We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #240 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
724 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“decent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

had the chance to stay in manhattan on a saturday night on the back end of a trip. wanted to stay near times square. after checking around - picked the fairfield. was significantly less expensive than the marriott marquis and other options in the area, recognizing that this is NYC and no matter where one stays its going to be pricey. pretty nice place. check-in was quick. got up to our room - typical room in NYC - somewhat small - but not so much that i felt i was in a closet. clean - quiet - easy to adjust temp to what we wanted. breakfast in the morning was nice - good selection of cold and hot items and plenty of seatinig. easy parking on either side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We were delighted to learn that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for taking the time in writing this comment. Yes, the price of a hotel room has gone up dramatically in New York City over the last year or so; almost back to the pre-recession levels. We see this as a positive sign that things are getting back to normal. Come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    791
    265
    69
    47
See reviews for
605
528
88
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The service at this hotel is unbelievable! The staff is super friendly! When walking out of the door of the hotel, they would always wish us a nice day and remind us that they were there if we had any questions. The breakfast was good. They had the normal items that you would find at a continental breakfast. The room was small but sufficient. We did not need allot of space as we were never in the hotel room except to sleep. We saw the Empire State Building from our room window! That was really neat! All in all, we had a wonderful stay here! The only inconveniance was that there were no safes in the rooms and therefore, we had to keep anything of value and official documents on us at all time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auditor101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about our staff and our hotel. Our associates do take great pride in all that they do. The only comment that has baffled us is the fact that you mentioned that there was no in room safe. Every room has a safe in the closet and would like to apoligize if none of our staff mentioned this to you. Please come back and visit soon so that we can welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed at the hotel last week and it turned out to be the opposite of what i had expected. I expected a bad hotel saved by a great staff.
the truth of the matter is the hotel is perfectly located, the complimentary breakfast is very good, and they even have free wireless internet. At 28 bucks a night, the parking is half the price of any other hotels in the area and it's an indoor parking lot so very safe.

When I checked in the employee was quite rude, I figured he was having a bad day..it happens to all of us. but then the concierge was just sitting in her chair with her arms crossed and an angry look as she clearly did not want anybody talking to her. next morning, another rude front desk clerk...at breakfast I got yelled at by an employee because I was standing next to an open microwave which I never used...apparently it was my responsibility to close it when I saw it.

I have to admit the bellmen were very nice though so not everyone is rude.

I usually give positive feedbacks but it is very hard to do so when you do not see a single smile for 3 days.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank youngmtl514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
I would like to start by apologizing for the bad service that you got from our staff. I have actually had a meeting with all involved as soon as I read your comment. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. It is through comments like these that we are able to correct our mistakes so that other guests don't have to go through what you did.
Please come back and visit us so that we can prove to you that what happened was an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Fairfield Inn & Suites is very clean and very well located however as all hotels has their problems.
When booking we made a special request for two families to be on the same floor. The hotel gave the impression there would be no problem will the request.
We arrived early, were told our rooms were not ready. No problem they took our luggage and locked them up.
Again mentioned, we are two families and would like 2 rooms on the same floor. They indicated there would not be a problem
Off we went to explore. By the time we got back to the hotel, we were left with the remaining rooms available which were not as requested. I would have no problem if the hotel would say they could not guarantee the request but that was not the case.
I agree with the comment of the breakfast room, it is much to small for the occupancy level.

Room Tip: Choose an upper room to avoid noise pollution. We chose rooms above the 16th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Our sincerest apologies with the way your room blocks were taken care. You are absolutely right. Promises should not have been made if they could not be met. I had a special meeting with my staff to go over this to ensure that the same never happens again. Your comments have been extremely helpful and I thank you for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights because the Staybridge next door was booked on our first few nights, so I though moving next door was easier.

Check-in after a LONG road trip was not smooth. Even after calling to tell them we are still coming but are later than expected (and getting a "yep, that's cool" response) we still had no room when we arrived.

They did put us up at their Marriot Renaissance for the night free of charge, which redeemed them a bit. The pain of moving in my tired, grumpy state was not great.

The good:
-------------
- Free night accom in Times Square due to over booking
- Location is close to Subway, bus and Times Square

The bad:
------------
- Small room, which I expected after reading many reviews of hotels in the area, but the Staybridge next door is way more spacious. I expected the room size until I changed hotels.
- Had to move hotels
- Room service kept disturbing us early in the morning to clean. Always need to use the "Do not disturb" sign if you want to sleep passed 7:30 am.
- Breakfast food was not good and the most pit to push through to get to it was worse. The area they serve breakfast is too small to handle the amount of guests that want to eat at a normal holiday breakfast time.
- Breakfast ends too early. Causes chaos. We ended up eating out as the food quality was a lot better at a local deli.
- More expensive than the Staybridge next door

Overall, if you want to stay in this area, go next door.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizsterine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Our sincerest apologies for all the trouble that you went through when you checked into our hotel. We, unfortunately, had some guests that did not check out of the hotel on the day they were supposed to which put us in an overbooked situation. Almost all the rooms in the city were sold out which just made it all the more difficult. We were hoping for some cancellations, but that never happened. When in the city again, please come back and give us another try so that we can prove to you that what happened that day was an exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

It used to be down right scary. But hidden on 40th street close to 9th Ave there is a gem of a hotel. OK, sure you have to walk past two porno shops and the parole office when you exit the subway at 40th and 8th, but if you are in NY to see theater, this place is super convenient. One can walk to every major Broadway show and the off Broadway offerings on 42nd between 9th and 10th. But 9th Avenue in the Hell's Kitchen area has become a gastronomes' delight. Fabulous restaurants are only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Yes, yes, yes, the area is not 100% civilized but we never felt unsafe. We felt we were seeing the not-so-touristy NYC. The hotel itself is clean and the rooms are small. Still, it is a Marriott product and the bedding is fabulous. Also, perhaps because it is located where it is, you'll get three major advantages: First, lower rates than other NYC properties. 2. Free breakfast!!! 3. Free internet in your room. All in all, it is convenient to anywhere in the City, reasonably priced and clean.

Room Tip: They are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STLtravelerRBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Our location has turned out to be equal or better to any one of the major tourist attractions in New York City. You are absolutely right. 5 years ago you would not have ventured out into this area. It is now a wonderful place to be in and very well located in relation to the best restaurants and stores in town. Also only 6 blocks away from Penn Station/Madison Square Gardens. We are working very closely with the local authorities and the Fashion District BID in trying to beautify the location even more to make the experience that much more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is excellently placed within walking distance of Times Square and Penn station. It is smart looking and special praise for excellent house keeping staff. Free breakfast and water bottle each day was a welcome addition

The street the hotel is on first glance isn't the best with parole office and couple if sex shops. However it is perfectly safe as people are alkways walking back and forth to Skyrooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank truecelt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
We were delighted to learn of your positive experience while staying with us. Yes, we are very well located in relation to some of the major transportation hubs. The Port Authority Bus Station is right next to the hotel. It also house 80 beautiful stores and a drug store on the corner of 40th and Eight Avenue, that is more like a supermarket, that is open 24 hours a day. Come back and visit us again when in New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#236 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,301 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing