We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food was typical”

Clement at The Peninsula New York
Reserve with OpenTable
Clement at The Peninsula New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #853 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $75
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 55th St
Transit: Take the A,C and E trains to 53rd Street and Fifth Avenue Take the N, Q, and R trains to 59th Street and Fifth Avenue
Description: Clement restaurant features a notable American Fare concept, created to highlight an approachable sensibility to midtown dining. Under the direction of Chef Remi van Peteghem, Clement, and its adjoining bar, features fresh new dishes, daily chef's plates and seasonal events. Located in the Forbes Five Star-rated Peninsula New York hotel, Clement overlooks bustling Fifth Avenue. Designed by the international award-winning design firm, Yabu Pushelberg, the restaurant feels like a quintessential New York home, with different rooms that cater to a range of moods, desires and occasions. Private and semi-private dining areas are available. Adjacent to Clement, The Bar offers a bewitching menu of suggested and made-to-order cocktails, a selection of wines and champagnes available by the glass, and small plates echoing the Clement menu.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, food was typical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have to say maybe I didn't try the right kind of breakfast-such as their asian breakfast set. I had a very typical American breakfast: an egg white omelet with a pot of tea. My husband did enjoy his egg Benedict. I think among three of us, the happiest diner had to be my 6-year-old. He really enjoyed the special mini chocolate pancakes, the fruit bowl and his bacons!

Aside form the food, the ambience is great, we felt very comfortable even most of the people around us were in suits. Our waiter was very friendly and paid a lot of attentions to our body languages so he knew what we needed.

Over all, the best $150 for breakfast I've ever spent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KYFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at Clement at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear KYFG,

It was very kind of you to not only review our hotel on TripAdvisor but our new restaurant Clement as well.

We are happy your found Clement to be comfortable and kid friendly and that our staff exceeded your expectations.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    41
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New face, same excellent standard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

For years this has been our favorite New York restaurant. Admittedly it is expensive, but for the quality of food and drink, all served with relaxed grace, - it is well worth it.
The bar and the restaurant have been renovated to a new style, and the architects have managed to retain the calm ambiance in modern but non-intrusive areas. There is space around the tables and you can talk without competing with other tables.
The restaurant has a tasting menu with an excellent wine packet to go and maintains a high standard throughout. We especially enjoyed the seafood dishes! As most dishes are also on the ordinary menu you can go there for a 2-3 course meal knowing that you shall have a meal to remember!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at Clement at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear docCH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on our new restaurant Clement. We agree that a lot of thought was taken into consideration to create a modern and trendy but calm space for diners to appreciate local ingredients.
We are delighted you enjoyed your meals here and look forward to having you dine with us again when you return to New York.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, comfortable with great service, everything perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We went there for lunch just to try out the restaurant long after their opening. Very friendly services with absolutely no stuck up service. Love this place already.

We got the octopus on the menu and it was SO good, very very soft and it was just delicious. I got a soup and the short rib and they were great.

I had a baby with me too and the staff was very thoughtful, offered a coloring book in attempt to keep my baby busy. Everything was just on the dot, I am so happy that we went there.

Great restaurant I really hope this place will get their name out there and get appreciated by more people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luxship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at Clement at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Luxship,

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor. With patrons such as yourself who take the time to write such a kind review of our restaurant Clement, our name will indeed be associated with superior service and exceptional dining. We hope you and your family will visit Clement again in the near future.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hotel Restaurant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

A native New Yorker, lunching often for business, uptown, downtown, east side, west side, yet never thought of dining in any of the fine hotels of Manhattan's restaurants. So I took to looking up various ratings websites and eventuaklly ended up at Clement. I found myself to be very lucky I and my guests did! Seafood ordered by all, 2 black bass and one for Cod, were pleased and couldn't help but praise the meal to our gracious and professional waiter. I excitement was such, that the waiter retrieved the chef from the kitchen to receive our praise directly. He was quite excited and grateful.
seems he joined after the recent revovation in October 2013, whereby a large one room dining area was cionverted into a semi multi-room setting. Gorgoeous with large "half moon mirror shaped" windows looked upon Fifth avenue from its second floor locale in the hotel. Go!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CountFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at Clement at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear CountFleet,

Thank you for taking a moment to visit TripAdvisor and to write this eloquent review of our new restaurant Clement. With patrons like you, we will continue to be a great success in Midtown Manhattan.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Before They Were Famous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

You could actually get a table, as they say Cream always rises to the Top: Food , Desert, Hand Crafted Drinks, is Heaven Sent

Helpful?
Thank terbehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at Clement at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Terbehr,

Thank you for your kind review of our new restaurant Clement on TripAdvisor. We look forward to having you dine with us again whenever you are in the New York City area.

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clement at The Peninsula New York also viewed

 

Been to Clement at The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing