We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastey Food and Great Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Artusi

L'Artusi
Reserve with OpenTable
L'Artusi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #282 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: West Village
Cross street: Between Bleecker and Hudson
Transit: 1 train to Christopher Street, and A, B, C, D, E, F & V trains to West 4th Street.
Description: Opened in December of 2008, L'Artusi is the second step from the team that brought dell'anima to the West Village. Chef/Partner Gabriel Thompson and Beverage Director/Partner Joe Campanale share their expertise in Italian Epicurean Hospitality on a larger stage. Featuring rustic cuisine, a crudo bar, specialty cheese program, private dining room, and a walk-in wine cellar, L’Artusi offers guests a variety of dining options and a warm, friendly vibe. Our 110 seat restaurant, designed by Brooke Maples, features two floors of comfortable banquette seating, extended traditional bar, cheese bar and a chef's counter over-looking the open kitchen. Private dining opportunities are also available in our 2500 bottle walk-in wine cellar.
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tastey Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I came here on a Saturday night with some girl friends. The atmosphere was great. The place was busy but not too loud, plus I liked the dim light. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and pointed us to some really great wine to start off with. I then had the scallops (wasn't blown away at all by these), the beet salad (great) and the spaghetti. The spaghetti was awesome! It's one of those dishes that I'm still thinking about as I write this on Monday morning. Definitely get this when you visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StephyMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    90
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem in the Village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Secon time here an it lived up to all the hype. Truly was an awesome experience. We had a hi top table near the kitchen which was cool to actually watch the chefs cook and assemble the dishes. The gnocchi with lamb Ragu was amazing. All of the appetizers were great especially the scallops and beef carpricio. You really can't beat the price for NYC standards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We still talk about our pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

If it wasn't so dang hard to get a reservation earlier than 9:30pm on opentable at this restaurant, we'd be eating here once a week. The pasta is phenomenal. The dishes are so simple yet so tasty. Every New Yorker needs to eat here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamSafD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
204 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food but not too comfortable...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

My friends and I went for brunch. The food was great -- I had the parmesan biscuits with a sausage gravy which was a play on eggs benedict and my friend had the french toast which I thought was delicious.
My only complaint was the place -- it was so warm inside the restaurant which made it uncomfortable. They were nice enough to move us to a table farther from the open kitchen but then it was so cramped. We were four in a table suitable for three.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJB1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing pasta, mediocre setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The restaurant itself is a little soulless, large, openplan and a little too modern. The salads and appetizers were good but nothing to write home about, but the Pasta!! Definitely the best pasta dishes I have eaten outside of Italy. Perfectly cooked and sauced, sublime!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Artusi also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to L'Artusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing