We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Steak”

Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca
Reserve with OpenTable
Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,592 of 13,748 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
Cross street: Beach & Hubert
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a Steak”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I could probably have finished the Rib Eye Steak if I didn't order a starter or eat any of the complimentary bread. It was huge, but cooked to perfection and one of the best steaks I've had.

The restaurant on the Thursday night that we were there was dominated by groups of guys from the city which doesn't really do much for the atmosphere, it might be an idea to try a different branch

Service was prompt and matter of fact, bordering on rude, but if you want a fantastic steak then this is your place

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seraph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    85
    26
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Absolute best steak. Period.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I took friends who were from Nebraska and used to tasting fresh, high quality beef, and even they were blown away. Listen: there is just no better steak in the city than the porterhouse here. And the sides are awesome: get creamed spinach (the best ever), get sautéed mushrooms, and get a potato (not asparagus, disappointing). You must start with the bacon slice; you won't believe your eyes. Dessert: sundae sundae sundae!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chironlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you're purely looking for great Steak make Wolfgangs your stop”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Firstly let me state that if an extensive and varied a la carte Menu is what you seek, Wolfgang's Steakhouse is not the place for you. If however you are seeking a top quality steak then you are in luck the USDA aged fillet was top notch and was cooked to a T when ordered "Rare" and while the steaks are very expensive averaging $40-50 dollars per person you get a steak of the highest quality. My only knock backs would be that the side order portions our a tad excessive and that the overall ambience is reduced by a wide spacing between table's, having said that the steakhouse is in a lovely location in beautiful Tribeca.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RossMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“best steak i've ever had!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we've been there on our arrival day for dinner and were super tired due to jetlag, so our expectation was just to quickly get sth to eat and have a drink in a nice setting. it turned out to be the best evening in ny of this stay. food was EXCELLENT. we shared the steak for 2 and this was for sure the best one i've ever had.and i would definitely call myself a steak expert. its a bit pricy but worth the money! staff is attentive and friendly, drinks are ok, besides the fact that their beer selection is a bit too small. i will be back soon for another round!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank goodone_417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What could go wrong, did to wrong.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wolf gangs was one of our favourite steak houses when we lived in NY, we loved the ambience, the service and food. So on a recent holiday to NY, this was our first choice for a special birthday dinner. It was the wrong choice. We had clearly lost our "local" status, and found ourselves shoe horned into a table wedged between the wall and other tables. Service was abrupt, and no help was provided with the menu or wine list. The food (when it eventually came) was at best average. We had ordered high quality steaks, but they were grissley, tough, and over cooked. All of this was bad enough, but the evening went from bad to worse when the waiter spilled a full bottle of red wine over our table, food and selves. While they did apologies and endeavoured to clean up the damage, no real compensation was offered for disruption, damage nor for the lost wine. We should have refused to pay the bill, or at least not paid for the wine, but as it was a special evening we just paid the exorbitant $300++ (for two) bill, and left. We have now crossed Wolfgangs of our favourites list, sad, because it used to be great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBHK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca also viewed

 

Been to Wolfgang's Steakhouse - Tribeca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing