We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lunch..........”
Review of Havana NY

Havana NY
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana NY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,882 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: 7 train to 5th Avenue and B, D, F &V trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Havana NY is a vibrant Cuban restaurant located in the heart of Manhattan. Since it's opening in 1991, Havana NY has been consistently recognized as one of the best places in town to enjoy homemade Cuban food in a warm, and friendly environment!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice lunch..........”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good lunch, fast turn around. the steak was ok, but when you are in a city that loves steak you expect little more... shame

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    15
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Do not go here for the food, I repeat, really don't go if you want to have dinner.

Came here with a friend to try out Cuban food. The starter was the 2 person Havana special, expectations are high for 35 dollars, what does Cuba has to offer when it really, really wants to show off? On the table arrived an assortment of all kinds of stuff that can be fried, with some shrimps and two sauces. Cheap, nothing special and actually quite disappointing.
Ah, but the main course will make up for it, we thought. After all, it was the daily special, really soft and tender fish, with authentic Cuban side dishes and everything. It tasted like, like...nothing. No really, like nothing at all! I have never ever encountered a daily special that was so bad. And these authentic side-dishes, beans and rice, oh so special from Cuba, ensure that any holiday plans will be cancelled immediately! What a poor, uninspiring take on food this is.

Looking back with the bill in my hand and tears in my eyes, the only conclusion can be: Overpriced and low quality, clearly a rip-off. Avoid if you can.

The only reason to probably like this affair, is to drink cocktails. A lot of them, if you want to forget about what you just ate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorisSmit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I sat at the bar recently at Havana on a Saturday about 4:00- in an attempt to get a drink. We waiting about 10 minutes before the bartender even came anywhere near our side (right side, side by the entry) He looked at us for a second and just said nothing, then quickly scurried to the opposite end of the bar and stayed there. Throughout the 20+ minutes we waiting there, he passed us up over 3 times without acknowledging us or even stopping so we could say something. The bar had open seats and was fairly empty, we finally got up and walked out realizing we were never going to be served.
I had worked in the restaurant/bar industry for years and have to say this was the worst bar service EVER! The food may be good, but after our experience I won't go back to try it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artsy3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attentive, charming & delicious”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Even better than expected. Food was wonderful, authentic and creative. The service was attentive yet relaxed. We felt well taken care of and didn't feel rushed. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dtravels104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kudos”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I had an incredible experience, we were anticipating a good meal at an reasonable price, however it was way above our expectations, service was friedly and efficient but the food was 4 stars, My wife and I ordered the specials, each different dishes and we were both wowed by the taste. We are usualy very conservative about ratings but this was a spectacular meal

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arubalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana NY also viewed

 

Been to Havana NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing