We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but the service....”
Review of Calico Jack's

Calico Jack's
Ranked #8,663 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Mexican
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food but the service....”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Ibwas there with a friend and I must say food was good but the service horrible!!no one looked at us even though the restaurant was pretty much empty...our waiter was always texting on his phone and the place was dirty

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annagreta132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average Food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I went there early evening and was about the only person in the restaurant but the bar was packed. Food was good sized portions - I had Tacos but unfortunately the meat (beef) was dry. Service was good though

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank money4nothing123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food, Brutal Service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Since we were staying around the corner and were looking for a decent meal, Calico Jack's was a logical choice. The appetizers and main meal were excellent, the sangria was as good as you'll enjoy anywhere-outstanding! Unfortunately, both the hostess and our waitress, were active on their cell phones texting instead of working. Additionally our waitresses attire looked more suitable for a Hooter's than a "Mom and Pop" type restaurant. Our food was brought to our table by the kitchen staff as they probably knew we preferred it warm not cold. Suffice to say instead of avoiding this restaurant in the future we'll just ensure a different waitress, as the others serving tables, appeared interested in doing their job satisfactorily.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank firefighter28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“okay food, great drinks”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

this is mostly a night spot, so if you're coming here for food, you'll be disappointed. the drinks, however, are pretty good, and they have decent happy hour specials.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYinFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hit or miss cantina”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had dinner here, which was okay but nothing special. subsequently I "won" a happy hour for myself and friends. I drank free and my friends got 1/2 price drinks, from a limited list of drinks. it was a noisy, crazy scene, topped off by the waitresses dancing on the bar. I was turned off and have not been back. It is mainly a spot for 20-somethings who don't mind loud music or shouting to be heard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Calico Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing