We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #237 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Turned Around”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

To say I was a bit nervous to stay at this Fairfield after reading all the reviews here on Trip Advisor is an understatement. After reading the reviews, I called the manager, Carlos, and told him of my concerns. What I very much appreciated is that he didn't try to ignore/minimize prior issues but focused on what the hotel had done to resolve the issues. We discussed the issues that concerned me:
1) bedbugs - he told me that they address this anytime it has come up and have regular pest control service come to the hotel.
2) canceled reservations - I was coming in at 10:00 PM and couldn't afford to have my reservation canceled. He looked up my reservation and said they had it noted I was coming in late and my reservation was guaranteed.
3) neighborhood - I didn't bring this up as I am very familiar with the neighborhood. When my New Jersey friends come in, they always park at Port Authority and I meet them there. As such, I am comfortable with the neighborhood. That said, there are a couple of adult stores and the parole board office is nearby. I stayed on a Friday night/Saturday and neither bothered me, but understand that others may have different feelings.
4) breakfast - Since I am in NY, my preference was to go eat at a diner - Carlos provided me with an excellent recommendation. I didn't even check the breakfast the hotel served.
5) noise from the nightclub - This was the only issue I had with the hotel. I was trying to drop off to sleep and it was VERY loud at 2:30 AM - my room being on 31st floor. This is the reason the hotel received a 4 star ranking from me instead of 5 stars. When I mentioned to Carlos in the morning, he acknowledged that there had been noise complaints - was very apologetic and asked if I had complained last night. I told him I had not as I didn't feel like getting up to do so.

Rooms - I had a room with 2 double beds and while a bit on the small side was comfortable and clean. IMO the hotel made an excellent use of the space they had for the rooms. The bathroom only had a stand up shower but it was VERY nice! Since I don't need a tub this was just fine. The sink could have had more room for toiletries but again you can only do so much with the space you have.

Staff - They were very pleasant to me. Carlos went above and beyond in assuaging my concerns and ensuring my stay was enjoyable. So while I believe that others have had hotel stays that have been sub-par, mine was very good. If your travels bring you to NY, I would recommend giving the hotel a chance. Call the manager ahead of time and state your concerns and see how they react. My guess is that your stay will be as good as mine.

Room Tip: I had room 3103 - double beds with a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LA_Travelers_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
LA_Travelers_1,

I was very excited to read your review of our hotel. It takes great pleasure to know that Carlos assisted you in anyway possible to ensure you had a great stay. We strive to make sure that every guest that stay’s with us has an amazing stay. If there are questions or concerns prior or during a guest stay, our Front Office staff is always there to assist.

On your next stay with us, please let us know immediately if you have any concerns with your stay such as the noise level that affected your night’s sleep. Our team is there to accommodate and ensure we correct this to your satisfaction.

Happy Holidays to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    662
    808
    271
    70
    47
See reviews for
617
542
89
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield from 7-11 December 2012 and we had no problems here whatsoever. when we arrived our room was ready and the reception team were friendly not just on this occasion but through-out our trip. we got a room on the 8th floor, room 807 to be precise and whilst it wasn't the biggest room it wasn't a major issue and to be honest we was out most of the day pounding pavements and having fun in a great city like New York. We had breakfast downstairs in the hotel and it was a little crowded but we always got a place to sit and eat and the options were scrambled eggs, sausages, English muffins, bagels, fruit, cereal and yogarts, not a bad choice really.

I've read on tripadvisor about the street this hotel is on with a parole office and a sex shop but i never felt in the slighest bit of danger, it really was not a problem.
The hotel was close to all the attractions and that was a good point, good base to explore NYC.
I/we have nothing bad to say about the hotel and if/when we visit New York again i would have no fears about stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubin S, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Deano23,

I’d like to personally thank you for staying with us during your trip to the great city of New York. I’m glad to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and city.

When you decide to come back to visit us back in the “Big Apple”, we would like for you and your visitors to stay with us once again! Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been staying at Marriott hotels for last 15 years in the US while being on the road least 6 months a year for consulting job, this hotel is the worst among all. Last week, two small cockroaches (see photo) were roaming on my bed in when I woke up, staff was cold and least interested in providing an alternative room despite my platinum status with marriott. This week, I had to stay in this same hotel due to room rate limits from work, woke up with bed bug bites all over my arms and back and am still suffering for last 4 days. Hotel staff found bed bug signs on the blanket and sheets when I asked them to check. Air conditioning was also faulty in the room, kept going back to 75 degrees by itself all night due to faulty motion detector system....I canceled my next two months of reservations on this hotel after this experience and will never stay here again......advise everyone to stay away as well....you may be lucky most weeks but it may not take long to run into one of their bed bug or cockroach laden rooms. If guest rooms have this horrible state of hygiene and maintenance, I do not want to think how their kitchens might be behind the doors and eat that food.......Also, I discovered that this is a franchised hotel and not owned and run by Marriott themselves.....

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on 10th and 25th floor where I found 2 small cockroaches on my bed and was bitten by bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank R A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square. Your concerns are certainly understandable given the experience you described, and I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

The resurgence of bed bugs in the United States over the last five years is a widely-recognized problem. This problem has affected not only the hotel industry, but hospitals, college dormitories and private multiple dwellings, as well. It is suspected that this resurgence is a direct result of increased international travel to and from the United States, since bed bugs are easily transported in suitcases,purses and clothing, among other things.

To address this growing problem, Marriott mandates an aggressive pest control policy, which includes regularly scheduled professional inspections and, if necessary, elimination protocols. We have also implemented a thorough training program for our housekeeping and maintenance personnel to assist in the early recognition of an infestation. These standard procedures require that the room in which you stayed be quarantined and that it remain quarantined until a thorough inspection by professionals can be conducted. I want to assure you that we have fully implemented the policy and protocols here at the Fairfield Inn Times Square.

I would like to point out, however, that we most definitely do not had cockroaches in this hotel.

Given the nature of our business, it is our expressed commitment to make every guest experience an enjoyable one; and we regret that your recent stay did not live up to that commitment. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us, and we value you as our guest. Accordingly, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your situation further in a non-public forum by calling me at 646-666-4600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was not looking forward to staying here, I usually like a little more high end properties and like to stay downtown. But the prices that week in the city were absurd and I basically had no choice. I was also a little worried about the reviews I had read.
To start- the front desk staff was outstanding. Very curteous, friendly, super nice, I can't say enough. Check in was no problem and whenever I needed anything, they were helpful. Bell staff the same, super friendly and helpful. Great job.

The room- it was on the small side, but totally fine and functional. I had no view, but honestly, I left for work early and was back late, never had a chance to care. The bed was fine, a little hard, pillows were good. Starbucks coffee in the room, flat screen TV, free internet access. The shower was great! Also, being off the street was good, no street noise and I slept very well.
I didn't eat the free breakfast, just grabbed some coffee, so can't comment on that, but it looked like plenty of folks were taking advantage of it. Never made it up to the sky bar, wish I did.

The area is a little sketchy, even for me. I used to live in the city and know it well. But there are peep show places, adult video stores on the block as you walk towards 8th ave as well as a parole office. The bus station brings all sorts in the area anyway. With that said, no problems, no one hassled and I didn't see anything worrisome. It's the real NY, gritty and kind of cool. Once you cross over 8th ave, it's Timesquare area. There are loads and loads of restaurants on 9th ave, so you'll never be short on that. The subway is up the block on 8th ave, very convenient.

All in all it was much better than I expected. I would choose it again and be just fine with it. I'm just not a big fan of midtown. Thanks for a really nice stay!

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Our thanks to you for taking the time in writing about our hotel and your experiences while staying with us. Our staff takes great pleasure in all that they do for our guests and it shows through your comments. The location is truly fantastic. Unfortunately the stores that you were talking about have been here years before we got to this area and we are making every effort in trying to move them away from this block. A lot of changes have already been made over the last 4 years which has made this street so much more appealing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are only 4 suites at this entire hotel so the name is misleading. The location is great, the hotel rooms are not. We moved after one night to the Ritz at Battery Park.

There is one ice maker for the entire hotel and it is on the basement level.

Breakfast is included and was decent but crowded.

Location is good for shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel and your recent stay with us. I was upset to learn that you were not happy with your room which are standard size for New York City. Yes, you are absolutely right about the ice machine. We are in the process of coming up with a solution which would actually include the staff delivering ice to your room when requested. We are truly very well located; close to shopping, fantastic restaurants and public transportation. When in town again we would insist that you try us again and stay in one of our suites. You may contact me directly for this pupose at 646-666-4600.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

When they advertise this as Time Square they are so kidding. As stated in other reviews, this hotel is not in the best section of town with the Parole Board and bus station within a block.

We also ordered a car from the hotel to pick us up at the airport @ 5:30AM. We waited for a least 1/2 hour and no car. I called the hotel and was given the number of the car service to take care of it myself. When I called the car service they said they had never received the order. We took a cab and saved $40. When we got to the hotel Jason the bell person was very apologetic and said the car went to the wrong airport , really? He did offer to have extra Marriott points added to my account for the inconvience but I have yet to see them on my statement.

The only good thing I can say about this stay is Yvette the Breakfast ambassador was extremely helpful and always had a smile on her face!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location: HIGH POINT: great location with respect to subway access and walking distance to theaters; Low Point: On noisy, fume-filled street next to the bus terminal and abutting a Parole Office and a porn shop.
Amenities: HIGH POINT: Great complimentary hot breakfast; LOW POINT: Dicey, expensive rooftop bar with partygoers lined up in the street to get in. Bouncers--really?? At a Marriott??

Room: HIGH POINT: Comfortable, if somewhat small, for two. Nicely decorated, new bathroom, great view from the 25th floor; LOW POINT: Dresser drawers almost impossible for one person to open, with miniscule pull and what felt like strong magnets holding them closed.

Service: We experienced no problems with our reservation or service and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Value: Good value for adults who don't plan to spend much time in the room. Not sure I would want my kids going through the lobby when the nightclub crowd is there in full force.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms per floor, so not a lot of traffic or noise in the hall. High rooms on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruhskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We truly appreciate your review and sharing with us the highs and lows of your stay with us. We will check into the dresser problem, but would love to learn which room you were in because we don't really have any issues with the other dressers. If you have some time in the future, would you be able to call me back so that I can address this problem. Sorry about the Sky Room entrance that did not seem very appealing. We have security at the doors for the safety of all of our patrons and guests. That is why there is a seperate entrance for the bar patrons. When in town again we look forward in welcoming you back to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#113 of 468 in New York City
1,290 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#212 of 468 in New York City
600 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#242 of 468 in New York City
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 468 in New York City
2,174 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Central Park
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#295 of 468 in New York City
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing