We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tailor-made dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rouge Tomate - CLOSED

Rouge Tomate
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 5th and Madison Avenue
Transit: N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue / 59th Street. Exit Station at 60th Street.
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Tailor-made dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's been a couple of years that I wanted to have dinner at Rouge Tomate. The main problem is that my husband is gluten and white sugar allergic. Which means that he's not welcome in most restaurants. Most of the food is half prepared in advance and most cook use wheat and or white sugar in their preparations.

We were 4 guests, we all took the tasting menu and for my husband, the chef adapted every course. The creativity and the kindness of the chef was truly unbeleivable. It took only 5 minutes to our waiter to come with the perfect answear: We can do it! And the food, not only was great, but the pairing with the wines was just perfect. The courses were creative, not too complicated and very light. Left us with the sensation of enough eating but not with a heavy stomach.

We spent a truely beautiful family moment at Rouge Tomate and looking forward to come back!

Once again, bravo!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MorganVob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    68
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

DO NOT GET THE WINE PAIRING! My birthday dinner (prefix) was practically ruined by the odd selection of wines which came with the meal. In the middle they poured a sweet Madeira with a seafood dish. I voiced my skepticism from the beginning but they poured it anyway. The result was that I could not get that powerful sweet taste out of my mouth for the remainder of the meal, which was fabulous. What a disservice to the chef! They followed that with an extremely dry sour wine and then a mediocre red (the only red they poured the entire night). Better to order several glasses of wines yourself, or pay the $50 corkage fee and bring a bottle. Food was beautifully rendered and executed. Room was spectacular. Waiter apologized for the Madeira and said they have received many complaints!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank benleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1 of the best in NYC and Under the Radar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have eaten Chef Jeremy's fabulous food 4 or 5 times since Rouge was launched. It was always great but what i've noticed is that he has grown. His food has become fresher, more beautiful to look at, and most important-even more delicious. Start w his tastey creative "toasts," and you will see what i mean early on in your meal. These are simple, hearty, pretty, and oh so yummy. Highlights the other night were chestnut soup, risotto w wild mushrooms and truffle oil, and incredibly tender Venison. Dessert was a variety of small works of art all w , get this, squash! Yecch right! NO, fabulous! esp the souffle. The Wine list is 1 of my favorites. So well chosen with many great selections all along the price spectrum. Service A 1!"

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodiedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I went there without prior reservation. We firstly waited in the bar, where we watched some original cocktails been made while we ate lemon glazed popcorn.After two cocktails (one of them a variation of Manhattan with chili), we went to a lounge table. The decoration and the overall comfort is great. We ordered a mushroom "tartare" which was awesome: several varieties of tiny wild pickled mushrooms. My wife had venison and I ordered a Nantucket bay scallops.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berveiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful dining in great area of Manhattan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Went here for a pre-Christmas dinner with two gal pals. We ended up dining at the bar which was perfect. Highly recommend the gnudi appetizer (pricey but delish) as well as the freshly squeezed juices and creative cocktails. Portions are modest but adequate.

Tab for three of us with several appetizers,one entree, some wine and cocktails was approximately $300.00 inclusive of gratuity. Thanks to our great bartender from Tupelo, MS for your great service and suggestions! Would make a great date or business dinner place as well. Reserve well ahead or dine at the bar.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lanikaiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge Tomate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing