We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

The Metropolitan Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.12*
and up
La Bohème at the Metropolitan Opera House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Met opened in 1883 and is one of the most famous opera houses in the country today.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I went to see "The Queen of Spades" a Russian Opera. We had a Parterre box and it was unbelievable. The stage itself was mind blowing. I can't wait to go back and see another show. Visited in January 2010

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Squeeby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,271
    380
    76
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Die Frau ohne Schatten”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

One of the lesser known Strauss operas and absolutely not common fare. Its' convoluted plotline, psychological allegory, and eloquent fantasy make this work more an intellectual than emotional pleasure. But who could resist the richness of Strauss' orchestration? This was a superb production with electrifying staging, and voices that moved the ethereal angst into human dimensions. I love the Met, for where else in the world would a company and general manager (Gelb) take such a valiant risk. Kudos

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“big stuff”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Most people don't know it, but there are opera companies all over the US. Most mid- and larger cities have credible opera companies. But the Met is one of a kind. All the budgets of the top 50 opera companies in the US don't add up to the budget of the Met. Met singers have clauses in their contracts that say that if called, they WILL come, no matter what other obligations they have accepted. What 's the point? This is opera worth your effort or your expense. It is a "really big show." This is it, light the lights. If you don't get to the Metropolitan Opera at least once in your lifetime, you have wasted a lot of food. I have heard attendees remark that, "If this is opera, give me More!" If you don't go, it's on you. Side note, the Met plays at theaters all over the country live in HD. If you can't get to the big apple, go to one of the hundreds of theaters in North America. It is an experience in itself.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tosca”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We listen Tosca at the Met, it was really interesting to watch people as listen good opera and see in which they stage the decoration for the play in order to represent the Castel Sant Angello for example.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lugasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We saw two operas - Norma & Two Boys. Of course the experience you will have depends upon the productions you see. Not all experiences are guaranteed to be wonderful. We had great seats in the orchestra stalls for Norma, and the Grand Tier for Two boys. Our seats were expensive.

The front-of-house is spacious. Do note the marvellous starbust chandeliers and the Chagall murals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David315954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan Opera also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing