We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh my god”

The Metropolitan Opera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Met opened in 1883 and is one of the most famous opera houses in the country today.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“oh my god”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I got a behind the scenes tour and I think this is one of the most stunning things I have ever done! it was so coooolll! and i got to go on the stage which was a dream of mine. You get to see the sets close up as well as all the dressing rooms, workshops, rehearsal halls, storage, and costume places! great!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LCB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,242
    376
    75
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you love classical music and opera, it really is worth it to spend the money on the tickets to see a performance here. Many of the seats are even cheaper than a broadway show, and The Met never disappoints on the whole experience - from the chandeliers rising to the sets to the amazing talent on the stage and in the pit. A must do attraction!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nekobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had never been to an opera before, but what an experience!! We went to see Aida and it was magical! I highly recommend everybody to spend a night at the MET - you will not regret it (not even you non opera lovers;-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hervicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“'THE' EXPERIENCE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Amazing experience! I suggest to all NY's visitors' to spend one night in the Metropolitan Opera. I was not an opera lover, now I am! We booked our tickets early @ 50dollars / person. We watched Aida - Verdi and it was unbeleivable!!! Perfection & professionalism. tip: Mind the breaks as doors do not open once they have closed ;-)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank natasa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love HD Live!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The energy of watching HD Live with the crowd in Lincoln Center was fabulous. The singing, the orchestra complemented by the subtitles made the Opera very enjoyable. I have seen several operas in this format.

Helpful?
Thank judimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan Opera also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing