We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Steak Tartare”
Review of Brasserie Cognac

Brasserie Cognac
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Cognac is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,662 of 16,015 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 55th Street
Transit: N, R, Q & W trains to the 57th Street Station.
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Great French meal! The food and service are awesome! Possibly the best Steak Tartare I've ever had! The Beef Bourguignon and the Scallops were both good too!

In addition to the food, the service is good! We went on a weeknight and were seated immediately. Our server was attentive, and food and drinks were delivered in a timely fashion...no long wait for either, but we didn't feel rushed. Nice atmosphere in both the restaurant and bar areas. They have a full bar and wine list. We felt the drink and wine prices were reasonable for New York.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to return.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandJ822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 550 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2017

Came here for brunch late one Saturday morning and enjoyed excellent Eggs Florentine and a spicy Bloody Mary.
Arrived the next evening for quite drinks at the bar and Foie Gras and a plate of cheeses to share. Educated Joseph (who gave excellent service at the bar) on how to pour a bottle of Duval - please don't store these sideways in the fridge any more!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

Lobster Bisque looked and tasted like watered down tomato soup. The Quiche was not traditional quiche, more like a frittata. The service is good which is why this got 3 stars. Food is not good - same owner as serafina (at dream hotel) across the street. This would be fine to come have a drink at the bar but don’t order the food.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank SouthFLTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017

We were looking for a French restaurant close to the hotel where we were staying and found this restaurant nearby. We enjoyed our meal there. The service was attentive and prompt. The ambience was very pleasant. It was also nice to see people dressed to go out to dinner. We go into the city often, and this restaurant will be on our list to go to again and again.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devotedtraveler_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

A nice friendly place reasonably priced good food in the midst of the theater district.
We've been enjoying anniversary dinner here for over 5 years.
Escargot is delicious as is the onion soup.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank KennH417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Cognac also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Brasserie Cognac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing