We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pluses Outweigh the Minuses, Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Ranked #236 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Pluses Outweigh the Minuses, Stay Here!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights mid-week and had a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities spotlessly clean, and the location convenient even though it is on a seedy section of 40th St. It is sandwiched between two other nice hotels, though, so there are quite a few travelers walking that way so its not deserted. But, the area still might turn some people off as you have to walk by a sketchy liquor store and some peep shops to get to the hotel. But just look the other way because once you are in the hotel that disappears. The lobby is really slick with white marble floors and banquettes and chairs upholstered with a glam metallic sheen fabric. And there is a nice fireplace in the lobby too! The breakfast area in the back is also very nicely appointed and converts to a friendly bar at 5PM; lots of TV's to watch sports and news. We enjoyed the free wine and beer on the Tues. and Wed. nights we were there, and they put out food too. Granite counters in the bar and bathrooms are a nice updated touch. The breakfast in the morning was very busy but had everything you'd want; eggs, sausage, breakfast sandwiches, fruits, yogurts, juices, baked goods...the staff running it was really on the ball with the refills too. There is free coffee/tea/hot chocolate down there 24/7 too and everyone makes good use of that throughout the day.
My overall impression of the way this hotel is run is that they know you might not stay there again if they don't get things right, (so many options!) so the staff are going out of their way to accommodate people. Great attitude! Our room was small but as I mentioned, very clean, and had a great view on the 27th floor. N
ow here is a curious thing. On the top floor of the hotel there is a rooftop nightclub. So starting at 6PM one of the elevators is commandeered by serious looking bouncers and a velvet rope goes up cordoning off a section of the lobby as a coatroom and security check area for nightclub goers. This did not present a problem to us, it was just unusual. One night we did drop our teen off in our room and go up for a drink to check it out (no cover charge on Tuesday night!). It was not crowded at that time but still the folks at the club were very different that the businessman/tourist crowd who stays at the hotel! Being 50-somethings we felt a bit out of place but enjoyed our martinis (don't even want to know what they cost, my friend expensed them, but judging by the fact that in the casual "breakfast area bar" downstairs a martini is $21, I shudder to think). If you are staying there on a night when there is no cover charge and you can go up early before there's a line, I would definitely check this place out for the views are breathtaking with floor to ceiling glass in some areas. It is something to see. And if you are a club-goer type then this is really a great hotel for you to stay at because you'll be right there!
But I digress from the hotel. I will absolutely stay there again. It is great value, great location, clean, near fun things, nice people. A favorite for the Times Square area., Though we took public transportation to the city, this hotel is also right across the street from Port Authority with the best deal on parking I've found in NYC so if you drive in check that out. I was torn about whether to give 4 or 5 stars because nothing is perfect and the location and tiny room thing are a bit of a drag. But because the price is so good, the location so convenient, and it is so clean and well-run, I gave it a 5.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor so you get a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so glad that our recently renovated lobby leaves a lasting impression. Considering the diverse group of guests we accommodate, we strive to provide a variety of amenities and I'm glad to hear it didn't go unnoticed. With regard to the surrounding area, all of the hotels on the block have been working together with the city to make improvements. More changes are on the horizon and we look forward to having a more family friendly block. Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Times Square and for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    803
    269
    70
    47
See reviews for
613
536
88
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed here over the Christmas break, and it was a wonderful property for $170/night for two double beds, which is quite good for Manhattan. Upon arriving, I parked at the off site parking next door and checked in. The lobby was well appointed, with a breakfast buffet at the back, which serves yogurt, bagels, fruit, and cereal, and coffee is available 24/7. The area gets VERY crowded after 8 am so I would advise going early, or getting the food and eating somewhere else. The rooms have comfortable beds, and are of adequate size, and have wired internet, which was OK, but wifi would have been better. Staff were attentive and friendly, and the night manager personally tried to correct a problem with the internet connection I was having in my room.

Room Tip: Book a room on the other side of the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We were glad to learn that we were able to make your stay with us productive and comfortable. With regards to the wireless in the rooms, the biggest news that we have is that we will be going wireless and wired by March 31 in all the rooms and public spaces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Small room no refrigerator no wifi in room while we were there(but if you see the site...) small breakfast area long wait 10th floor for the elevator smal lobby and weekend nights we have to share with the people goingo to the roof bar - we arriving wiht family pós dinner and "hot" girls sitting by the fireplace...Door safe damaged took 1 day to fix...Room not made 4 pm...Transfer SUV to JFK flat rate but the driver with angry face when I paid the amount guy on the lobby told me to. Noisy door 1007 when closes.

Room Tip: Higher floors less wait for elevators Get down to Breakfast before the last minute or no bread !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreSThiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
We have some great news to share with everyone. We will have a state of the art WiFi and wired system (complimentary as always) in all the rooms and public areas by the end of March. This service will be offered by IBM. Sorry about the long wait for the elevators. It does get busy during peak hours of the day. We will look in to the comment about the angry driver and the fact that the door to 1007 is making a noise. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I've stayed all over NYC at a bunch of hotels and this is a decent hotel. The rooms are not huge, and the location is a lot more Port Authority than it is Times Square, but for the price it was decent.

The room was clean, but with 2 double beds it was a little tight. A Queen or King bed in that room would have been better, but we were with our 2 kids, so we needed the 2 beds.

The Breakfast was good and is included in the room rate, no extra charge. This is a big plus.

The main negative is that the hotel services tour groups on buses, so when they come in or go out there is a flood of people in the lobby and at breakfast. I imagine if you are going in or out when the tour groups have moved on the hotel will feel more empty, but when the large groups are in the breakfast area or lobby it feels crowded.

$28 overnight parking (for up to a total of 25 hours - yes 25 hours) next door is very reasonably priced for NYC. Make sure you get your parking ticket stamped by the hotel's front desk.

Overall we liked it. Our kids (7 and 8) who have not stayed in a lot of hotels thought it was "the best hotel on the planet".

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devers0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Comments are much appreciated as this helps us in every way to improve on our service even more. Tour groups in any hotel is an important factor of doing business. Yes, it does get a little tight when the lobby or breakfast area fills up, but it just makes the lobby more lively and full of energy. It is really a great deal at the garage based on what you could be paying in NYC. Come back and visit is again and bring your kids who have named us "the best hotel on the planet."
We are so centrally located just a short walking distance to all major stores and restaurants and other places of interest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I am a frequent traveler - indeed I am Marriott Platinum - but I rarely comment when staying at a Courtyard or Fairfield Inn as they are all so similar. However, this hotel is a gem.

1. Great Location
2. Great service - more below
3. Usually a great price (I am sure it varies a bit seasonally) for NYC and this central location.
4. Nice size rooms. Not huge, but a little bigger than many NY hotels - especially at this price.

I was here with three rooms (my family, my sister and my mother) and everything was great. We checked in at different times and had to check luggage and the bellman (wish I could remember his name) was a star. Checking in when my mom was waiting in the lobby, remembering names, giving directions. Truly better than I have seen at many a five star hotel.

Unfortunately, my daughter had to be hospitalized that night. We called the front desk and 2 minutes later they had a doctor on the phone. The doctor gave us GREAT advice "If you call an ambulance you will go to an overcrowded hospital that gets most of the crime/worst incidents. Get a cab and go to NY Presbyterian." We called the front desk and mere minutes later the night manager was at our door with a wheelchair and when we got the lobby they had a cab waiting. On the elevator I pulled out some money for tips/taxi and then manager just looked at me and said "No - this is what we do - just get to the hospital." When we got back at 6am the next morning (my daughter okay) everybody greeted us and asked how we were.

Great Location and Great Service at a Great Price. This is the place to stay in NY.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dagsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
What pleased me the most about your comments was the fact that you and your family were well taken care of. If you read this reply, we all hope that your daughter is feeling well and is back to her normal daily activities. We are extremely proud of our staff and in the way that they interact with our guests.
Once again, thank you for your very kind words which will be shared with my staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I have stayed here on several business trips and find the price and location a great deal. I usually fly into Newark and catch the train to Penn Station and take the E train and you find yourself within a few steps of the hotel entrance. Very easy for getting around the city. My only complaints are the elevators can take some time to get during busy hours and the lobby can become congested at times.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments. Yes, the elevators can run a little slow at times during peak hours of the day. We actually have a weight system in each elevator so that it runs express once it exceeds the determined weight. We hope that this will alleviate the situation a little.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
681 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Clean, modern, and close. We live in PA and take the bus into the city. There is a side door in the PABT that is across the street from the hotel, this is great when traveling with luggage. It is only a short safe walk to times square. The subway stop is at the corner. If it is raining you can walk underground to times square!

Room Tip: The end of a hall might be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldinn330, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we a close to all major destinations in NYC. The biggest advantage is that we are half a block away from all major subway stations that can be reached through a network of underground tunnels. This works the best on very cold days or when it is raining or snowing. There is a side entrance into the Port Authority which also leads the subways and buses. Inside the Port Authority there is also an array of beautiful stores.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Penn Station
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#191 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#237 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Address: 330 West 40th Street, Between 8th Ave. & 9th Ave., New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#203 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Times Square is a Times Square hotel offering 244 guest rooms in the heart of NYC. We provide guests with a Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast Daily, Complimentary Starbucks Coffee available 24 hours a day, and in-room free High Speed Internet. Centrally located just minutes from Times Square, NYC's Theatre District, and the subway to take you anywhere throughout New York City, our Times Square hotel is perfect for a business or leisure trip to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott New York Manhattan / Times Square Hotel
Fairfield Inn New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing