We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best opera house in the world”

The Metropolitan Opera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Met opened in 1883 and is one of the most famous opera houses in the country today.
falls church
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best opera house in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

There is nothing to compare a night at the Met, except their HD presentations on Saturday afternoons. The grandeur of the opera house, the precision of the concert master, the costumes, the singing. It all makes it a wonderful place to go to. If you add the special Rush tickets from Monday through Thursday, this is the best place in the world to watch opera.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ilonayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,242
    376
    75
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First opera experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Beautiful clean invigorating building. Great acoustics. The opera we saw was performed in English which may Have taken something away from the experience, but my husband thought we were lucky that it wasn't is foreign language. We bought our tickets by phone the night before and had nice seats in the orchestra pit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“La Boheme- Visual Artistry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a lovely version of this popular Puccini opera! Audiences are used to great music when they attend the Met, but the visual quality is more variable. The sets at this production hit all the high notes. Each time the curtain opened the Franco Zefferelli sets drew gasps and lengthy spontaneous applause-- simply stunning. Of course, one must never miss attending the Met while visiting NY, but this production is exceptionally well worth the time and money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“for all who likes the best in the music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

if you come to NYC you definetely have to visit the MEtOpera! the best voices from all over the world will inspire you!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Die Fledermaus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife, 10 year old son and I thoroughly enjoyed the new production of the Fledermaus. Although it was an almost 4 hour performance, it was really funny and captivating. And the Met Opera is an impressive architectural and acoustic establishment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanadianInTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan Opera also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing