We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pinch of Salt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amor Cubano

Amor Cubano
Reserve with OpenTable
Amor Cubano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,568 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East 111th Street
Transit: 6 train to 110th Street and M101 bus.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A Pinch of Salt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really enjoyed the environment and the band, but the food was just okay. My churrasco was cooked perfectly but was strangely room temperature. The server suggested the calamari and it was okay. My ginger mojito was pretty good. Pretty potent and had fresh ginger but the ginger taste would have been even stronger had they puréed it versus putting chunks in. I would give this restaurant acgood versus the average trip advisor doesn't offer that option. By the way change your awning, it looks like a Chinese restaurant versus the cute little Cuban place you are.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2SunSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hello everyone,
I have eaten at Amor Cubano lots of times and is one of my favorites.
The food is amazing and really tasty and it's one of the best Cuban cuisine restaurants in the city.
I Love the Sangrias and after 7pm they have live band playing. Cozy lovely atmosphere and service is good and friendly.
You wouldn't go wrong with anything on the menu, as well as the dessert.
The flan or tres- leche are of the hook.

Give this restaurant a 5 out of 5.
Recommend it

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ecorn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I really enjoy this restaurant...the food was fantastic! I had a party of 8 and were seated in our own little section with out own plasma tv to watch the game!! the drinks were on point, the atmosphere, the live music was amazing! definitely will return, my family enjoyed and the dulce de leche was to die for!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Viramos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York,NY
Level Contributor
555 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Not sure if I would return.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've had better cuban food in the city. The atmosphere is very nice. Exposed brick wall and dimly lit. Staff is very nice. When i went there was only one server which made our experience take a little longer. It wasnt a big deal as they had live entertainment which made the wait not seem so bad. Food was ok but atmosphere was excellant and service/staff was ok.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, good service and music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Live music and excellent food. The best sangria ever. We were worried about taking the subway to the neighborhood at night -- don't -- it was fine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FMWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amor Cubano also viewed

 

Been to Amor Cubano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing