We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint bistro in Soho” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacques 1534

Jacques 1534
Ranked #6,842 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Nolita
Cross street: Between Mott and Elizabeth
Transit: 6 to Spring Street or N,R to Prince Street
Description: Just steps away from the bustling streets of Nolita, Jacques 1534 brings a fresh and creative approach to the traditional French Gastropub, with a locally sourced menu and expertly crafted cocktails. Upstairs, our bar and restaurant serves delicious French Gastropub cuisine, superb wines, signature hand-crafted cocktails and European draft beer. Perfect for lunch, brunch and dinner, our sidewalk patio is great for people watching. Continue your evening or start your night and escape down the stairway to cocktail heaven to our dimly lit underground lounge where you can enjoy fine crafted cocktails and small plates. 
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quaint bistro in Soho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were waliking on Prince street and got lured into this restaurant by its quaint ambiance. It is very small but cozy with a warm glow radiating from the Belle Epoque style wall sconces. The decor is lovely although a little on the touristy side (did they need a picture of the Eiffel Tower?). We had a large variety of food including the beef couscous, escargot, rabbit mousse, fried calamari, steamed mussels and we found everything to be very good. We found there was definitely a Northern African twist to the dishes. The wine selection was not great but this is a slightly understated place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnricoNovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    21
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Possibly the best french bistro in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

**you may recognize this restaurant from Friends with Benefits starring Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake and an episode of Million Dollar Listing


Jacques is one of the top french bistro's in the city! It's location in the beautiful and laid back neighborhood of Nolita makes it ideal for diners to get away and have a nice meal without all the hustle and bustle of NYC. You can sit and enjoy a great meal and also not feel rushed by the staff like at plenty of other restaurants that want you to, "eat your meal in a New York minute!" Also Jacques serves as a great DATE SPOT with the variety of classic and jazz music being played lightly and a seductively dim lit room with candles, serves as a backdrop for a good night with your significant other.

The food on the menu is simply sublime but obviously i have my favorites. The Escargot A L'ail is buttery and tastes amazing with some toast, you may end up grabbing two orders of them. The Hangar Steak (at medium rare) and Fries are wonderful , tender and juicy flavorful steak with extremely good Fries/Frites (i'm a big fan of fries so i can say with full confidence that I've gotten plates of the fries alone THEY'RE THAT GOOD TRUST ME) . Also i was pleasantly surprised by the half-roasted chicken it was very good and the garlic mash potatoes compliments it perfectly. Also the Jacques Burger (medium rare) that comes with fries and the Mussels & Frites platter is over the top good. They gave you a very generous amount of mussels that will leave you satisfied, a single order for yourself is def enough for two, so they are giving you double the value.

Also they screen classic movies on one of the TV's and the projector screen they have, very classy. Ideally i love coming here in the summer or one of those rare nice winter days and sitting outside and having a meal w/ some wine or Palm Beer (Belgian Beer) Staff is very helpful and wonderful to talk to, they also help you if you have any questions about the area and have suggestions for those out of towners/tourists visiting the city.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feeling French in Soho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Visited Jacques twice over a week! First time we were there to catch the Euro 2012 And what better way to catch a game of soccer while feasting on a pot of mussel!!
Seated al-fresco with not so busy part of Prince st behind you is definitely the way to go. Great food,nothing pricey and excellent service!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bosozokuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quality meals in a real french atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Downtown NYC, but feeling like in downtown Paris, that’s Jacques. Once seated NYC is far away. Friendly, modest waiters, but with attention. The cook surprised us; starters like the tuna tartare, sardines on toast and the shrimps were delicious. The mussels with french fries were great and the risotto with slow cooked veal was a discovery. So, most things on the menu were above expectations, however, the hanger steak was not more than average. All in all, Jacques was a welcome surprise to us and worthwhile to return.
Warning: the restaurant accepts Amex and cash only (we have encountered this in more restaurants), so be prepared.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“moules frites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

incredibly large pot of mussels (must have been 3 pounds) for $18 at lunch, with tasty fries. nice French atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jerroldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques 1534 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Jacques 1534? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing