We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real winner”
Review of Padre Figlio - CLOSED

Padre Figlio
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: We are located just a few blocks from Grand Central Terminal. You can take the 4, 5 or 6 to 42nd Street/Grand Central Station. You can also take the local Bus on Third Avenue, going north or Lexington Avenue, going south.
Middle Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A real winner”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Both food and service is supuerb. My third vist in 12 months, all equally good. The owner personally makes sure all is perfect. I look forward to my next visit there

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAFE456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Back Again for More Food and Fun”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We go to Padre Figlio often, enjoying the food, service & entertainment, but last Saturday night was one to be remembered.There were a few large tables of parties, all very lively, which made it even more fun.The entertainers fed off the enthusiasm of the crowd, and Danny Nye, a fabulous entertainer who sings in several languages, had a song for every ethnicity. He even had a few words for the Norweigan couple sitting at the next table, who said it was their "best evening in NYC". Julio Cruet-Adrover, the special guest singer and dancer (who also happens to be an actor), had the crowd in the palm of his hands with his gorgeous, romantic boleros, and when Danny and Julio did a duet, the people just went wild!! Oh, and do try their Creme Brulee. This is NOT a French restaurant, but has the BEST Creme Brulee! A fabulous time was had by all!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good steaks, friendly service - the piano player, not so good”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were a party of five and had no reservation on a Friday evening around 8:30pm and were seated right away. We started with cocktails and moved right into the main course. Two of us had filet mignon, two shared a chateaubriand and one had a buffalo filet. All excellent, cooked just as requested and thoroughly enjoyed. The wine list is extensive and our selection was delicious.
Not cheap, the check came to close to $500. But not outrageous for the quality of the food and the location.
But, oh dear, the piano player - he'd best not give up his day job (I hope he has one) - mediocre and singing to some kind of karaoke backing track he truly tortured a rendition of Pink Floyd's The Wall - a really inappropriate choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 0591TimS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent Food. Welcoming Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed seven nights in the opposite hotel ONE UN and ate 4 evenings at Padre Filio. The food was excellent. In particular I would like to highlite the meat dishes NY Strip No 1 and the filets. The service was very friendly and efficient. After the 2nd visit the service knew already upon arrival what drinks we were going to order. very worth going there!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hajara43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Groupon offer not an offer”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for Padre Figlio with an expiration date of 10/27/2013. I made a reservation on OpenTable for 10/22/2013 at 9pm. It noted I would receive 1,000 dining points for this reservation. As a frequent user of OpenTable, I was excited about booking a 1,000 dining points reservation. I currently have 1,000 dining points in my account and would be eligible for a $20 OpenTable Dining Cheque upon completing my reservation. I informed my waiter that I had a Groupon offer and he told me that he was cancelling my OpenTable reservation. I have dined several times in the past using Groupon offers, reserved tables via OpenTable and received the allotted dining points. I was unaware that Padre Figlio would not confirm my reservation to receive the dining points because of a Groupon offer. I find it very interesting that they honored my reservation, seated my party and cancelled my reservation after I mentioned I was dining with a Groupon offer. The menu offered for the Groupon is the exact menu used for the Pre Fix dinner. The cost per person on the Pre Fix dinner is $43. I paid $59 for my Groupon. When I received my bill the full value was billed at $147. I do not understand how they arrived at the $147 with the same menu offered at Pre Fix for $86.
I should have been billed a full value of $86 not $147. I do not feel I received a Groupon as I was charged tax & tip on an inflated amount. I am very disappointed with Padre Figlio and with Groupon for partnering with Padre on an offer that really is NOT an offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Figlio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing