We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
cleveland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was very clean and modern. Our room was at the corner of the building and had large windows on two sides so that you got a great view of lower Manhattan. Staff was friendly. I had trouble using the guest computer, so the manager allowed me to go behind the desk and use theirs. Being in Chinatown, they had many small Asian restaurants within a short walking distance. They are very inexpensive and have great food. While NYC hotels are always expensive, this one was moderate and a good value in comparison.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank g04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    297
    79
    21
    10
See reviews for
110
274
47
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
486 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here for a week in a double room, and thought it was brilliant. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. When we checked in the receptionist gave us a map and marked many of the big sites on it for us.
Our room was on the 7th floor and it had a nice view of the Manhattan Bridge. The room itself was exceptionally clean and it was quite big. The bed was really comfy! There was a desk with a nice leather chair, and there was also a nice arm chair in the room. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room were also provided, as was an ice bucket, and there was an ice vending machine on the ground floor of the hotel. The bathroom was nice and there was a bath and a really good powerful shower.
The hairdryer in our room stopped working and when I mentioned it to the staff they had it fixed straight away.
The breakfast was great, there was lots of choice and it was perfect to set you up for the day.
The location was brilliant, it was only a two minute walk from the subway station, which served the B and D lines. It was only 4 stops away from the empire state building and 5 stops from the Rockerfeller Centre. The area also felt very safe, especially at night.
There was a small grocery shop only a few minutes walk away and there was plenty of nice looking restaurants in the area. Mulberry street in Little Italy was only about a ten minute walk away.
Overall this hotel is brilliant and amazing value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and couldn't fault it. Rooms are lovely, clean and have everything you need. Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy but enough to set you up for the day. Staff were very helpful, especially shaun on the front desk.
Subway is only a few blocks away so very easy to get about.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynzdavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is situated in Chinatown on Christie Street just north of the junction with Canal Street. We are walkers so found that we could access most of the attractions downtown without the need for transport. For mid and upper town you need taxis which are plentiful or the Subway. There is a Subway station fairly nearby but we used taxis when venturing further afield. The hotel itself was good value for money with breakfast included, which, while not of the "full English" variety was a good cut above the standard continental affair. There was a couple of hot options including make your own waffles! The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Whereas some hotel rooms in New York can be, reputably, somewhat small, our room in this hotel was normal size, clean, with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, iron, ironing board, safe and a coffee machine that provided reasonable, albeit American, coffee. The bathroom was modern with a good shower over the bath.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights Thanksgiving week. Hotel was 20 minutes by taxi from LGA. Located in Chinatown. Design is very minimal and modern. Staff was professional and pleasant. Breakfast was better than most with cereal, oatmeal, toast, bagels, muffins, croissants, eggs, sausage, yogurt, fruit, waffles, english muffins, juices and coffee. Seating was in 3 seperate small areas, but we never had a problem. Saved us lots of money! Had ice machine and 2 vending machines. Room was like the rest of the hotel, updated and clean. Housekeeping was thorough and very nice. Room had a queen bed (which seemed smaller than the queen beds we have here in Texas), a desk and chair, another chair, 2 nightstands, 4 lamps, a flatscreen with HBO, an armoir, iron and board, safe and a small but well appointed bathroom (which had a deep soaking tub and shower). The bed was high up and provided a decent sleep with nice pillows. Room was on the 9th floor right outside of the elevator, but noise was never a problem. A/c and heat worked perfectly. The good sized windows opened a little on each side. View was great! The area was a 20 minute walk from the Brooklyn Bridge and just minutes from the hearts of Chinatown and Little Italy. The closest subways (Grand St. and Canal St.) were so convenient. Had to walk about 5 streets up and cross the park to find a "convenience store" type place. Loved the hotel and really got the New York neighborhood experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My son and I stayed here during a weekend trip to New York. The room was very large with two queen beds and was a corner room looking out at New York (southern Manhattan in one direction and the bridges in the other direction). They provide a better than continental breakfast. The hotel is in Chinatown only 1-2 blocks from the subway line. We were able to get to midtown Manhattan in 15-20 minutes. It is a small hotel with only 2 rooms on our floor. Parking was expensive ($40/day) and they did not allow us to check in early (check-in time was 3 PM), but we had a nice stay and woul dstay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The price on booking.com was $259 per night, so for that kind of money you expect something very good. But the Manhattan Bridge is barely average, and I've stayed in much better hotels for far less money. On paper, the rooms have everything you need. But the safe, for instance, is at the bottom of a cupboard that is only 2 feet from the bed. So getting anything in or out of the safe requires crawling around on the floor. There is a desk, with a deskchair, but the deskchair doesn't actually fit in between bed and desk and lives somewhere else in the room. The bathroom though is quite well designed. Rooms are clean, housekeeping staff is friendly but they do try and break down your door if you sleep in a bit, and have forgotten the 'do not disturb' sign. Sound-proofing is minimal and the hotel is quite noisy. Although I was on the 10th floor, just a few floors lower are half a dozen external airconditioning units on top of the next building, blasting away all day and night. My room had a 'conneting door', and I could hear every word said in the next room. Breakfast was very limited and disappointing, no fresh fruit or vegetables, and one of my croissants smelled suspiciously off. Finally, if you need to go to JFK, do not use their limo service. Driver kept texting while we were on the highway, and then tried to rip me off: Although the sign at the hotel said that the price includes toll, the driver tried to get me to pay another $7 above the posted price. Yellow cabs have fixed prices to/from JFK and are cheaper.

Room Tip: As usual, the higher, the better. You can have quite a nice view over Manhattan Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peanut-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#245 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#341 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#189 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge

Property: Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Address: 61 - 63 Chrystie Street, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#244 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn® Manhattan Bridge hotel is ideally located in the Lower Eastside of New York City, providing easy access to all the best this area offers. Local points of interest like the Manhattan Bridge, Chinatown, Little Italy, the New York City Financial District, Wall Street and Ground Zero are all within walking distance from this New York City, NY hotel. Additional attractions include: -Jacob K. Javits Convention Center -Broadway Theater District -Rockefeller Center -United Nations -Times Square New York is easy to explore thanks to this hotel's close proximity to subway and train stations. Countless entertainment venues, world-class shopping opportunities and unique eateries can be found in the vicinity. Free Parking available Only with our Park and Stay Package Only (oversize Vehicle additional charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing