We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent West Village Italian”
Review of L'Artusi

L'Artusi
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Artusi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #239 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Between Bleecker and Hudson
Transit: 1 train to Christopher Street, and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Opened in December of 2008, L'Artusi is the second step from the team that brought dell'anima to the West Village. Chef/Partner Gabriel Thompson and Beverage Director/Partner Joe Campanale share their expertise in Italian Epicurean Hospitality on a larger stage. Featuring rustic cuisine, a crudo bar, specialty cheese program, private dining room, and a walk-in wine cellar, L’Artusi offers guests a variety of dining options and a warm, friendly vibe. Our 110 seat restaurant, designed by Brooke Maples, features two floors of comfortable banquette seating, extended traditional bar, cheese bar and a chef's counter over-looking the open kitchen. Private dining opportunities are also available in our 2500 bottle walk-in wine cellar.
NY
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent West Village Italian”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The buttermilk cracker appetizer was great! The butter leaf lettuce salad was tasty,

It was a high energy place - 1st floor and loft seating - cute bar! Meal was excellent, would have given 5 stars- the upstairs section was quite warm - crank the A/C to fix that!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tootsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    92
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Super duper everything”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had tried on several occasions to secure a reservation at this Greenwich Village Restaurant. I finally realized that I has to reserve on open table 30 dyas in advance exactly.The 2 year wait was richly rewarded with one of the best meals I have ever had
The wonderful recipes and super fresh ingredients were a change from ordinary fare. Theonly drawback was that it was crowded and noisy, but once the food starts coming you do not notice. The wine list was extensive and well chosen. This is a do not miss. Reserve early !!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too trendy”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I am giving four stars only because of the quality of the food and the waitstaff. We made a reservation, exactly four weeks in advance as required, for 9:00 because friends who are gourmet cooks were coming in and asked to go there. When we arrived our table, was "on dessert" which I now understand means "your table won't be ready for half an hour." We were a party of four - not exactly an unusual size. Having recently returned from Paris where we never had this experience at the Michelin starred restaurants we tried, we were not happy. The food is creative, but hardly real Italian - fluke and hamachi? Tortellini with lemon? The wait staff, once we were seated, were very nice and accommodating, but unless you are going there to be seen (while waiting at the bar), there are many equally good - and better - restaurants in New York.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Helensn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We keep returning”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Consistently delicious. We ended up canceling our reservations elsewhere the other night and going back to L'Artusi where we knew our meal would be delicious. The chicken with hen of the wood mushrooms & hanger steak with the most amazingly crispy & flavorful potatoes and crema are what keep us going back for more. We prefer to sit upstairs, as it's quieter when the restaurant is busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lanaworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Spot!!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Arrived in New York after 8:00 and asked the hotel for a great Italian pasta restaurant. Without hesitation, the young lady said "L'Artusi". She went on to say that she and her fiancé had celebrated there a week earlier and she thought the good was fantastic. She was right!!

Crowded and noisy on a Thursday night, the two hostesses immediately made us feel welcome and special. A bar runs the length of the front half of the restaurant and we sat at a table basically beside that bar. Tables are set quite close together (very European) but not uncomfortable so. Extensive wine list and we had a bottle of '07 Due Terre Bianco for 90.00 and a Venica Sauvignon for $70.00. We much preferred the Suvignon Cero.

Our dinners included an Orrechiette-Sausage Ragu which was amazing, as well as a baked chicken dish and an Arctic char dinner that both described as "Absolutely outstanding." Total meal came in at $300.00 for three people, the service was excellent. Noisy but fun atmosphere and very, very good food. Easy to reccomend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Artusi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to L'Artusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing