We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good NYC hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hilton Club - New York
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A very good NYC hotel experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was a pleasure to by-pass the busy lobby and take the elevator directly to the 37th floor for check-in directly inside the member lounge. The staff was professional and friendly. We arrived before the 3:00p checkin and was given a ticket for a free bag storage in the lobby (usually $3.50 per item). A staff person called my cell at 2:45p to let us know that the room was ready.

Our room (3818) looked relatively new. It was clean with a slight foul odor which lingered before the air started circulating courtesy of the powerful AC. There was damage readily noticeable when we walked in: A smoke detector was hanging off the wall precariously and the desk drawer was hanging halfway off the track. These issues did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. What was bothersome, however, was the ridiculously designed shower door with HUGE gaps on the side and bottom that caused the bathroom to be flooded during each shower.
Someone forgot to install the rubber seals, or something.

On the positive side, the shower has body jets - which made for a nice relaxing water massage at the end of the day.

The lounge is well stocked with coffee, tea, hot cocoa, soda and bottled water. We also enjoyed fresh fruit - and watched others smile about the cookies. At 5:00p, they offer cold beer (including a couple of imports), decent wine and appetizers (cheeses, fruit, hummus, guacamole, crudites, and a couple of other pleasant nibbles). A standard continental breakfast is also offered in this space.

The location of the Hilton at 54th and 6th is outstanding. We easily walked through Central Park, Times Square, Rockerfeller Center, the theater district, Hell's Kitchen on 9th Ave. (great restaurant options) and down 5th Ave. to our train from Grand Central. The subway to the West Village was three blocks away - next to Radio City.

A cool bonus was seeing a movie premier going on (the Butler) at the Ziegfield (?) Theater across the street - red carpet, celebrities and all.

We should mention that we were there on a $299 for two nights timeshare promotion that required us to sit for a two hour presentation. The timeshare salesman was courteous and professional. Indeed, we were sent on our way exactly two hours after we signed in. While we did not purchase a timeshare interest, we could certainly see the appeal.

Finally, DO NOT MISS the Halal Guys food cart right outside the hotel on the corner of 53rd and 6th (not 52nd). They are seriously a NYC institution (nearly 4000 Yelp reviews - 4.5/5 stars). We are relatively picky eaters (Whole Foods shoppers, etc.). We ate there twice (one lunch and one midnight snack) and fell in love. That white sauce is just ridiculously delicious! And, for $6 for a huge plate of food, this must be the best food deal in Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Father-of-Dragons71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    148
    49
    19
    17
See reviews for
177
271
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Told reservations we needed a rollaway bed - 3 of us would be staying. Arrived and they said not possible, we never told them, illegal to have extra bed in room. Hotel was nice, CORPORATE WAS RUDE, TOLD US TO DRIVE HOME AND RETURN THE NEXT DAY SO THEY COULD GET US A ROOM.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at The Hilton Club - New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues encountered. We at the Hilton Club New York strive to make every guest stay memorable. We are forwarding your concerns to the appropriate areas for follow up, and hope that aside from this regrettable issue, you and your family had the chance to enjoy our Hotel and the many wonderful and exciting things our great city has to offer. Please convey our apologies to your family as well and hope to serve you better in a near future.

Carlos Martino
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is ok if you want to stay mid-town, but I think there's a lot of better places to stay for less money. We didn't have a tub, which was horribly disappointing, our room was small, but quite. The bathroom was very small. The hotel was jammed with people, when you leave your room your in the gristmill, people everywhere. The staff tries hard, are very friendly and the hotel is clean, but it's just a place to hang your hat and sleep, maybe catch a movie. Otherwise, find a better place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at The Hilton Club - New York, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for staying with us on your recent visit New York City. We hope you’ll contact us to discuss any issues or concerns you encounter while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your patronage at our resort.

Carlos Martino
Club Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was my third stay at the Hilton Midtown in New York City but my first in the Club section. The Club floors are very nice and recently updated. The Lounge offered a great evening reception with complimentary soda, beer and wine as well as hot and cold snacks. That was a nice way to end a busy work day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightwaters, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Always a wonderful stay at the NY Hilton Club. Welcoming staff a tribute to the Manager who is always interested in accommodating your needs. Clean, quiet and well appointed rooms. I would definitely recommend the Hilton. Perfect location in Mid-Town to shops, Radio City, Rockefeller Center, Theatre, and Central Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south barrington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Suite was large and beautifully furnished. Great location--close to Broadway plays. Wonderful lounge area that provided free breakfast, afternoon snacks, and beverages throughout day and night. Hotel staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton club through our membership with HGVC. the room was very large and provided enough space for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Something we have never experienced in NYC.The club lounge had bottled water, soda and snacks all day long along with a sufficient breakfast and evening reception, all for free! It saved us a lot of money in such an expensive city. I did miss not having a refridge in the room, but the lounge is a great alternative. Highly recommend this Club.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Dean H. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,369 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#138 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hilton Club - New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hilton Club - New York

Property: The Hilton Club - New York
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 36th, 37th and 38th Floors of the Hilton New York, New York City, NY 10019-6012
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hilton Club - New York 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Club - New York is superbly located on the 36th, 37th and 38th floors of the renowned Hilton New York offering the immediate convenience of a full-service hotel. Located in the heart of thriving midtown Manhattan, the surrounding ten-block neighborhood offers some of New York's most notable treasures. The Hilton Club - New York offers an exclusive check-in on the 37th Floor for Hilton Club guests and features studios, one and two bedroom suites. The accommodations are elegantly appointed and offer numerous amenities to help capture the contemporary sophistication of Manhattan. Guests of The Hilton Club - New York have charge privileges at the restaurants, fitness center, spa and retail outlets of the Hilton New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hilton Club - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Club New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing