We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rouge Tomate - CLOSED

Rouge Tomate
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Between 5th and Madison Avenue
Transit: N, R & W trains to 5th Avenue / 59th Street. Exit Station at 60th Street.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

After a visit of the Guggenheim museum and a nice walk through Central Park, we went to Rouge Tomate for a lunch. Rouge Tomate has a very modern and trendy interior. You've got a lot of space and can enjoy your meal very relaxed. The service was very professional and friendly. We started with a cocktail, the watermelon sake, which was perfect prepared. As a starter we ate the gazpacho and the ceviche, both very tasty and beautifully served. As a main dish we ate perfectly cooked scallops. The riesling wine, recommended by the sommelier, matched very good with the food.
We live in near Brussels and will certainly visit the Belgian restaurant over there, the original Rouge Tomate. Rouge Tomate is really a top restaurant in NYC and perfectly for lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    68
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine ingredients and execution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My second time for lunch. I had duck confit - crispy, delicate skin and very moist meat. Service was very professional. It was easy to get in and out on a business lunch, yet I would go again when I could linger a bit more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect & harmonious pairing of the Seasonal tasting menu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were in New York on Business & it was one of the coldest days of the year at -10c.
However the warmth of the Rouge Tomate & their excellent Sommelier , Pascaline Lepeltier, made us soon forget the bitter elements.
The restaurant's management & Chefs SPE certified philosophy of focus on sustainability, health & exceptional taste is truly amazing.
We had the seasonal tasting menu of 6 dishes, perfectly paired with their wines. Pascaline, one of the best Sommeliers of the world & presently studying or her Master Sommelier qualification, takes time to analyse your preferences & makes top notch recommendations at fair prices.
All plates were prepared with the finest organic products but 2 stand out:
-the local oyster with pomegranate , crispy ginger & fresh cilantro.
-Chestnut & celery root soup, with Hudson Valley Foie Gras, celery heart & outstanding winter black truffles.

The only constructive comment I might add is that you will need to know 5 or 6 languages to understand when the support staff describes to you your dishes as for all of them New York is a new home.
This restaurant deserves its Michelin Star & if you are a cigar smoker like I am, you have the Macanudo cigar club only 3 blocks away with live music & a fine selection of Dominican Cigars.

A truly enjoyable evening & we look forward to coming back during the summer.

Gustavo A de Hostos
Sommelier & master cigar blender

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAdH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food but an unpleasant vintner experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This extension of the Belgian restaurant has been in place for a year and received a good but tongue in cheek review in the New York Times recently. It is known for "natural" cooking in diet conscious portions and produces some excellent and tasty food. Coming to the restaurant with an academic business group we had a set menu but which gave a well balanced choice. Furthermore the selected Oregon Pinot Noir wine was excellent in the first 2 tastings but then was followed by a bottle that clearly was off. Instead of apologies, this resulted in the comment that the bottle was empty and though another was brought to substitute for my glass there was no attempt to remedy the problem for others. This sort of casual attitude to clients does not bode well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing and incredibly unique!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

At the bottom right hand corner of Central Park in NYC. Beautiful two story restaurant - lots of white and tons of red leather. Long arc shaped bar. Beautiful, friendly, formal, and intelligent staff. Unique dishes like venison, fish, caviar, lobster (served in egg shell), etc. All supposed to be healthy, sustainable, and amazing. Check the website and read about the seal of approval program. Extensive wine list. You'll spend a lot of money - but you'll do that anywhere in NY. Check out my pictures!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rouge Tomate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing