We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't honor reservation for the beginning of December”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Padre Figlio - CLOSED

Padre Figlio
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 1st and 2nd Avenues
Transit: We are located just a few blocks from Grand Central Terminal. You can take the 4, 5 or 6 to 42nd Street/Grand Central Station. You can also take the local Bus on Third Avenue, going north or Lexington Avenue, going south.
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Won't honor reservation for the beginning of December”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I purchased the restaurants bloomspot dining promotion as I am scheduled to be in NYC in Dec. After purchasing the coupon I called the restaurant to make a reservation for Monday Dec. 3, 2012 for 2 people. Everything was going fine until I mentioned I had a bloomspot certificate and then Tony wasn't sure he would be able to honor it, it will be the holiday season and it is so far out. I could always come another time. I explained that I was from out of town so that wouldn't work. So essentially there should have been a disclaimer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdlanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    12
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good pasta, service patchy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with a colleague. We only wanted something fast and took a seat in the glass porch. We waited (and waited) for drinks and to place an order. When the food came it was good and there was lots of it, I had the chicken parmigiana which was delicious. Service inside seemed much better.

Helpful?
Thank CorkKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had purchased a Travelzoo coupon for an all inclusive meal for two. Based on good reviews on Trip Advisor, it seemed like a reasonable choice. We had salmon and veal scallopini, and both were delicious, especially the veal. We enjoyed the traditional atmosphere and the gracious service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanMarie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Host, Dangerous Groupon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

What do you do when a good eatery gets involved in slippery schemes ? Groupon introduced me to Tony's place. Tony, an affable chap is proud of his food and shows it. He wants the customer happy, but the Groupon connection is a glitch. The problem is as follows. By using Groupon you sign up for a mandatory 20% on you wine and ORIGINAL price of the diner. Let's say you are a 15% tipper, there are many of these around now a days, or you don't tip on the wine, some do not you know. You have to leave 20%, not as you value the meal, but what the place demands to use Groupon. What does this mean in dollars and cents? That $109 Groupon diner is valued by Tony as worth $294.00 so you must leave $58.80 as tip. That $50.00 bottle of wine comes with a tip of $10.00. So, before sales tax, your $109.00 dinner is $167.80 without wine etc. Now comes the complication of sales tax. The computers at the place put sales tax on the ORIGINAL price even though you only paid a fraction of it. Think of this as getting a 70% discount on an item and paying tax on the full price. Between the mandatory 20% tip on the diner and wine and the confusion over the state tax, the travail after the meal is not worth the deal. HOWEVER, the food is good, Tony a warm and engaging host, and atmosphere enjoyable. My recommendations, pay full price and AVOID deals at this steakhouse.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Estrumagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYTraveler0514
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Celebrated a friend's 50th Birthday. We had a great time, food and music. Expensive, but worth it. Father and son owned.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Padre Figlio also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing