We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Governors Island National Monument
from $32.30
More Info
from $89.99
More Info
from $199.37
More Info
from $209.00
More Info
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
459
222
57
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
222
57
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry ride free ferry lower manhattan castle williams art exhibits military base coast guard short ferry mini golf course rent a bike the national park service blazing saddles special events new york southern tip of manhattan picnic lunch food vendors
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 747 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Took my Grandson to the Island for free art class. Had an enjoyable day. Should have taken bikes. Much easier to get around. Cafe at wharf had very little choice. We are not chip and hamburger people. Take your own picnic if you want to spend any time here.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Lavendula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Governor's Island is a great break from Manhattan. It's compact, very walkable with great views of the city not to mention the ferry ride is less than 10 mins. The island hosts frequent art exhibits, concerts and festivals. You can also explore the old fort, just ride a bike or walk around the island. It's great way to spend an afternoon in the spring and summer.

Date of experience: September 2012
2  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

lived there as young child. dad stationed there many years. went to school married first time there wonderful life as a child as adult lived there again w/children one born on governors island, other St. Albans Naval Hosp. many memories go thru my mind everytime i hear name. mostly hated take 2 feerries to school and back. long days. left my house on GI at 7AM arrived school in S I about 9:15 just in time for bell. whenschool let out got home sometimes until 6 PM. depending whether or not I miised the ferry from SI to NY. rough in winter with all bad weather when i look back would give anything to be back there again in my YOUTH. Can only go back in my mind, but the MEMORIES always havent been back since 1962. but would love to visit my old homes on islandi lived in Bldg 766 I believe Apt 7c and Bldg 110 apt F4.

Date of experience: August 2012
1  Thank shirley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Governor's Island is a fantastic place to visit. You can catch great views from any part of the island. It is car free but you do have to be careful of bicyclists riding around. You have the option of bringing your own bicycle or renting one which is located by the dock. The island is not open year round and is only accessible by boat so be sure to check the website for dates and times. The boat mainly operates from Manhattan but during the summer the boats become operational from Brooklyn as well. One of my favorite place to visit is the Officer's mansion and you will see the amazing architecture and interior design. You will be able to get a close view of the Statue of Liberty at the north side of the island. There are many activities for children at the parade ground to keep them occupied. For those who enjoy watersports, you can rent out kayaks and they are located right by the docks. If you are hungry, there are food trucks and a small restaurant there. Check the website for more scheduled activities and events going on at Governor's.

Date of experience: August 2012
6  Thank BTFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Governor's Island is a perfect way to escape the fuzz and noise from Manhattan. Take the free ferry from lower Manhattan or Brooklyn and enjoy a peacefull day on this small island. You'll have great views on the Manhattan skyline and Lady Liberty. You can easily spend a full day there, just wandering around, ride a bike, eat an icecream, relax on one of the grassfields and enjoy the scenery.
Definitely recommended for people with kids too. Bring your picknick!! ;-)

Date of experience: August 2012
2  Thank Deborah0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews