We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zabaglione” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Padre Figlio - CLOSED

Padre Figlio
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: We are located just a few blocks from Grand Central Terminal. You can take the 4, 5 or 6 to 42nd Street/Grand Central Station. You can also take the local Bus on Third Avenue, going north or Lexington Avenue, going south.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Zabaglione”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have you ever had yolks and sugar whipped with marsala over a flame and then served to you in parfait glass overflowing like a yellow volcanic eruption of froth? It was a my favorite dessert, and here you can have it made custom with Proseco instead. There is so much more to this multifaceted jewel of a restaurant. Moody bar, curtained private party room, salon style supper room, glass atrium dining, ... you name it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mavirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and service but pricey...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Smaller classic NYC restaurant with dark burgundy accents and woods. Stylish but very small bar/foyer. Service and waiter were excellent until he took on a larger party, however, the back up waiter was very friendly and helpful. Food: skip the lobster bisque, try the seafood salad, not bad... The pasta was good and lamb and steak were also good, however, not exceptional. The wine was way to pricey as were some of the entrees. One note.. my son's lamb was literally rare and was sent back for a quick once over on the grill; it came back over well done! That was credited... and 2 deserts were gratis. Would i go back... maybe...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A great relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

After a busy day attending a seminar in NYC three other friends went with me to Padre Figlio. The atmosphere was very inviting from the street so we decided to eat there. A decision well made....two of us had steak. Mine was delicious and cooked just as ordered. The sides were very large. None of my party had room for any dessert or coffee. Our waiter answered many questions concerning their recent experiences with Hurricane Sandy. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rtchur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice option close to the UN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

they offer a great 3-course prix fixe menu only if you ask for it. I had an enormous bowl of lobster bisque, homemade gnocchi (delicious and definitely homemade), and tiramisu. Service was excellent--very old school and Italian, so fun. Wine by the glass is a bit overpriced and costs more for dinner than lunch but is the same size, which seems strange. But a very nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2006world_traveler!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving bundle was bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The atmosphere is pleasant, and the entire staff was vey attentive, friendly and professional.
We ordered the turkey dinner and felt that it was bland and unexceptional, although the portions were more than ample. The apple pie was served cold.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonEDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Figlio also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing