We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday lunch”

BG - Bergdorf Goodman
Reserve with OpenTable
BG - Bergdorf Goodman is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #273 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 58th Street and 5th Ave
Transit: 1,9,N,R @ 59th street E @ 53rd street F @ 57th street
Description: Sophistication on the Seventh Floor of Bergdorf Goodman with afternoon into evening Central Park views. BG is a modern interpretation of the aristocratic social salon. Like a Park Avenue residence from the age of cosmopolitan glamour. Well-appointed and bright, the drawing room atmosphere is an intimate conversational setting for lunch, tea and early supper or cocktails. The light and sparkling menu is a modern take on classic New York fare.
Midwest
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We bravely went on a Saturday at 1pm with no reservation. The dining room was fully committed with reservations, and we took a small table in the bar area.

Great people watching, high level of service and good food: ladies-who-lunch menu items abound- fine by us!

No sense of being rushed out the door, even though there was a long line as we were finishing.

A fun mother-daughter shopping respite.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BCparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    98
    19
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and eat while shopping”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The restaurant at Bergdorf Goodman is something I have fond memories of. It is beautiful inside and provides a great view of Central Park while you dine. Food is always delicious and servies is great. It is a little on the pricy side but well worth it. Last time I was there, I tried the lobster mac and cheese and it was phenominal! Highly reccomend this restaurant to anyone. It is also very convienient if you are shopping in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't go to Bergdorf for afternoon tea.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I went to Bergdorf today for afternoon tea with my folks to celebrate my 30th birthday. We had made a reservation and requested a window seat- we were seated right away at a table with lovely views of the park. Good ambiance, okay service. The tea experience was disappointing, though. The bread used to make the tea sandwiches was dry/stale, the scones were mediocre at best, and the pastries were just okay. (I enjoyed the macarons... the petit fours and tartlets were okay... the brownies were overly sweet and didn't really belong... the shoe-shaped sugar cookies were dry and tasted awful.) They only had about twelve teas on the menu.. the teas were run-of-the-mill- nothing to write home about. My mom is a vegetarian, and mentioned it when we ordered- the waiter said that they only had cucumber/goat cheese sandwiches for vegetarians, and couldn't make anything additional for her. I was sad we chose to celebrate the occasion at Bergdorf, and hope they improve their afternoon tea in the future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious, elegant hideaway in a major 5th Ave. department store”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite restaurants in NYC. The atmosphere is small and cozy with window seating offering a partial view of Central Park.
The service is stellar and the food is superb. Have been going for years and always leave happy. On the seventh floor of Bergdorf Goodman.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MonicafromMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant lunch enjoyed”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a lovely solo lunch. The butternut squash was not overly creamy - Good! But it was very under seasoned. The roasted cauliflower steak was delicious. A nice corner of civility in a bustling area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BG - Bergdorf Goodman also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to BG - Bergdorf Goodman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing