We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here to see the Statue of Liberty.”
Review of Battery Park

Battery Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.99*
and up
New York City Double Decker Bus and Statue of Liberty Walking Tour Combo
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Small-Group Early-Access Statue of Liberty Tour and Ellis Island
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Statue of Liberty Ellis Island Pedestal Access plus Double-Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #81 of 1,118 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park includes, on one end, Hope Garden - a memorial to AIDS victims - and on another, the ferry that'll take you to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty, not to mention a number of other memorials and monuments scattered in between.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go here to see the Statue of Liberty.”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you want to see the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island without taking the ferry to them then come here. They are re-doing the park right now though so I would maybe like to go back one day to see it. Also, there are bathrooms here to help get you out of the cold.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheljowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    948
    299
    42
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Great views of the city, but under repair now”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Battery park has some very nice views, but right now they are still under construction following hurricane Sandy. a lot of the park is fenced off, but its still nice in the rest of the park.

On site here is Castle Garden. It used to be an Island and when until they redesigned the area it became part of the mainland. It's worth a quick visit and its free.

You can catch the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty from here as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wyomingdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

After getting on a bus from our hotel my wife and i got off at battery park and just sat there enjoying the view. This was our first time in new york and it was just incredible, we sat there and looked out at the statue of liberty in the distance and just absorbed everything. My wife is unfortunately wheelchair bound so i pushed her around the park until we came across a hotdog stand and i bought us our first American hotdogs and i must say it was almost magical to be sitting there with that view and eating the best hotdog i have ever had.
11 hours after this i finished pushing my wife back to our hotel after weaving our way up Manhattan through wall street, china town, little italy, Greenwich village, past the end of the Brooklyn bridge, we did stop at the empire state building and flat iron building and i had to buy some cycling gloves to stop the blisters but i would do it all again in a heart beat to see my wifes face as we stat there eating our dogs and looking out across the bay

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ge0rge_TheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faringdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A snapshot of NY history”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Battery Park is a great area for strolling and sightseeing. It suffered badly from Hurricane Sandy, but there is a lot of work going on to repair and restore the buildings, monuments and park. Great views of the Statue of Liberty and all the ferries.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Battery Park”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great place to understand part of US history. Wonderful insights and visual experiences. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank _mmgteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battery Park also viewed

 

Been to Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing