We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waste of time and money in nyc”
Review of Sombrero Mexican

Sombrero Mexican
Ranked #1,929 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
liverpool
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“waste of time and money in nyc”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

horrible service. waitress barely spoke to us and no one checked if our food was ok. if they had checked they would have discovered it was terrible. i have had better microwave mexican food!
we cut our losses and left as quickly as possible chossing not to leave the 20% grautity they had added on!

Helpful?
Thank Skrinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    150
    95
    42
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good mexican food”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very nice little Mexican restaurant, very reasonabilly priced! Good choice of food - however the chicken fajitas were quite "bland" - not very spicy but still nice - cocktails & beer good!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCATCAT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“That much for Mexican food Really??”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We decided to walk across the street from our hotel and try out this Mexican place that advertised $5 margaritas, that I was really in need of after being stranded in NYC after multiple flight cancellations. We go in and I ask about the special and was then informed "read the small print" .... "$5 AFTER 8pm". OK....so I went ahead and ordered a $9 9oz one instead.....because I really NEEDED a margarita! Then we ordered chicken fajitas and an order of beef fajitas to share with our 2 kids and were told we would be charged $5 each extra for sharing or could order guacamole instead. Long story short.....this place charged usto death!!! We were charged $11 for guacamole, and another $10 for tortillas that in every Mexican place we have ever eaten in (which is a TON) including in Mexico. We LOVE Mexican food and the food was good, but really, it's Mexican food! It was even excessive amount even for NYC. The service was not that great. The server reached over us in the middle of our meal and grabbed for things on the table. We also felt like the staff was tapping there feet the whole time for us to hurry up already in restaurant that was not full at all ! Go figure?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raleighwood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fast and Fresh”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Speedy service, good food, great margarita. Chili rellenos were decent. Highly recommend the pork sliders.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was always full every night we walked past it so we thought we would give it a go. Tables were really close together but it wasn't really a problem for us. Ordered a burger for my teenager but it was really hot, it had chillies cooked within the meat which we didn't expect, but then again, maybe it was because it was a Mexican Diner. Chips were nice and dessert was good.

Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Mexican also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sombrero Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing