We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice skating”
Review of Bryant Park

Bryant Park
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Manhattan Architecture Photography Tour
Ranked #13 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bryant Park has a French-style merry-go-round, open year-round, plus a well-maintained lawn, with chairs and tables. The outdoor Reading Room has picture books and summertime story times. In winter. Take a spin on the free ice-skating rink. The park also has clean bathrooms, a rarity in midtown.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ice skating”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We paid for our two children to go ice skating $30 in total. As we were putting their skate on the heavens opened and the rink was closed. We asked for a voucher to use another day but were told by 5 different members of staff this was not possible and if we came back we would have to pay another $30.
After a long discussion we finally got our vouchers. Only to turn around and see a woman from NY get a full refund no problem.
Very disappointed and poor customer service.
Aa

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10,555
    4,985
    767
    48
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great location close to Time Square and 5th Ave. As it was 1st January the Christmas Tree was up, carols being sung, ice rink full of people, small shops to look at and great places to eat. The atmosphere was charged. This was our favourite place in the city

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sauntonHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bryant Park with christmas lights an all”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Bryant Park is situated close the the public library (worth a visit on it's own) and during Christmas the ice skating ring is open and the park is full of temporary shops selling everything from food delights to hats and gloves.

Very nice atmosphere, lots of people and definitely worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bufferzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Yes it IS! We were there shortly ater New Year, the ice rink was packed, there was a chill in the air, the Christmas tree was up, the floodlights brought it all to life, and the restaurants and little shops made it all the more intoxicating. Just GO

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Medici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
208 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Bryant Park is Like a Slice of Heaven in the Middle of NYC”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I just love Bryant Park. The first time I was exposed or saw it was when I went down on a bus trip last year(2013) You literally wait for the bus to pick you up right in front of Bryant Park. Inside the park are plenty of benches if you want to sit and relax. There are food and drink vendors. When I went this December 2013 there were shops set up underneath these tent like structures selling all kinds of goods right before Christmas. I dont know if they do this every year at Christmas; I was there in the summer of 2013 and they were not set up at that time. There are people playing chess and other games and Im told that you can join in the games if your up for the challenge. There was a beautifully lit tree with pretty blue lights dazzling the evening sky. There was an ice skating rink set up as well as what looked like a building to warm up or rent your ice skates from. The surrounding bldgs were lit up as well making it a very warm, chrismas feel. In the summer theres plenty of flowers to look at and they do a wonderful job of landscaping this park. There are people playing different instruments, we seen a big screen set up and people in the park with their lawn chairs watching a movie...there always seems to be something really cool going on at the park. We really enjoy stopping at this park as part of our NYC experience. P.S.....The park has a very small set up stairs to climb and then its all flat. Easy access. But the best part is that it feels private even though its in the heart of the city.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryant Park also viewed

 

Been to Bryant Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing