We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and wait staff, rude manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Mediterranee

La Mediterranee
Ranked #5,349 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: East 50th Street
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Good food and wait staff, rude manager”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Friends and I had been to this restaurant many times before. The food is always good and service staff is gracious. After salad and dinner, my friend and I wanted to chat over drinks. The manager/owner came by with the dessert menu. We told him we didn't want dessert but would just stay and chat for a little while. We were told, "People are waiting for this table," in a very abrupt manner. It ruined what would have been a very lovely evening. In the future when friends and colleagues ask for recommendations, they will be directed to another French restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    32
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a delightful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband I were on our way to a show on the east side and decided to walk until we saw an interesting place to eat. We happened upon this restaurant. It looked cute from the outside so we went inside to look at the menu. A couple who were exiting, said that their meal was very very good and they too had just happened upon the restaurant. The menu had some interesting choices so we sat down to eat. My husband had a pork dish and I had a fish dish. The food nd service were fabulous and for New York City, priced reasonably.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieGT203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“best escargot and hot bread!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

the piano bar is nice, however for last May the side walk was best, good house wine, divers menu, the folks next to me had the liver and it had bragging rights.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank glennmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, NJ
Level Contributor
192 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“France in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

You will not be disappointed when enterining this delightful Bistro on the East Side of Manhattan. The food is magnificent. From the moment you pick up your fork o the time you set it down in satisfied fulfillment, you will consider your time and money well spent. The wine selection complements the food choices admirably. The bar staff knows how to make a drink. The staff itself are consumate professionals when it comes to serving and most knowledgeable about what they serve and wine pairings. The ambience of this Bistro is excellent. To top it off the piano player knows what pieces to compliment the atmosphere of the place and the evening. You cannot go wrong here... Did I mention the Choclolate Souflee desert?

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Logistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“French Gem on 2nd Ave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Wondering along 2nd ave looking for a place to eat dinner and stumbled across this absolute Gem. The menu has many traditional French dishes. The food is prepared with the utmost care aand is just delicious. The atmosphere is what makes this a special place., There is a piano player who fills the resturant with classic NYC tunes and he encourages the patrons to humm or sing along. Many of the people who frequent the resturant are local who have been dining here for many years. In addition young local couples celebrating their pregnacies/babymoons. They will all welcome you and make sure your evening is quite special.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REHTChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mediterranee also viewed

 

Been to La Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing