We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry Sombrero”
Review of Sombrero Mexican

Sombrero Mexican
Ranked #1,958 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sorry Sombrero”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I don't usually reduce my tip, but this was not a good experience. The food was so-so. But the staff was kind of ADD. Got agressively sold my guacomole when I got there, then they didn't bring it. Asked for more salsa, never came. The bus boy was a nice guy, but the wait staff was uniformly rude. We were glad to get out before something worse happened to us.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank splanknon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    154
    95
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taco Bell wants your business more than Sombrero”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We are locals and should have known better than to pick this place but we were tired and hungry. $6.00 for chips and salsa is outrageous to begin with but when you only get a small amount of salsa it is really taking advantage of the tourists because you have to buy another "side" to get more. (Salsa portion was enough for 1/4 of the chips.) We ordered the fajitas because it is tough to screw that up - we thought. We were only giving two tortilla wraps and when asked for additional ones - you guessed right we would have to order another side. The fajitas did NOT have any peppers and had way overcooked onions. The portion of sour cream, guacamole and refried beans was insulting. When the main course came they took away our million dollar chips - to make room of course. The staff did not care if we were happy or not. Shame on us but again we are locals so we deserved what we got for our poor judgment. I really hope future visitors see this and stay away. NYC has so much more to offer you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemarie208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad for Yankee Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good margaritas, good portions, had a pork burrito that could have had a little more spice to it but was not bad at all. Wife had vegtable quesadillas and was quite pleased. Would have like a better selection such as Carne Colorado or Chile Verde maybe cheese tostadas. Pretty fast service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flh65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK Mexican Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We came here the first night we were in NYC and the food was pretty moderate at best. The drinks seemed to be a bit watered down to me. It would be okay for maybe an appetizer and beer, but not the mixed drinks. I thought the food was just okay and I am very familiar with authentic Mexican food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
317 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service.”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The entrees were great and so was the guacamole but the wait staff didn't seem to care if we were happy. I had to get up and ask for water refills. Too many other places to go that are better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Mexican also viewed

 

Been to Sombrero Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing