We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip”

Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #457 of 14,026 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: Within three blocks of the B, D, E, F, M, N, Q, R subways and walking distance to 1 and 2 subways.
Description: "The Best Steakhouse in New York City," where superior quality and obsessive dedication to craft are the norm. Said by many to have the best steak in New York, Uncle Jack's is proud to have served some of the world's most educated and discriminating food connoisseurs.Since its inception in 1996, Uncle Jack's has become legendary for unsurpassed consistency and quality. Serving the best steak in New York means featuring the finest USDA Prime Beef, cut to our exact specifications and aged between 28-35 days. World famous Kobe steaks, and a full menu of the finest foods available, are just a few more reasons why Uncle Jack's has become a steakhouse landmark without equal.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This was a return visit from a great experience almost 10 years ago...I remembered eating here one time, so we went here for Christmas lunch...lobster bisque was not very good...order jumbo shrimp appetizer and only got 3 for $18...very surprised by that...I would have thought there would have been at least 5 or 6. Steaks were good...5 cheese mac was good...sweet potato casserole was good...service was good...the atmosphere is really good if you are looking for that too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 534 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This was are 1st family trip to NY and on our last night we looked for a steakhouse and I must say we were extremely impressed we dinned upstairs and were waited on staff were very pleasant and chatty we will defo be visiting again next Feb 14

Thank last2findout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I visited NYC in Sept. 2013. We decided to try this restaurant based on the fact that we love watching the tv show with Willy Degel! The atmosphere was exactly what we expected from an upscale New York steakhouse. The service was top-notch. We had an older gentleman for a waiter. He knew the wine list, made recommendations on the menu and took great care of us. He always seemed to come to the table at exactly the right moment. We started off with a seafood platter for an appetizer and it was so fresh. I had the short ribs for dinner and my husband had the Prime Rib Chop. We loved everything about the food, the service and the atmosphere. We are planning a trip back to NYC in March 2014 and are hoping to go here again.

Thank JCOhio330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family and I went to Uncle Jack's for my son's 13th birthday. He loves steak, and enjoys Willie Degel on Restaurant Stakeout. There are only positive things to say about this experience. I will start with the service, which separates the excellent from the best. On his show, Mr. Degel emphasizes service as the key to success. The staff at this Midtown location exemplifies the best in class. My son has a severe nut allergy, and the staff at Uncle Jack's handled it expertly from the time of reservation through desert. I was called in the afternoon to discuss dinner and any concerns; when we arrived, we were reassured about menu items; during service, the entire team was sensitive to our needs. My son's birthday was noted by the entire team in a friendly, professional manner--he felt very special. Our head waiter and his team offered terrific advice on the menu, and executed service superbly. Now for the food. Absolutely delicious steak, and cooked as ordered. M10 year old daughter said it was "heavenly", and I agree. My kids split a filet, and it was sliced at their request. I enjoyed a very well grilled bone in filet--juicy and tender, more like a NY strip. The bacon appetizer was great, but may be too spicy for some people. Side dishes were also finely prepared; we had spinach, steak fries, and regular french fries. A standout is the mac and cheese; pasta perfectly cooked and the cheese mixture flavorful and complex--not your traditional mac. The wine list was extensive, and had some very reasonably priced selections. After dinner drinks were also reasonable. Deserts were also terrific. The chef made my son a nut free chocolate tort cake and put a candle on it. This was only the second restaurant desert he's ever had, and he loved every bite. A big thank you to the GM, Mark, and his entire team for making our evening. If you are in Manhattan for a family trip, business dinner, or date night, do yourself a favor and enjoy Uncle Jack's. Willie--you should be proud of your team over there, whether you're watching them or not.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larryope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really friendly staff, very informative about the menu, we 1st visited from the uk in Dec 2012 and went in as passing. However in nov 2013 when we returned we had to go back and the steaks were as good as the first time.

Thank Lynseyxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing