We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice property in a colorful neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #248 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Nice property in a colorful neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was not looking forward to staying here, I usually like a little more high end properties and like to stay downtown. But the prices that week in the city were absurd and I basically had no choice. I was also a little worried about the reviews I had read.
To start- the front desk staff was outstanding. Very curteous, friendly, super nice, I can't say enough. Check in was no problem and whenever I needed anything, they were helpful. Bell staff the same, super friendly and helpful. Great job.

The room- it was on the small side, but totally fine and functional. I had no view, but honestly, I left for work early and was back late, never had a chance to care. The bed was fine, a little hard, pillows were good. Starbucks coffee in the room, flat screen TV, free internet access. The shower was great! Also, being off the street was good, no street noise and I slept very well.
I didn't eat the free breakfast, just grabbed some coffee, so can't comment on that, but it looked like plenty of folks were taking advantage of it. Never made it up to the sky bar, wish I did.

The area is a little sketchy, even for me. I used to live in the city and know it well. But there are peep show places, adult video stores on the block as you walk towards 8th ave as well as a parole office. The bus station brings all sorts in the area anyway. With that said, no problems, no one hassled and I didn't see anything worrisome. It's the real NY, gritty and kind of cool. Once you cross over 8th ave, it's Timesquare area. There are loads and loads of restaurants on 9th ave, so you'll never be short on that. The subway is up the block on 8th ave, very convenient.

All in all it was much better than I expected. I would choose it again and be just fine with it. I'm just not a big fan of midtown. Thanks for a really nice stay!

Room Tip: Call ahead and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Our thanks to you for taking the time in writing about our hotel and your experiences while staying with us. Our staff takes great pleasure in all that they do for our guests and it shows through your comments. The location is truly fantastic. Unfortunately the stores that you were talking about have been here years before we got to this area and we are making every effort in trying to move them away from this block. A lot of changes have already been made over the last 4 years which has made this street so much more appealing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Indiana
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are only 4 suites at this entire hotel so the name is misleading. The location is great, the hotel rooms are not. We moved after one night to the Ritz at Battery Park.

There is one ice maker for the entire hotel and it is on the basement level.

Breakfast is included and was decent but crowded.

Location is good for shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dibotu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
We would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel and your recent stay with us. I was upset to learn that you were not happy with your room which are standard size for New York City. Yes, you are absolutely right about the ice machine. We are in the process of coming up with a solution which would actually include the staff delivering ice to your room when requested. We are truly very well located; close to shopping, fantastic restaurants and public transportation. When in town again we would insist that you try us again and stay in one of our suites. You may contact me directly for this pupose at 646-666-4600.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

When they advertise this as Time Square they are so kidding. As stated in other reviews, this hotel is not in the best section of town with the Parole Board and bus station within a block.

We also ordered a car from the hotel to pick us up at the airport @ 5:30AM. We waited for a least 1/2 hour and no car. I called the hotel and was given the number of the car service to take care of it myself. When I called the car service they said they had never received the order. We took a cab and saved $40. When we got to the hotel Jason the bell person was very apologetic and said the car went to the wrong airport , really? He did offer to have extra Marriott points added to my account for the inconvience but I have yet to see them on my statement.

The only good thing I can say about this stay is Yvette the Breakfast ambassador was extremely helpful and always had a smile on her face!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Location: HIGH POINT: great location with respect to subway access and walking distance to theaters; Low Point: On noisy, fume-filled street next to the bus terminal and abutting a Parole Office and a porn shop.
Amenities: HIGH POINT: Great complimentary hot breakfast; LOW POINT: Dicey, expensive rooftop bar with partygoers lined up in the street to get in. Bouncers--really?? At a Marriott??

Room: HIGH POINT: Comfortable, if somewhat small, for two. Nicely decorated, new bathroom, great view from the 25th floor; LOW POINT: Dresser drawers almost impossible for one person to open, with miniscule pull and what felt like strong magnets holding them closed.

Service: We experienced no problems with our reservation or service and found the staff friendly and helpful.

Value: Good value for adults who don't plan to spend much time in the room. Not sure I would want my kids going through the lobby when the nightclub crowd is there in full force.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms per floor, so not a lot of traffic or noise in the hall. High rooms on the north side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruhskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We truly appreciate your review and sharing with us the highs and lows of your stay with us. We will check into the dresser problem, but would love to learn which room you were in because we don't really have any issues with the other dressers. If you have some time in the future, would you be able to call me back so that I can address this problem. Sorry about the Sky Room entrance that did not seem very appealing. We have security at the doors for the safety of all of our patrons and guests. That is why there is a seperate entrance for the bar patrons. When in town again we look forward in welcoming you back to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First I would like to say that this hotel is right beside the NY Board of Parole, which had a long line of paroles lined up down the street on certain days of the week, and also beside a xxx store, and across the street from the scary Port Authority. Though I had no problems out of people on the street, I had many problems with the front desk personnel. They, on 3 occasions, denied that I had called ahead and reserved a car service (after waiting about an hour for one to show first) and the people I had requested the car from call me a liar and say they've never seen me, then ended up charging my credit card for the room when my husband went through the trouble of faxing in the form they sent so they could charge it to a different card. Very disorganized, rude, and poor location. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Let me begin by apologizing that this stay was not all that you hoped it would be. I would also like to apologize with the miscommunication with regards to the car service. Please rest assured that I have addressed these issues with my staff and can assure that what occured was the exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
500 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

A colleague and I had 2 reservations guaranteed with an American Express Platinum card. When the first one arrived, I was told that the reservation was cancelled because it was not guaranteed. I told the woman that we both confirmed via email and the reservations were confirmed with the American Express card. I was told that it didn't have enough of a limit on it. That was untrue as well. Then when I asked if there were any rooms there or at any other Marriott I was told no. This was at 10 pm. The woman was rude and not helpful at all. In any other hotel I've ever stayed, if they were overbooked, they booked me somewhere else or offered to find me another place. Fortunately for me, I had a friend in NYC that was not expecting me but I called her and she let me crash in her studio apt. My colleague arrived after midnight but I let her know what the hotel said. She still went there and got the same story with no offer of help. She drove around in a cab and went to 10 hotels while I looked online for an option. Finally at 2:30 am she was able to find a Hilton that found her space at another Hilton. The credit card company confirmed that there was no credit limit problem so we assume the hotel just gave the rooms away. They didn't email or call either of us and really didn't care despite my colleague's gold status on Marriott. The hotel had some bad reviews and the location is not great. I would never consider staying there and would never recommend it to anyone. Further, I am no reluctant to ever try a Marriott in the future despite having stayed at Marriotts on numerous occasions with good experiences. I strongly advise never booking at this place if you don't want to be stranded in NYC. It sucks big time.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnjoyTraveling64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I was very disappointed to learn that you were not taken care of as you should have been. We do in fact try to check all credit cards late at night to ensure that all the reservations are in fact coming in that night. For some reason your credit card must have come up as declined as the time we tried to authorize it. Sorry for all the inconvenience this caused. I would love to be able to speak to you in a non public forum to get some more information about this past booking and how we can try to help you for any possible future bookings at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I do about 85 to 100 nights in Marriott properties each year and I am platinum. When you do work at the Javits Center this hotel is a common choice.

I arrived an the front desk clerk said my room was cancelled. She said (lied) that my card was now expired, and that Marriott cancels reservations with expired cards. The card was not expired. Without being mean I insisted she recheck, and she insisted I leave. I asked her very nicely to book me at the Marquis. She dissapeared for 15 minutes and came back with a room. No apology. I won't post her name. Later I saw her stealing the happy hour food in the lounge just an FYI so shes not their star employee. She pretended to be a manager, she was not.

All was well for one day, except for some overpriced (for a fairfield level propery) drinks.

The next night I went to bed. Around 12:30am I was drifing off and a bed bug walked across my view. I jumped out of bed, killed it, and put it in the toilet and flushed. The next one I found was full of my blood. I started saving the bodies for proof. After 4 successful bed bug murders I decided to call the front desk and ask for a new room. The guy at the desk was not excited to help me. He let me know there was no similar room. I told him any room would do and he should check it for me in advance. Well, he could not do that because he cant leave the desk. He sent the security guy, and he checked out another room for me and it was bug free.

Here I am reviewing it cause I cant sleep. I have a couple small welts already and am deciding whether to just abandon my luggage and clothes.

Room Tip: Choose a low room to avoid elevators, which are very slow. The view is terrible on the bus terminal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NickBCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square. Your concerns are certainly understandable given the experience you described, and I appreciate the opportunity to respond. We did manage to have the room inspected and did find in fact that there was a new presence of pests in the room.

The resurgence of bed bugs in the United States over the last five years is a widely-recognized problem. This problem has affected not only the hotel industry, but hospitals, college dormitories and private multiple dwellings, as well. It is suspected that this resurgence is a direct result of increased international travel to and from the United States, since bed bugs are easily transported in suitcases, purses and clothing, among other things.

To address this growing problem, Marriott mandates an aggressive pest control policy, which includes regularly scheduled professional inspections and, if necessary, elimination protocols. We have also implemented a thorough training program for our housekeeping and maintenance personnel to assist in the early recognition of an infestation. These standard procedures require that the room in which you stayed be quarantined and that it remain quarantined until a thorough inspection by professionals can be conducted. I want to assure you that we have fully implemented the policy and protocols here at the Fairfield Inn Times Square.

Given the nature of our business, it is our expressed commitment to make every guest experience an enjoyable one; and we regret that your recent stay did not live up to that commitment. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important to us, and we value you as our guest. Accordingly, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your situation further in a non-public forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,516 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan / Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,107 reviews
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square

Address: 330 W. 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#205 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 244 guest rooms include Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours and in room and Complimentary High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, Theatre District and transportation that will take you anywhere throughout New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing