're interested in them! Its New York..... not Omaha.

Anyway. Great service, location breakfast. Easy access to the garmet district, times square, Penn Station (we walked up from there and back) Subway, etc.

Room Tip: cut across 40th and go through the bus terminal to get to Times Square, The Heartland Brewery inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Jim B,

It is with great pleasure to have read your review. I’m glad to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and city. We strive to ensure that every guest that stays with us is taken care of like family. I’m glad that the front desk agent was able to accommodate your request for an early check-in. We can’t wait to have you and your guest back to visit us. Thank you once again for staying with us and hope to see you soon.


Happy Holiday’s to you and your loved ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#239 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing